Loyola University Maryland

Department of History

Faculty and Staff

image divider

Administrative Assistant

  • TBA

    Administrative Assistant
    HU 322A
    Telephone: 410-617-2326
    Fax: 410-617-2832

Chair

  • Elizabeth Schmidt 

    Professor and Department Chair
    HU 313
    410-617-2432
    eschmidt@loyola.edu
    Areas of Specialization: Teaching: African History; Pre-Colonial to Present; African Women's History. Research:Late Colonial Southern Africa (esp. Zimbabwe and South Africa); Late Colonial West Africa (emphasis on Guinea).

Emeritus Professor

  • Chuck Cheape

  • R. Keith Schoppa 

    Formerly Professor and Doehler Chair of Asian History
    kschoppa@loyola.edu
    Areas of Specialization: Chinese Political; Social and Cultural History from 1900 to 1950

Professor 

  • John Breihan

    Professor
    HU 302
    410-617-2427
    breihan@loyola.edu
    Areas of Specialization: 20th Century American Suburbia; Aviation History; Late 18th-Century Britain; Military History

  • Kelly DeVries

    Professor
    HU 312
    410-617-2661
    kdevries@loyola.edu
    Areas of Specialization: Medieval Military History and Technology; History of Technology; Medieval History; Military History

  • Steven Hughes (on leave 2014-2015)

  • Professor 
    HU 301
    410-617-2229
    schughes@loyola.edu
    Areas of Specialization: Modern Italian History; Masculinity; History of Crime
  • Thomas Pegram

    Professor
    HU 305
    410-617-2856
    tpegram@loyola.edu
    Areas of Specialization: Late 19th/Early 20th-Century American Political and Social History

Associate Professor 

  • Angela Leonard

    Associate Professor
    HU 311
    410-617-2673
    aleonard@loyola.edu
    Areas of Specialization: African Dispora; Black Female Jazz Singers; Early 19th-Century British and American Journalism; 19th Century Propaganda and Political Poetry

  • Sara Scalenghe

    Associate Professor
    HU 303
    410-617-2017
    sscalenghe@loyola.edu
    Areas of Specialization: Middle East and North Africa; Ottoman Empire; Gender; Disability; Italian Colonialism in Libya

Assistant Professor 

Instructor 

Visiting Full-Time Affiliate Assistant Professor 

  • Richard Lutjens

    HU 314
    410-617-5479
    rlutjens@loyola.edu
    Area of Specialization: Modern European Intellectual History

Professor of History & Classics