Loyola University Maryland

Philosophy Department

Faculty & Staff

image divider
Chairs

Frank Cunningham Department Chair Ph.D. Fordham University (1974)
Office: HU 050F 410-617-2500 fcunning@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Plato, American Pragmatism, Process Philosophy, Bioethics
facultyPhoto Paul Richard Blum T. J. Higgins, S.J., Chair in Philosophy Ph.D. - University of München (Germany), 1978
Office: HU 050E 410-617-2815 prblum@loyola.edu
Research Interests: History of Philosophy, Philosophy in the Renaissance, Jesuit and Modern Scholastic Philosophy

Rev. John J. Conley, S.J. Henry J. Knott Chair of Philosophy and Theology Docteur en philosophie, Université catholique de Louvain (1988)
Office: HU O42M 410-617-2665 jconley1@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Modern French Philosophy; Ethics; Aesthetics
Professors
Rick Boothby
Richard P. Boothby Ph.D., Philosophy, Boston University, 1987
Office: Humanities Center 050D 410-617-2890 boothby@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Psychoanalysis and Philosophical Psychology, Phenomenology and Existentialism, Contemporary Continental Philosophy

Drew Leder Ph.D. - Philosophy, State University of New York at Stony Brook, 1987
Office: HU 050o 410-617-2325 dleder@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Cross-cultural Spirituality, Philosophy of the Body, Philosophy of Medicine, Asian Philosophy, Continental Philosophy

Graham McAleer D. Phil. Catholic University of Louvain
Office: HU 050H 410-617-2027 gmcaleer@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Business Ethics, Moral Theory, Philosophy of Law, Social and Political Philosophy, Catholic Social Thought, Phenomenology, Medieval Philosophy
Associate Professors
Paul Bagely
Paul J. Bagley Ph.D. The School of Mental and Moral Science, Trinity College, Dublin University
Office: HU 050C 410-617-2929 pbagley@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Early Modern Philosophy, Ancient Philosophy, Spinoza, Plato, Political Philosophy
Bret Davis
Bret Davis Ph.D. - Philosophy, Vanderbilt University, 2001
Office: HU 050P 410-617-5697 bwdavis@loyola.edu
Research Interests: East Asian Thought (esp. Zen Buddhism), Japanese Philosophy (esp. The Kyoto School), Continental Philosophy (esp. Heidegger), and Comparative Philosophy
Catriona Hanley
Catriona Hanley Ph.D., Loyola University Chicago, 1997
Office: HU 050Q 410-617-2430 chanley@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Ancient Philosophy, esp. Aristotle, Continental Philosophy, esp. Heidegger, History of Philosophy, Philosophy of Peace

Dale Snow Ph.D., Emory University, Atlanta GA 1984
Office: HU 050G 410-617-2026 Dsnow2@loyola.edu
Research Interests: German Idealism, History of Modern Philosophy, Feminism

Timothy J. Stapleton Ph.D. – The Pennsylvania State University (1978)
Office: HU 050N 410-617-2555 tstapleton@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Phenomenology, Existentialism, History of Philosophy
Assistant Professors
facultyPhoto Mavis Biss Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2011
Office: HU 050L 410-617-5972 mlbiss@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Ethics, including feminist ethics, Kant’s ethical, social and historical philosophy, 19th century German philosophy
Jeff Witt
Jeffrey C. Witt Ph.D. Philosophy, Boston College, 2012
Office: HU 050M 410-617-2947 jcwitt@loyola.edu http://jeffreycwitt.com
Research Interests: Late-Medieval Philosophy, Fourteenth-Century Thought, Philosophy of Religion
Fuat G.
Fuat Gursozlu Binghamton University, State University of New York, 2010
HU-050k 410-617-5229 fgursozlu@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Social Political Philosophy.
Affiliate Professors

Michael Burns Ph.D., University of Dundee, 2013 Research Interests: Contemporary European Philosophy, German Idealism, Søren Kierkegaard, Political Philosophy, Psychoanalysis.

Nina Guise-Gerrity
HU-050G 410-617-2010 nguisegerrity@loyola.edu
Selin
Selin Gursozlu Ph.D., SUNY Binghamton, 2010
HU-050J 410-617-2010 sgursozlu@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Ethics, Feminist Philosophy, Social and Political Philosophy

Oliver Thorndike  Ph.D. Philosophy, Johns Hopkins University, 2009
HU-050J 410-617-2010 othorndike@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Early Modern, Kant, and Philosophy of Art.

Stephen Weber
HU-050h 410-617-5234 sweber@loyola.edu

K. Meredith Ziebart Ph.D. Philosophy, Albert-Ludwigs University, Freiburg (Germany), 2010
HU-039 410-617-2892 kmziebart@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Late-Medieval Philosophy and Theology, Neoplatonic Philosophy, 19th-Century Idealism
Staff

Lisa M. Flaherty Administrative Assistant