Loyola University Maryland

Philosophy Department

Faculty & Staff

Chairs
Frank Cunningham Frank Cunningham
Department Chair
Ph.D. Fordham University (1974)
Office: HU 050f
410-617-2500
fcunning@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Plato, American Pragmatism, Process Philosophy, Bioethics
Dr. Blum Paul Richard Blum
T.J. Higgins, S.J., Chair in Philosophy
Ph.D. University of München (Germany), 1978
Office: HU 050E
410-617-2815
prblum@loyola.edu
Research Interests: History of Philosophy, Philosophy in the Renaissance, Jesuit and Modern Scholastic Philosophy
  Rev. John J. Conley, S.J.
Henry J. Knott Chair of Philosophy and Theology
Docteur en philosophie, Université catholique de Louvain (1988)
Office: HU 042M
410-617-2665
jconley1@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Modern French Philsophy, Ethics, Aesthetics
Professors
Rick Boothby Richard P. Boothby
Ph.D., Philosophy, Boston University, 1987
Office: HU 050D
410-617-2890
boothby@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Psychoanalysis and Philosophical Psychology, Phenomenology and Existentialism, Contemporary Continental Philosophy
brett-davis Bret W. Davis
Ph.D., Philosophy, Vanderbilt University, 2001
Office: HU 050P
410-617-5697
bwdavis@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Asian (esp. Japanese) Philosophy, Continental Philosophy (esp. Heidegger), and Cross-Cultural Philosophy
  Drew Leder
Ph.D., Philosophy, State University of New York at Stony Brook, 1987
Office: HU 050o
410-617-2325
dleder@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Cross-cultural Spirituality, Philosophy of the Body, Philosophy of Medicine, Asian Philosophy, Continental Philosophy
 

Graham McAleer
D. Phil., Catholic University of Louvain
Office: HU 050H
410-617-2027
gmcaleer@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Business Ethics, Moral Theory, Philosophy of Law, Social and Political Philosophy, Catholic Social Thought, Phenomenology, Medieval Philosophy

Associate Professors
Catriona Hanley Catriona Hanley
Ph.D., Loyola University Chicago, 1997
Office: HU 050Q
410-617-2430
chanley@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Ancient Philosophy, esp. Aristotle, Continental Philosophy, esp. Heidegger, History of Philosophy, Philosophy of Peace
  Dale Snow
Ph.D., Emory University, Atlanta, GA, 1984
Office: HU 050G
410-617-2026
dsnow2@loyola.edu
Research Interests: German Idealism, History of Modern Philosophy, Feminism
Dr. Mavis Biss Mavis Biss
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2011
Office: HU 050L
410-617-5972
mlbiss@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Ethics, including feminist ethics, Kant’s ethical, social and historical philosophy, 19th century German philosophy
Assistant Professors
Fuat Gursozlu Fuat Gursozlu
Binghamton University, State University of New York, 2010
HU 050K
410-617-5229
fgursozlu@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Social Political Philosophy
 jessica_profile_pic Jessica Locke
Ph.D., Emory University, Atlanta, GA, 2016
Office: HU 050C
410-617-2315
jelocke@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Buddhist Ethics, Indian and Tibetan Buddhism, Moral Psychology, Phenomenology, Cross-Cultural Philosophy
Meghan Page Meghan Page
Ph.D. Philosophy, University of Pittsburgh, 2014
Office: HU 050J
410-617-5447
mpage1@loyola.edu
Research Interests: History and Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Physics, Philosophy of Religion and Environmental Ethics
Jeff Witt Jeffrey C. Witt
Ph.D. Philosophy, Boston College, 2012
Office: HU 050M
410-617-2947
jcwitt@loyola.edu
http://jeffreycwitt.com
Research Interests: Late-Medieval Philosophy, Fourteenth-Century Thought, Philosophy of Religion
Affiliate Professors
  Elisabeth Blum
HU 50E
410-617-2815
eblum@loyola.edu
  Donald Devon
HU 43D
410-617-2010
ddevon@loyola.edu
Joe Farrell Joe Farrell
Ph.D., Temple University, 2010
HU 050o
410-617-2325
jfarrell2@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Theory of Human Nature, Phenomenology, Ethical Theory, Medical Ethics, and Business Ethics
DaveGordon Dave Gordon
ABD, Philosophy, Marquette University
HU 050C
410-617-5154
dhgordon@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Philosophy of Biology/Evolution, Environmental Ethics, History of Philosophy, Philosophy of Religion
Nina Guise-Gerrity Nina Guise-Gerrity
HU 050G
410-617-2010
nguisegerrity@loyola.edu
Selin Gursozlu Selin Gursozlu
Ph.D., SUNY Binghamton, 2010
HU 050J
410-617-2010
sgursozlu@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Ethics, Feminist Philosophy, Social and Political Philosophy
  Kyongsook Kim
HU 039B
410-617-2010
kkim1@loyola.edu
  Fergus Laughland
HU 39B
410-617-2010
flaughland@loyola.edu
  Jim Snow
HU 50N
410-617-2050
jsnow@loyola.edu
Oliver Thorndike Oliver Thorndike
Ph.D. Philosophy, Johns Hopkins University, 2009
HU 050J
410-617-2010
othorndike@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Kant, History of Modern Philosophy, Philosophy of Art
Stephen Weber Stephen Weber
HU 050H
410-617-5234
sweber@loyola.edu
  Richard Wilson
HU 43D
410-617-5644
rwilson@loyola.edu
Professor Emeritus
Timothy J. Stapleton
Ph.D., The Pennsylvania State University (1978)
tstapleton@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Phenomenology, Existentialism, History of Philosophy
Staff
Lisa M. Flaherty
Administrative Assistant
lflaherty@loyola.edu