Loyola University Maryland

Department of Communication

Contact

Department Office

4501 North Charles Street
Communication Department
College Center M014A
Baltimore, MD 21210
410-617-2528
communication@loyola.edu

Department Chair

Dr. Sara Magee
College Center Room M014I
410-617-6752
scmagee@loyola.edu

Assistant Department Chair

Dr. Amy Becker
College Center M032C
410-617-6756
abbecker@loyola.edu

Internship Coordinator

Mr. David Belz
College Center M014R
410-617-5921
dbelz@loyola.edu

WLOY Radio Station Manager

Mr. John Devecka
Bellarmine Hall
410-617-5349
jdevecka@loyola.edu

GreyComm Television Station Manager

Mr. H. Jay Dunmore
College Center Room M026D
410-617-5293
hjdunmore@loyola.edu

Apprentice House Publisher

Dr. Kevin Atticks, Affiliate Assistant Professor
College Center Room M019
410-617-5265 (Apprentice House Office)
katticks@loyola.edu

 

The department is located in the lower level of the DeChiaro College Center.

Kaye Whitehead
Faculty

Karsonya Wise Whitehead, Ph.D.

Dr. Whitehead teaches courses in communication and African and African American Studies and focuses on how race, class, and gender coalesce in American classrooms

Communication
 Jay O’Brien, wearing a headset, stands in a broadcast booth in Raven's stadium
Outcomes

From Evergreen to the NFL

As a student, Jay O’Brien, ’05, interned for the Baltimore Ravens. Today he’s the team’s VP of Broadcasting and Gameday Productions.