Loyola News RSS Feed

Loyola welcomes six new trustees

| By Nick Alexopulos

Loyola University Maryland welcomes six new members to its Board of Trustees. The trustees, recently elected at the University’s annual fall trustee meeting, are:

Stephen C. Ainlay, Ph.D., is president of Union College in Schenectady, N.Y., and chancellor of Union University, whose member institutions include the Albany College of Law, Albany School of Medicine, Albany College of Pharmacy, Union Graduate College, and the Dudley Observatory. Prior to his current positions, Ainlay spent 23 years at the College of the Holy Cross as a professor of sociology and top-level administrator. As a scholar, he has published numerous books and articles related to his research on blindness, aging, spirituality, and Mennonite life. He has also served on the boards of numerous academic and community organizations. Ainlay earned his Ph.D. in sociology from Rutgers University.

Angela Amarhanov, ’12, is a young alumni representative on the Board. At Loyola, she majored in English and writing, was a member of the Writing Honors Society, the Green and Grey Society, and received the Cura Personalis Award. She also worked as a Phonathon caller and Evergreen Orientation Program coordinator. Amarhanov has extensive volunteer experience with organizations in Baltimore City, including the Choice Program, the Club at Collington Square, Baltimore Reads, and the Light Street Branch Library.  She is currently a communications intern at the Travis Manion Foundation in Doylestown, Penn.

Rev. John “Jack” Dennis, S.J., is the president of Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory School in Indianapolis, Ind. Fr. Dennis was the assistant director of Campus Ministry at Loyola from 2007-09 and director from 2009-12, during which he was awarded the President’s Medal and the Educator For Life Award. He served on the student affairs committee of Loyola’s board from 2005-07. He has held administrator roles at numerous other Jesuit institutions, including Loyola Blakefield in Baltimore, Md., where he was president from 1998-2005. Fr. Dennis has served on the boards of trustees for Cristo Rey Jesuit High School, Gonzaga College High School, St. Ignatius College Prep, and Loyola Blakefield. He was ordained in the Maryland Province of the Society of Jesus in 1986.

Marilynn K. Duker is president of The Shelter Group in Baltimore, Md., and president of Shelter Group’s three companies: Shelter Development, Shelter Properties, and Brightview Senior Living. Soon after she joined The Shelter Group in 1982, Duker oversaw the development of the Park Charles building in downtown Baltimore and quickly became involved in every phase of the Group’s operations. Duker has served as chair of the Baltimore City Board of Finance, and was a member of the National Advisory Council for the Housing Authority of New Orleans and the board of the Fund for Educational Excellence. She currently sits on numerous other boards in the Baltimore area, including that of the University of Maryland BioPark Corporation, of which she is chair.

Paul Eibeler, ’78, is chairman of video game distribution company Cokem International and chairman of Viking products, a Caribbean licensing company for Harley Davidson, Major League Baseball, Red Stripe, and the Jamaican Bobsled Team. In addition, he is a director for Virgin Gaming, a Richard Branson company in the competitive gaming business. Eibeler has previously held marketing and management positions at Black and Decker, Swingline Staplers, Imagic, Worlds of Wonder, Acclaim Entertainment, and Take 2 International. He is chairman of the Long Island Alzheimer’s Foundation and a member of the President’s Council for Holy Trinity High School. At Loyola, he was a four-year student-athlete on the men’s basketball team and won the 1978 ECAC Merit Award Medal.

Gregory J. Gailius is a partner in the transaction services practice of PricewaterhouseCoopers. He joined the firm in 1977 and has provided a broad range of mergers and acquisition services both nationally and internationally. Gailius coauthored the book From Term Sheets to Credit Agreements and serves as the vice chairman of the board of the Make-A-Wish Foundation of Massachusetts and Rhode Island and vice chairman of the board of the Francis Ouimet Scholarship Fund. He was a four-year student-athlete on the men’s baseball team at Boston College and has since served in many roles as an active supporter of Boston College’s athletics fundraising efforts.

Loyola now has a total of 35 trustees on its Board. Each trustee serves two four-year terms while young alumni representatives serve two-year terms.

Return to News Home