Loyola University Maryland

Department of Communication

Faculty and Staff

image divider

Department Chair

Dr. Elliot King, Professor and Chair
eking@loyola.edu
Blog: www.twitter.com/joyofjournalism
Teaching Areas: Media Culture and Society, Digital Culture, Travel Reporting

Dr. Jonathan Lillie, Associate Professor and Assistant Chair
jlillie@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Journalism, Interactive Media, Online Journalism, Web Design

Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty

Dr. Neil Alperstein, Professor
nalperstein@loyola.edu
Blog: www.emergingmedia360.org
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Advertising, Global Advertising, Popular Culture, Research Experience

Dr. Russell J. Cook, Professor
rjcook@loyola.edu 
Web: evergreen.loyola.edu/~rjcook
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Communication, Introduction to Multimedia, Video Production, Video Animation, Documentary Film

Dr. Amy Becker, Assistant Professor
abbecker@loyola.edu

Teaching Areas: Introduction to Communication, Media, Culture and Society, Political Communication, Public Opinion and Political Entertainment

Dr. Masudul Biswas, Assistant Professor

mkbiswas@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Graphic/Promotional Design, Web Design/Development, Web Content Strategy, and Media & Society

Dr. Tania Cantrell Rosas-Moreno, Associate Professor
tcrosasmoreno@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas:  Introduction to Public Relations, Writing for Public Relations, International Public Relations, Senior Capstone in Public Relations

Dr. Greg Hoplamazian, Assistant Professor
gjhoplamazian@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Advertising, Advertising and Society, Ad Copywriting

Dr. Sara Magee, Associate Professor
scmagee@loyola.edu

Teaching Areas: Broadcast and Backpack Journalism

Dr. Paola Pascual-Ferrá, Assistant Professor
ppascualferra@loyola.edu

Teaching Areas: Introduction to Public Relations, Writing for Public Relations

Dr. Karsonya (Kaye) Wise Whitehead, Associate Professor
kewhitehead@loyola.edu
Website: http://kayewisewhitehead.com/
Academic Page: http://loyola.academia.edu/KayeWiseWhitehead
Twitter: @kayewhitehead
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Communication, Story Development and Scripting, Documentary Tradition, Documentary Production, Baltimore Stories Project

Full-Time Affiliate Faculty

Gerard Blair
grblair@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Advertising, Senior Capstone in Advertising, Ad Copywriting

Veronica Gunnerson
vgunnerson@loyola.edu

Teaching Areas: Intro to Public Relations, Writing for Public Relations, Case Studies in Public Relations, Senior Capstone in Public Relations

Julie Sayo
jdsayo@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Graphics I and II, Web I and II

John Stack
jstack@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Advertising, Introduction to Communication, Communication Research, Advertising Copywriting, Advertising Management

Part-Time Affiliate Faculty

David Belz
dbelz@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Communication

Camilla Carr
cjcarr@loyola.edu
Teaching Area: Introduction to Journalism

Daniel Collins
dccollins@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Public Relations  

Walter Dobrzycki
wfdobrzycki@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Communication, Popular Culture
 
Nora Frenkiel
nfrenkiel@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Journalism, The Magazine Article, Senior Capstone in Magazine Publishing
 
Pamela Friedman
ppfriedman@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Public Speaking

Elli Lieberman
elieberman@loyola.edu
Teaching Area:  Media and the Political Process

John McIntyre
jmcintyre@loyola.edu 
Teaching Area: Copy Editing

Kathryn Nogueira
kmnogueira@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Communication

Dr. Timothy Tooten, Sr.
ttooten@loyola.edu
Teaching Area: Broadcast Journalism

Mitchell Tropin
mjtropin@loyola.edu
Teaching Area: Introduction to Communication, News Writing and Reporting

Reagan Warfield
rwarfield@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Radio, Advanced Radio Production, Podcasting

Joseph Winter
jwinter@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Public Relations and Writing for Public Relations

Staff

Amanda Berning
Program Assistant
arberning@loyola.edu

Erin Richardson
Director of Program Operations, Emerging Media
erichardson@loyola.edu

Apprentice House Director

Dr. Kevin Atticks
katticks@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Communication, Public Relations, Graphic Design, Magazine and Book Publishing

Campus Media Managers

Mr. John Devecka
WLOY-Radio, Bellarmine Hall
410-617-5349
jdevecka@loyola.edu
Advising Area: WLOY-Radio Operations Manager
 
H. Jay Dunmore
College Center M012B
410-617-5119
hjdunmore@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Video I, Video Animation
Advising Area: GreyComm Studios