Loyola University Maryland

Literacy Leadership Awards

Literacy Leader banner

The literacy program in Loyola University Maryland's School of Education will recognize and celebrate the accomplishments of outstanding educators and their impact on their students, schools, and communities, on Wednesday, Feb. 26, 2014, from 6 - 7 p.m. in the Andrew White Student Center Fourth Floor Program Room.

The evening will feature a keynote address by Dr. Robert Petrone, assistant professor in the English department at Montana State University. At Montana State, Dr. Petrone coordinates the English education program, teaches literacy methods courses for future teachers, works with literacy educators across the state of Montana, and conducts research with a local youth empowerment organization.

The challenges and questions developed through his experiences as a secondary reading and English teacher in Colorado and New York led Dr. Petrone back to school, where he earned his Ph.D. in literacy education at Michigan State University, and began to formally research how to create powerful literacy learning opportunities for youth. In addition to several book chapters, his work has appeared in leading peer-reviewed journals in the field of literacy education, such as Journal of Literacy Research, English Education, Journal of Adolescent and Adult Literacy, English Journal, and Teaching and Teacher Education.

The keynote address is followed by a presentation of the 2014 Literacy Leader and Literacy Educator of the Year Awards. Doors open at 5:30 p.m. A reception will follow the event.

Teacher leaders play a crucial role in our education system. They provide inspired and engaging instruction for their students, mentor and support other teachers, and assist principals in the overall school mission, all of which combine to lead to improvements in teaching and learning. The awards honor those who promote literacy, demonstrate innovation in practice, exhibit principled leadership within their school or communities, and model lifelong learning as members of the professional literacy community.

Nominate Someone >>