Loyola University Maryland

Writing Department

Contests and Awards

image divider


Academy of American Poets Prize

The Academy of American Poets Prize is an award endowed by Loyola College and administered by the Academy of American Poets, one of the nation's oldest poetry organizations. The writing department welcomes submissions of poetry portfolios from any Loyola student.

All forms of poetry are eligible. Send us your best collection of 5-7 poems.

Guidelines for submission:

  • all work must be typed and all pages numbered
  • carefully proofread your work; include clean copies only
  • submit your work anonymously (your name should not appear on or within the poems)
  • include a separate cover sheet with your name, permanent address, phone number, email address, class year, and ss#
  • include a table of contents
  • collect your work in a pocket folder clearly labeled "Academy of American Poets Poetry Submission"
  • deposit portfolios in Linda Herr's box, writing department office

** Deadline: May 1

The reading committee, comprised of members of the Department, will read portfolios and contact the winners and honorable mentions by mid-May.

Feel free to contact Linda Herr (410-617-2228 or llherr@loyola.edu) if you have any further questions.
Good Luck!

Loyola's First-Year Writing Essay Contest

The writing department recognizes outstanding first-year writers through its annual essay contest held in May. Faculty nominate students from WR100 Effective Writing and its equivalents (WR100, WR101, and HN200). Faculty read and evaluate the essays, selecting students whose writing merits recognition. Winning students receive a cash prize and a certificate of merit at the Honors Convocation. Winning essays are typically included in the Forum, the department’s literary magazine.


2014-2015 Writing Department Student Awards

2015 Graduation Medal: Emily Shaw

2015 First-Year Writing Award

  • McKayla Coyle, "The Lagoon," First Place
  • Grace Hymel, "Eliminate the Choices," Second Place
  • Giselle Garnett, "Cheering for the Other Team," Third Place
  • Tyler Van Houten, "Correlation vs. Causation in the Entertainment Industry and Society," Fourth Place

Academy of American Poets Award 2015 Winner: Samantha Fazekas
Academy of American Poets Award 2015 Honorable Mention: Siobhan McKenna

Outstanding Writing Student Class of 2016:

Outstanding Writing Student Class of 2017:

2013-2014 Writing Department Student Awards

2014 Graduation Medal: Leya Burns

2014 First-Year Writing Award

  • Brittany Brock, First Place
  • Zoe Smallidge, Second Place
  • Mary Glosenger, Third Place
  • Julia Ainsworth, Fourth Place
  • Annemarie Malady, Fifth Place

Academy of American Poets Award 2014: Leya Burns

Outstanding Writing Student Class of 2015:  Giuliana Caranante
Outstanding Writing Student Class of 2016:  Jean Gillingham

2012-2013 Writing Department Student Awards

2012 Graduation Medal: Lauren Keller

2012 First-Year Writing Award

  • Chandler Zolliecoffer, First Place
  • Katherine Feulner, Second Place
  • Virginia Calistro, Third Place
  • Rachel Christian, Fourth Place (tie)
  • Elizabeth Nachbar, Fourth Place (tie)

2012 American Academy of Poets Award

  • Christy Kontos, First Place
  • Edan Mohr, Honorable Mention

2010-2011 Writing Department Student Awards

2011 Graduation Medal: Kathryn Tracey

2011 First-Year Writing Award

  • Corey Wells, First Place
  • Robin Leya Burns, Second Place
  • Kevin Breen, Third Place
  • Peter Hadjokas, Fourth Place
  • Dana Borelli, Fifth Place

2011 American Academy of Poets Award

  • Christian Rees, First Place
  • Catherine Wisniewski, Honorable Mention

2010 Graduation Medal: Natasha Hochlowski

2010 First-Year Writing Award

  • Victoria Valet, First Place
  • Lauren Hallman, Second Place
  • Valentina Guzzo, Third Place
  • Samantha Garvey, Fourth Place
  • Carolyn Wilson, Fifth Place

2010 American Academy of Poets Award

  • Nicole Ferrari, First Place
  • Nick Mascia, First Place
  • Alexandra Scholldorf, Honorable Mention
  • Jerard Fagerberg, Honorable Mention

2007-2009 Writing Department Student Awards

2009 Graduation Medal: Stephen Albanese

2009 Junior Achievement in Writing

  • Kathryn Tracey

2009 Sophomore Achievement in Writing

  • Letitia Wells

2009 First-Year Writing Award

  • Laura Geron,  First Place
  • Justin Krajeski,  Second Place
  • Thomas Schneider,  Third Place
  • Maria Monalac,  Fourth Place
  • Elizabeth Smolyn,  Fifth Place

2009 Academy of American Poetry Award

  • Donald Vincent, First Place
  • Jerard Fagerberg, First Place
  • Nick Mascia, Honorable Mention
  • Lindsay Rubino, Honorable Mention

2008 Graduation Medal: Lorriane Cuddeback

2008 First-Year Writing Award

  • Remi Formal, First Place
  • Leigh Stambaugh, Second Place
  • Allison Ludica, Third Place
  • Jacob Goodwin, Fourth Place
  • Paul La Plante, Fifth Place

2008 Academy of American Poets Award

  • Matt Rooney, First Place
  • Riana Fields, First Place
  • Leon Malloy, Honorable Mention
  • Ross Lossapio, Honorable Mention

2007 Graduation Medal: Laryssa A. Wirstiuk

2007 Academy of American Poets Award

  • Raina Fields, First Place
  • Edwin Poche, Honorable Mention
  • Chris Varlack, Honorable Mention

2006 Graduation Medal: Thomas Korp

2005 Graduation Medal: Jean Brown

2004 Graduation Medal: Susannah Patrice Wetzel

2003 Graduation Medal: Patricia Ann Callahan

2002 Graduation Medal: Michell Burke and Gemma Bridges

2001 Graduation Medal: Kathryn McHugh