Loyola University Maryland

Department of Theology

Faculty

Theology Banner
   Chair
Bauerschmidt Bauerschmidt, Frederick C.
Ph.D., Duke University, 1996

HU 042G 410-617-2042
fbauerschmidt@loyola.edu

Research interests: Medieval and Contemporary Theology; Thomas Aquinas

Recent Publications 
Curriculum vitae
Personal website

   Professors
Buckley

Buckley, James J.
Ph.D., Yale University, 1977

HU 042H 410-617-2657
jbuckley@loyola.edu

Research interests: Dogmatic Theology (Catholic and Evangelical); Philosophical Theology (religious and religionless)

Recent publications 
Curriculum vitae

Christman

Christman, Angela Russell
Ph.D., University of Virginia, 1995

HU 042K 410-617-2359
achristman@loyola.edu

Research interests: Early Church; Patristics; Early Christian Biblical Interpretation

Recent Publications
Curriculum vitae

Conley

Conley, S.J., Rev. John J.
Henry J. Knott Professor of Theology and Philosophy
Ph.D., Université Catholique de Louvain, 1988

HU 042M 410-617-2665
jconley1@loyola.edu

Research interests: Moral Theology; Philosophy and Theology; French Philosophy

Recent publications 
Curriculum vitae

Fowl

Fowl, Stephen E.
Ph.D., University of Sheffield, 1987

HU 042F 410-617-2878
sfowl@loyola.edu

Research interests: New Testament (esp. Pauline Studies); Hermeneutics; Theological Interpretation of Scripture

Recent publications 
Curriculum vitae

Mathews

Mathews McGinnis, Claire R.
Ph.D., Yale University, 1994

HU 042O 410-617-2356
cmathews@loyola.edu

Research interests: Prophets (esp. Isaiah); Biblical Narrative; Theological Interpretation

Recent publications 
Curriculum vitae

   Associate Professors
Pomplun

Pomplun, R. Trent
Ph.D., University of Virginia, 2002

HU 042E 410-617-2705
rpomplun@loyola.edu

Research interests: Early Modern Theology; Scholasticism; Missions History

Recent publications 
Curriculum vitae

Rossi

Rossi, S.J., Rev. Joseph S.
Ph.D., Catholic University of America, 1989

HU 042D 410-617-2371
jsrossi@loyola.edu

Research interests: American Catholic Life and Thought; Catholic NGOs at the United Nations; Theology and Cinema (American and International)

Recent publications
Curriculum vitae

Sutherland Sutherland, Arthur M.
Ph.D., Princeton Theological Seminary, 2000

HU 042N 410-617-2217
asutherland@loyola.edu

Research interests: Systematic Theology; History of Doctrine; Theologies of Hospitality, Patience, and Generosity; African American Religious Thought; Christianity and its Critics; Theology and Autobiography

Recent publications

   Assistant Professors
Decosimo

Decosimo, David
Ph.D., Princeton University, 2011

HU 042I 410-617-2476
ddecosimo@loyola.edu

Research interests: Moral Theology; Philosophical and Comparative Ethics and Theology (esp. Islamic); Political Theology; Philosophy of Religion; Theory of Religion; Augustine and Aquinas

Recent publications 
Curriculum vitae

 eklund-rebekah

Eklund, Rebekah
Ph.D., Duke University, 2012

HU 042J 410-617-5003
raeklund@loyola.edu

Research interests: New Testament (esp. Gospels); the Bible and Christian Ethics; Theological Interpretation of Scripture

Recent publications 
Curriculum vitae

Kiess

Kiess, John
Ph.D., Duke University, 2011

HU 042L 410-617-2811
jrkiess@loyola.edu

Research interests: Moral Theology; Political Theology; Ethics of Armed Conflict and Peacemaking; Global Christianities

Recent publications

   Administration
Daniel McClain, Daniel
Director of Program Operations of the Master of Theological Studies
Ph.D., The Catholic University of America, 2013 (expected)

HU 042P 410-617-5649
dwmcclain@loyola.edu

Research interests: Theological Aesthetics; Political Theology; Models of Theological Formation; Franciscan Theology; Bonaventure

Curriculum vitae 
Personal website
Academic.edu

   Visiting Assistant Professor
maiju Lehmijoki-Gardner, Maiju
Ph.D., University of Turku, 1999

HU 042B 410-617-2218
mlehmijokigardn@loyola.edu

Research interests: Health and religious traditions; religious dietary ethics; urban health issues; Christian mysticism and contemplative traditions

Recent publications
Curriculum vitae
Personal website