Loyola University Maryland

Department of History

Faculty and Staff

image divider

Program Assistant

Maureen Kelly
Program Assistant
HU 322A
Telephone: 410-617-2326
Fax: 410-617-2832
mdkelly@loyola.edu

Chair

Steven Hughes 
Professor
HU 301
410-617-2229
schughes@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: Modern Italian History; Masculinity; History of Crime

Faculty

Michele Alacevich
Director of Global Studies, Assistant Professor
HU 323
410-617-5681 
alacevich@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: History of Development; History of Social Sciences; Global History; European History

Rev Charles Borges, S.J.
Associate Professor
HU 318
410-617-2016
cborges@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: Jesuit History in Asia; Indo-Portuguese History; Goa History

John Breihan
Professor
HU 302
410-617-2427
breihan@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: 20th Century American Suburbia; Aviation History; Late 18th-Century Britain; Military

Katherine Stern Brennan
Associate Professor
HU 318
410-617-2017
kbrennan@loyola.edu
Area of Specialization: Early Modern French History

David Carey Jr
Doehler Chair in History; Professor
HU 310
410-617-2893
drcarey@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: Latin American History; Indigenous Peoples; Oral History; Gender

Chuck Cheape
Professor Emeritus

Kelly DeVries
Professor
HU 312
410-617-2661
kdevries@loyola.edu
Area of Specialization: Medieval Military History and Technology; History of Technology; Medieval History; Military History

Chad R. Diehl
Assistant Professor
HU 306
410-617-5531
crdiehl@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: Modern East Asian History; Modern and Early Modern Japan; Cultural Memory Studies

Bill Donovan
Associate Professor
HU 316
410-617-2891
Donovan@loyola.edu
Area of Specialization: Early Modern Portuguese History

Jane Edwards
Instructor
HU 308 
410-617-2018
jedwards@loyola.edu
Area of Specialization: Modern European Intellectual History

Angela Leonard
Associate Professor
HU 311
410-617-2673
aleonard@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: African Dispora; Black Female Jazz Singers; Early 19th-Century British and American Journalism; 19th Century Propaganda and Political Poetry

Matthew Mulcahy 
Professor
HU 309
410-617-2019
mmulcahy@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: Colonial America; History of Disasters

Brandon Parlopiano
Visiting Affiliate Assistant Professor 
HU 301
410-617-2229
btparlopiano@loyola.edu
Area of Specialization: Medieval Europe

Thomas R. Pegram
Professor
HU 305
410-617-2856
tpegram@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: Late 19th/Early 20th-Century American Political and Social History

Willeke Sandler
HU 314
410-617-2326
wsandler@loyola.edu

Sara Scalenghe
Associate Professor
HU 303
410-617-2017
sscalenghe@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: Middle East and North Africa; Ottoman Empire; Gender; Disability; Italian Colonialism in Libya

Elizabeth Schmidt
Professor
HU 313
410-617-2432
eschmidt@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: Teaching: African History; Pre-Colonial to Present; African Women's History. Research: Late Colonial Southern Africa (esp. Zimbabwe and South Africa); Late Colonial West Africa (emphasis on Guinea)

R. Keith Schoppa 
Formerly Professor and Doehler Chair of Asian History
kschoppa@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: Chinese Political; Social and Cultural History from 1900 to 1950

Felicia Thomas
Affiliate Professor of History
fythomas@loyola.edu

Martha Taylor
Associate Professor of History and Classics; Chair of the Classics Department
HU 321B
410-617-2636
Department Chair
mtaylor@loyola.edu
Classics Homepage

Joseph Walsh
Professor of History and Classics
HU 333
410-617-2896
jwalsh@loyola.edu
Classics Homepage