Loyola University Maryland

Department of Communication

Faculty and Staff

image divider

Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty

Dr. Neil Alperstein, Professor
nalperstein@loyola.edu
Blog: www.emergingmedia360.org
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Advertising, Global Advertising, Popular Culture, Research Experience
Get to know Dr. Alperstein, while he discusses his study of the Imaginary Social Relationship and the MA in Emerging Media: 

Dr. Russell J. Cook, Professor
rjcook@loyola.edu 
Web: evergreen.loyola.edu/~rjcook
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Communication, Introduction to Multimedia, Video Production, Video Animation, Documentary Film
Dr. Cook discusses the core ideas of media communication and its effects, both positive and negative, on society: 

Dr. Elliot King, Professor and Chair
eking@loyola.edu
Blog: www.twitter.com/joyofjournalism
Teaching Areas: Media Culture and Society, Digital Culture, Travel Reporting
Dr. King invites students to study and explore the new media platforms with him in the MA for Emerging Media program:
 
 

Dr. Jonathan Lillie, Associate Professor
jlillie@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Journalism, Interactive Media, Online Journalism, Web Design
Dr. Lillie explains the collaborative tools used in the MA in Emerging Media program to analyze new media technologies, and build a sense of fellowship amongst faculty and students:


Dr. Amy Becker, Assistant Professor
abbecker@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Communication, Media, Culture and Society, Political Communication, Public Opinion and Political Entertainment


Dr. Masudul Biswas, Assistant Professor

mkbiswas@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Graphic/Promotional Design, Web Design/Development, Web Content Strategy, and Media & Society

Dr. Tania Cantrell Rosas-Moreno, Associate Professor
tcrosasmoreno@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas:  Introduction to Public Relations, Writing for Public Relations, International Public Relations, Senior Capstone in Public Relations
Dr. Rosas-Moreno discusses her teaching methods, which combine social media platforms and her love of international public relations, for the MA in Emerging Media program:  


 

Dr. Greg Hoplamazian, Assistant Professor
gjhoplamazian@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Advertising, Advertising and Society, Ad Copywriting
Dr. Hoplamazian presents his teaching goals to explore the new media environment, where users create and consume content, and how he plans to help his students learn the proper uses and limitations of social media in the Emerging Media graduate program: 
 
 

Dr. Sara Magee, Associate Professor
scmagee@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Broadcast and Backpack Journalism
Dr. Magee invites graduate students to study the ethics and issues surrounding emerging media, while urging them to better understand the tools and technology used to gather information:
 
 

Dr. Paola Pascual-Ferrá, Assistant Professor
ppascualferra@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Public Relations, Writing for Public Relations

Dr. Karsonya (Kaye) Wise Whitehead, Associate Professor
kewhitehead@loyola.edu
Website: http://kayewisewhitehead.com/
Academic Page: http://loyola.academia.edu/KayeWiseWhitehead
Twitter: @kayewhitehead
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Communication, Story Development and Scripting, Documentary Tradition, Documentary Production, Baltimore Stories Project

Apprentice House Director

Dr. Kevin Atticks
katticks@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Communication, Public Relations, Graphic Design, Magazine and Book Publishing

Director or Program Operations, M.A. in Emerging Media

Ms. Erin Richardson
erichardson@loyola.edu

Full-Time Affiliate Faculty

Professor Gerard Blair
grblair@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Advertising, Senior Capstone in Advertising, Ad Copywriting

Professor Veronica Gunnerson
vgunnerson@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Intro to Public Relations, Writing for Public Relations, Case Studies in Public Relations, Senior Capstone in Public Relations

Professor Julie Sayo
jdsayo@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Graphics I and II, Web I and II

Professor John Stack
jstack@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Advertising, Introduction to Communication, Communication Research, Advertising Copywriting, Advertising Management

Part-Time Affiliate Faculty

Professor David Belz
dbelz@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Communication

Professor Camilla Carr
cjcarr@loyola.edu
Teaching Area: Introduction to Journalism

Professor Daniel Collins
dccollins@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Public Relations  

Professor Walter Dobrzycki
wfdobrzycki@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Communication, Popular Culture
 
Professor Nora Frenkiel
nfrenkiel@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Journalism, The Magazine Article, Senior Capstone in Magazine Publishing
 
Professor Pamela Friedman
ppfriedman@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Public Speaking

Professor Jennifer Gilbert
jggilbert@loyola.edu
Teaching Area: Introduction to Journalism

Professor Dorothy Harris
dharris5@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Public Speaking, Introduction to Communication
 
Dr. Chris Heidelberg
caheidelberg@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Multimedia, Video Production

Dr. Elli Lieberman
elieberman@loyola.edu
Teaching Area:  Media and the Political Process

Professor John McIntyre
jmcintyre@loyola.edu 
Teaching Area: Copy Editing

Professor Susan McShea
sbmcshea@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Public Relations, Case Studies in Public Relations

Professor Danielle Noble
denoble@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Communication, Introduction to Journalism

Professor Kathryn Nogueira
kmnogueira@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Communication

Professor Amy Rosewater (Halushka)
ahalushka@loyola.edu
Teaching Area: Sports Writing, Travel Reporting

Professor Tunji Sawyer
tsawyer2@loyola.edu
Teaching Area: Introduction to Advertising

Karen Smedley
College Center M014L
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Public Relations, Writing for Public Relations, Case Studies in Public Relations

Dr. Timothy Tooten, Sr.
ttooten@loyola.edu
Teaching Area: Broadcast Journalism

Professor Mitchell Tropin
mjtropin@loyola.edu
Teaching Area: Introduction to Communication, News Writing and Reporting

Professor Reagan Warfield
rwarfield@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Radio, Advanced Radio Production, Podcasting

Professor Joseph Winter
jwinter@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Public Relations and Writing for Public Relations

Campus Media Managers

Mr. John Devecka
WLOY-Radio, Bellarmine Hall
410-617-5349
jdevecka@loyola.edu
Advising Area: WLOY-Radio Operations Manager
 
Professor H. Jay Dunmore
Dorothy Day Hall Room B010
410-617-5119
hjdunmore@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Video I, Video Animation
Advising Area: GreyComm Studios