Loyola University Maryland

Department of Biology

Faculty & Staff

Loyola's biology department is an actively engaged group that focuses on excellence in teaching and undergraduate research. The curriculum prepares students as academicians, for their professional career after Loyola and as lifelong learners.

Faculty encourage students to become involved in the program beyond the classroom experience by conducting research projects with biology professors and co-authoring papers presented at regional and national meetings, or becoming a member of the Tri Beta National Biology Honor Society or the biology Student Advisory Board. It is our hope that all students will want to become involved in department activities and contribute to an engaging academic environment.

Chair 

 beckyDr. Rebecca Brogan
Associate Professor
rsbrogan@loyola.edu
Donnelly Science 242
410-617-5244
Interests: Reproductive Physiology

Faculty 

Marenpic0113Dr. Maren Blohm
Associate Professor
mblohm@loyola.edu
Donnelly Science 230
410-617-2169
Interests: Plant Physiology, Plant Stress

 

Dr. Elissa Derrickson
Associate Professor
EDerrickson@loyola.edu
Maryland Hall 145
410-617-2466
Interest: Mammal Evolutionary Physiology
             

 kderrickson_02Dr. Kim Derrickson
Associate Professor and Chair

kderrickson@loyola.edu 
Donnelly Science 258 
410-617-2197
Interests: Animal Behavior
Dr. Theresa GeimanDr. Theresa Geiman
Associate Professor
tmgeiman@loyola.edu 
Donnelly Science 272
410-617-2590
Interest: Epigenetics in Stem Cells 

alfredoDr. Alfredo Herrera
Affiliate Professor
ajherrera@loyola.edu
Donnelly Science 226
410-617-2888
Interest: Human Physiology

arminaDr. Armina Kazi
Associate Professor
aakazi@loyola.edu
Donnelly Science 376
410-617-2139
Interest: Cancer Drug Resistance 
Dr. Donald Keefer
Emeritus Professor
dkeefer@loyola.edu
Donnelly Science 226
410-617-2468
Interest: Neurobiology 

DerekDr. Derek Kendig
Assistant Professor
dmkendig@loyola.edu
Donnelly Science 278
410-617-5239
Interest: Gastrointestinal Physiology and Nutrition 

reagan lakeReagan Lake
Lecturer
ralake@loyola.edu
Donnelly Science 259
410-617-5503 
DaveDr. David Rivers
Professor
drivers@loyola.edu 
Donnelly Science 258
410-617-2057
Interest: Entomology, Forensic Entomology 
BernadetteDr. Bernadette Roche
Associate Professor
broche@loyola.edu 
Donnelly Science 228
410-617-5591
Interest: Plant Ecology
LisaDr. Lisa Scheifele
Associate Professor
lzscheifele@loyola.edu 
Donnelly Science 374
410-617-2316
Interest: Yeast Evolution 
DrewDr. Andrew Schoeffield
Associate Professor
aschoeffield@loyola.edu
Donnelly Science 276
410-617-2912
Interest: Microbiology 
Lauren Spearman
Lecturer
laspearman@loyola.edu
Donnelly Science 232
410-617-2341 
ChrisDr. Christopher Thompson
Associate Professor
cthompson2@loyola.edu
Donnelly Science 274
410-617-2240
Interests: Immunology, Microbiology 
Staff 
ScottScott Deamond
Laboratory Manager
sfdeamond@loyola.edu
Donnelly Science 262
410-617-5486 
Theresa CancillaTheresa Cancila
Program Assistant
tecancila@loyola.edu
Donnelly Science 247
410-617-2642 
Andrew Marshall
Senior Laboratory Technician
admarshall@loyola.edu
Donnelly Science 254a 
410-617-5486 
Loreen Gwion
Laboratory Technician
lgwion@loyola.edu
Donnelly Science 254b 
410-617-2351