Loyola University Maryland

Literacy Leadership Awards

Literacy Leader banner

The literacy program in Loyola University Maryland's School of Education will recognize and celebrate the accomplishments of outstanding educators and their impact on their students, schools, and communities on Wednesday, Feb. 22, 2017 from 6 - 7:30 p.m. in the Andrew White Student Center Fourth Floor Program Room.

The evening will feature a keynote address, "African American Families Reading and Responding to African American Children’s Literature," by Jonda C. McNair, Ph.D., professor of literacy education at Clemson University.Jonda C. McNair will present research she has conducted in regard to a family literacy project with African American children’s literature. The project involved African American families with children in grades K-2 and literature for youth written by and about African Americans. Families were provided with more than 50 African American children’s books over a period of six months through monthly workshops. The purpose of the project was to examine how the social practices of the families changed as a result of exposure to the literature.

Data sources included reading logs, pre and post parental interviews as well as children’s drawings and written responses to African American children’s literature. The project concluded with a presentation for the families by noted illustrator, James. E. Ransome. Dr. McNair will conclude her presentation with implications of her work for literature teaching and learning.

The keynote address is followed by a presentation of the 2017 Literacy Leader, Literacy Leader for Community Engagement Award, and Literacy Educator of the Year Awards. Doors open at 5:30 p.m. A reception will follow the event.

Teacher leaders play a crucial role in our education system. They provide inspired and engaging instruction for their students, mentor and support other teachers, and assist principals in the overall school mission, all of which combine to lead to improvements in teaching and learning. The awards honor those who promote literacy, demonstrate innovation in practice, exhibit principled leadership within their school or communities, and model lifelong learning as members of the professional literacy community.

Nominate Someone