Loyola University Maryland

Modern Languages & Literatures

Spanish Faculty

image divider

Sean Carmody
M.A., University of Maryland, Baltimore County
MH 351K
410.617.5465

Diane Chaffee-Sorace 
M.A., Ph.D. Duke University
MH 448
410.617.2813
dchaffee@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Golden Age Literature; Spanish Poetry

Suzanne Crouse
M.A. West Virginia University
MH 351E
410.617.2520
secrouse@loyola.edu

Johanna Delgado Aviles
M.A., Ph.D. (ABD), CUNY, New York
MH 351K
410.617.5374
jdelgado@loyola.edu

Ramón Espejo-Saavedra - Chair
M.A., Ph.D. University of Pennsylvania
MH 465
410.617.2610
respejo@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Modern Spanish Peninsular Literature; History and Literature

Lloyd Frias - Interim Director, LLC
M.A. Marquette University
MH 443B
410.617.2652
ljfrias@loyola.edu

Sara Gaston-Echeverria
M.A., West Virgina University
MH 351F
410.617.2594
sgastonecheverria@loyola.edu 

Ana Gómez-Pérez   - Associate Chair
M.A. University of Wisconsin (Madison)
Ph.D. University of Pennsylvania
MH 351B
410.617.2775
agp@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Nineteenth and Twentieth Century Spanish Peninsular Literature

Celena Hadlock
M.Ed., Trenton State College
MH 351K
410.617.5516
cahadlock@loyola.edu 

Yolopattli Hernandez Torres
M.A., Ph.D.  University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
MH 456
410.617.2463
yihernandez@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Colonial Spanish American Literatures and Cultures, Visual Culture in Spanish America

Margarita Jacome - Head, Spanish Section
Ph.D. The University of Iowa
M.A. Universidad Javeriana
Maryland Hall 351J
410.617.2364
mjacome@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Latin American Literature and Cultures, emphasis on 20th and 21st Centuries

Tasha Lewis
Ph.D. University of California, Davis
M.A.  California State University, Long Beach
MH 460
410.617.5603
tnlewis@loyola.edu
Areas of Study: Spanish Linguistics, Second Language Acquisition

Marie Murphy
M.A., Ph.D. University of Wisconsin (Madison)
410.617.2511
mmurphy@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Twentieth Century Hispanic Literature; Women Writers

Luzmaria Renjifo
M.A., Yale University
MH 351L
410.617.5787
lrenjifo@loyola.edu 

Maria Ruiz Rosique
M.A., West Virgina University
MH 351L
410.617.2924
mruizrosique@loyola.edu

Ursula Sayers-Ward
M.A. The Catholic University of America
MH 351F
410.617.2931 
ucsayersward@loyola.edu

Holly Schneider
M.A., The University of Delaware
MH 351K
410.617.5230
huschneider@loyola.edu

Sarah Tyler
M.A., University of North Carolina at Greensboro
MH 351L
410.617.2105
sgtyler@loyola.edu

Sarah Vitale
M.A.  Louisiana State University A & M
MH 464
410.617.2974
sjvitale@loyola.edu

Thomas Ward - Director, Latin American and Latino Studies
M.A., Ph.D. The University of Connecticut
MH 462
410.617.2370
tward@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Colonial and 19th-Century Latin American Literature


 

 

 

8/25/14 ner