Loyola University Maryland

First-Year Programs

Advisory Implementation

image divider

An Advisory Board and Implementation Group will provide ongoing stewardship for the development and implementation of the Messina Initiative.

Messina (formerly Living Learning) Advisory Board Charge:  

The Living Learning Board will be an ongoing board. The charge of the Board is to serve as the leadership body concerning the stewardship of the Living and Learning Program for all first-year students in all of its aspects, curricular, co-curricular, and extracurricular. The Board will be responsible for assuring that the learning aims of the Program are met and that they conform to the Undergraduate Learning Aims. The Board also will be responsible for the integration of the Catholic Intellectual tradition into the Program, theme generation and organization, the development of the discernment component of the program, and faculty and Student Development personnel recruitment; faculty of the Board will be responsible for curricular elements of the Program. The Board also may develop and maintain appropriate sub-committees, consistent with University governance, to monitor specific program elements. The Board will provide reports to and, where appropriate, advise the Chair of the Academic Senate and the Vice Presidents for Academic Affairs and Student Development. The Board also will work with the Implementation Committee for Living and Learning Communities to determine details of program implementation. (Approved by the Academic Senate February 15, 2011)


  • Ryan Blake, Class of 2016 (Student Representative) 
  • Tim Brown, S.J., Special Assistant to the President for Mission Intregration/Interim Director of Campus Ministry (Faith and Mission Office Representative)
  • Angela Christman, Professor, Theology Department (Honors Program Director)
  • Theresa DiDonato, Assistant Professor, Psychology Department (Social Science Faculty Representative)
  • Doug Harris, Faculty Co-Director of Messina
  • Christina Harrison, Associate Director, Center for Community Service & Justice (CCSJ Representative)
  • Randy Jones, Associate Professor, Physics Department (Natural Science Faculty Representative)
  • Mark Lewis, Assistant Professor, Teacher Education (School of Education Faculty Representative)
  • Matthew McDonnell, Class of 2014 (Student Representative)
  • Claire Matthews McGinnis, Professor, Theology Department (Humanities Faculty Representative)
  • Ilona McGuiness, Dean of First Year Students 
  • Kathy Clark Petersen, Interim Associate Dean of Students (Student Development Representative)
  • Michael Puma, Student Development Co-Director of Messina
  • Norm Sedgely,Associate Professor, Economics Department (Sellinger Faculty Representative)
  • Christina Spearman, Director of Student Life (Student Life Representative)

Living Learning Implementation Committee Charge:

The Ad Hoc Implementation Committee on First-Year Living Learning Communities will be a committee of the Loyola Conference. The charge of the Committee is to determine logistics, workflows, and resources and allocations necessary for program implementation and maintenance. The Committee will work closely and collaboratively with the Living Learning Board. The Committee’s recommendations will be sent to the Loyola Conference for approval. The Committee may develop and maintain appropriate sub-committees. Members of the Committee will attend the Academic Senate and Loyola Conference meetings when the governance bodies consider the Committee’s recommendations. (Approved by the Loyola Conference March 22, 2011)


  • Carolyn Barry, Associate Professor, Psychology (Faculty Affairs Representative)
  • Taylor Daily, Class of 2015 & Evergreen (Student Representative)
  • Patricia Dalrymple, Director, Records Office (Records Office Representative)
  • Doug Harris, Faculty Co-Director of the Messina
  • Elena Hicks, Dean of Admission (Enrollment Management Representative)
  • Sharon Higgins, Assistant Vice-President, Marketing & Communications (Enrollment Management Representative)
  • Lorie Holtgrave, Director of Budgets and Data Management (Academic Affairs Reprentative)
  • Suzanne Keilson, Associate Dean, Loyola College (Loyola College Representative) 
  • Elizabeth Kennedy, Assistant Professor, Law & Social Responsibility (Sellinger School Representative)
  • Michael Mansfield, Director, Student Administrative Services (SAS Representative)
  • Ilona McGuiness, Dean of First-Year Students
  • Debbie Miller, Director, Academic Support Services (Academic Advising and Student Support Representative)
  • Brian Oakes, Director of Development for Loyola College (Institutional Advancement Representative)
  • Kathy Clark Petersen, Assistant to the Dean of Students (Student Development Representative)
  • Michael Puma, Student Development Co-Director of Messina
  • Megan Rowe, Associate Director, Student Life (Student Housing Representative)
  • Cheryl Moore-Thomas, Associate Dean, School of Education (School of Education Representative)