Loyola University Maryland

Center for Community Service and Justice (CCSJ)

Milch Award

image divider

The Milch Award, created in 1979 by Mrs. Pearl S. Milch, recognizes organizations that offer meritorious service to the Baltimore metropolitan community. Each year during the May graduation ceremony, Loyola presents the award to a community agency that has collaborated closely with the university to provide excellent community service and educational opportunities for Loyola students during the past academic year. For their outstanding partnership with the Loyola community, the recognized agency receives a framed certificate and a monetary award.

Nominate an Agency

The staff of the Center for Community Service and Justice invites the Loyola community to participate in this annual event by nominating agencies for the Milch Award. Nominations are sought for agencies that have demonstrated an exceptional level of collaboration with Loyola through CCSJ during the past year, including excellent preparation and ongoing support for our student volunteers.

Submit a nomination for the Milch Award.

For the 2014 - 15 year, the deadline for nominations is Friday March 6, 2015. 

Past Recipients

A particular agency may receive the award once every five years.

2014 - Reservoir Hill Improvement Council (PDF)
2013 - Habitat For Humanity (PDF) 
2012 - St. Ignatius Loyola Academy (PDF)
2011 - Cristo Rey Jesuit High School (PDF)
2010 - Refugee Youth Project (PDF)
2009 - Gallagher Services (PDF)  
2008 - Viva House  
2007 - Franciscan Center (PDF) 
2006 - Villa Maria - Catholic Charities
2005 - Beans and BreadFrederick Ozanam House  
2004 - Govans Ecumenical Development Corporations (GEDCO) (PDF)
2003 - Los Ninos (PDF) 
2002 - Mother Seton Academy  
2001 - Caroline Center
2000 - St. Frances Academy
1999 - Frederick Ozanam House and Beans and Bread Meal Program
1998 - AIDS Interfaith Residential Services
1997 - St. Ambrose Outreach Center
1996 - Catholic Relief Services
1995 - The Tenant Advocacy Project of the Public Justice Center
1994 - The Learning Bank
1993 - The St. Ambrose Housing Aid Center
1992 - The Choice Program
1991 - Stella Maris Hospice
1990 - Carole Jo Alexander/House of Ruth
1989 - Bea Gaddy
1988 - Jeanne Marie Simons/Linwood Children's Center
1987 - The Maryland Food Committee
1986 - Chesapeake Wildlife Sanctuary
1985 - Marian House
1984 - Our Daily Bread
1983 - John F. Kennedy Institute for Handicapped Children
1982 - The Greater Baltimore Committee
1981 - Meals on Wheels of Central Maryland
1980 - Special Olympics Maryland
1979 - Center Stage