Loyola University Maryland

Department of Fine Arts

Theatre

Theatre

Our goal is to prepare students for the rigorous demands of working in the professional theatre or further study on the graduate level. Required coursework is designed to expose students to all aspects of the collaborative process – acting, directing, designing, and theatre history. Plays are taught not as literature but as blueprints for theatrical production.

Complimenting our training is required participation in our season. There is no pre-casting and no exclusion of underclassman. We are committed to mounting a wide range of plays, exposing students to a wide variety of dramatic literature and a variety of production styles. At Loyola, you will gain valuable experience for your growth as a theatre artist.

The Theatre program at Loyola builds on the long standing tradition of Jesuit involvement in the theatre. In the contemporary sense, this means a dedication to cura personalis: care for the whole person. Through the teaching of theatre, Loyola seeks to produce well-rounded students able to synthesize theory and practice, body and mind, interpretation and action.                        


Performance Calendar

2016-2017

Sin by Michael Murphy
presented by the Poison Cup Players

directed by Nick Palm '17
Black Box Theatre

October 27-30, 2016

Showtimes:
         Thursday, October 27 at 8:00 pm
         Friday, October 28 at 8:00 pm
         Saturday, October 29 at 8:00 pm
         Sunday, October 30 at 2:00 pm


Macbeth by William Shakespeare
presented by the Evergreen Players
directed by Dr. James Bunzli
McManus Theatre
November 17-20, 2016

Showtimes:
         Thursday, November 17 at 7:00 pm
         Friday, November 18 at 8:00 pm
         Saturday, November 19 at 8:00 pm
         Sunday, November 20 at 2:00 pm


Wit by Margaret Edson
presented by the Spotlight Players
directed by Annie Malady '17
Black Box Theatre
January 20-22, 2017

Showtimes:
         Friday, January 20 at 8:00 pm
         Saturday, January 21 at 2:00 pm
         Sunday, January 22 at 5:00 pm

Eurydice by Sarah Ruhl
presented by the Evergreen Players
directed by Kel Millionie
McManus Theatre
February 23-26, 2017

Showtimes:
         Thursday, February 23 at 7:00 pm
         Friday, February 24at 8:00 pm
         Saturday, February 25 at 8:00 pm
         Sunday, February 26 at 2:00 pm

Student Directed One-Act Plays
presented by the Evergreen Players
directed by members of the Acting II class
Black Box Theatre
April 6-9, 2017

Showtimes:
         Thursday, April 6 at 7:00 pm
         Friday, April 7 at 8:00 pm
         Saturday, April 8 at 8:00 pm
         Sunday, April 9 at 2:00 pm