Loyola University Maryland

Department of English

Faculty

image divider

Note: All faculty members teach one or more of the following courses: EN 101, Understanding Literature; EN 201, Major Writers: English; EN 203, Major Writers: American; and EN 205, Major Writers: Shakespeare.

Dr. Osteen

Mark Osteen

Chair
Professor
Ph.D., Emory University
mosteen@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: Modern and contemporary literature, film studies, disability studies

Dr. Abromaitis

Carol Nevin Abromaitis

Professor
Ph.D., University of Maryland
cabromaitis@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: Restoration and 18th-century English literature, fantasy literature

Dr. Cole

Jean Lee Cole

Associate Professor
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
jlcole@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: American literature, American Studies, multiethnic American literature, gender studies, history of the book, visual cultural studies

Dr. Crockett

Bryan Crockett

 

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Iowa
bcrockett@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: English Renaissance literature and culture, modern drama

Dr. Ellis

Juniper Ellis

Professor
Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
jellis@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: Postcolonial literature, Pacific Rim literature

Kathy Forni

Kathleen Forni

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Southern California
kforni@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: Chaucer, Middle English literature, medievalism, popular culture

Dr. Girard

Melissa Girard

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Illinois
magirard@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: Modern poetry and poetics, 20th and 21st century American literature, gender studies, history of literary criticism

Dr. Guttman

Sondra Guttman

Affiliate Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Rutgers University
sfguttman@loyola.edu
Areas of Interest: American literature, working class literature, African American literature

Prof. Hinkel

Louis Hinkel

Affiliate Faculty, Director of Program Operations: Liberal Studies Program
M.A., Emory University
lhinkel@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: graphic narratives, Shakespeare, theology and literature, pragmatism

Dr. G. Lobo

Giuseppina Iacono Lobo

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., English, The Pennsylvania State University
gaiaconolobo@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: Milton; 17th-century poetry and prose; literature and religious nonconformity; literature and revolution

Dr. J. Lobo

Julius Lobo

Affiliate Assistant Professor
Ph.D., English, The Pennsylvania State University
jslobo@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: 20th/21st-century American poetry, American literature

Dr. Lukacs

Paul Lukacs

Associate Professor
Ph.D., The Johns Hopkins University
plukacs@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: American literature, literary theory, history of the novel, literature and politics

Dr. McGlamery

Gayla McGlamery

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Emory University
gmcglamery@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: Victorian literature and culture, the novel, film adaptation

 
 Prof. Miller

Nicholas Andrew Miller

Associate Professor; Director, Film Studies
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
nmiller@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: modernism, Irish literature, early cinema, film animation

Dr. Miola

Robert S. Miola

Gerard Manley Hopkins Professor; Lecturer in Classics
Ph.D., University of Rochester
rmiola@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: Shakespeare, Renaissance drama and poetry, classical backgrounds of English literature, Catholic Renaissance writers

Dr. Norman

Brian Norman

Associate Professor; Director of African and African American Studies
Ph.D., Rutgers University
bjnorman@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: African American literature, American literature, critical race and feminist studies


Thomas Scheye

Loyola Distinguished Service Professor
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
scheye@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: Renaissance literature, Shakespeare, Milton


David C. Dougherty

Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Miami University (Ohio)
ddougherty@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: 20th-century British and American fiction and poetry, Shakespeare's English history plays

Careers