Loyola University Maryland

Pre-Law Program

Awards and Scholarships

Gerstung Award

The Gerstung Award, established in memory of and in honor of Judge Robert J. Gerstung, is given annually to the student who best exemplifies Judge Gerstung’s commitment to the law as a profession of honorable men and women. Judge Gerstung was a judge on the District Court of Maryland from 1971 to 1994 and taught in the Department of Political Science from 1955 until 1994. Judge Gerstung was well recognized for his high intellect, his love for the law, his devotion to God and country, his great sense of humor, and his avid interest in politics. The Gerstung Award consists of a monetary award and a plaque. Past recipients’ names are on the Gerstung Plaque in the Humanities Building.

Past Recipients

2009: [No Award]
2008: Daniel Procaccini
2007: Conor Mulroe
2006: Jason Bartlett
2005: No award
2004: Colleen Rutledge
2003: Danielle Walther
2002: Katherine M. Leahy
2001: Justin O’Connell
2000: Maureen Murphy
1999: Miriam Chikvashvili
1998: Jacqueline Tully
1997: Kelly Shubic
1996: Eilish Cahalan
1995: Laurie A. Wallace
1994: Mandy P. Greenfield