Loyola University Maryland

Sister Cleophas Costello Lecture

About the Sister Cleophas Costello Lecture Series

The Sister Cleophas Lecture was founded in the early 1980s and named in honor of the late Sr. Mary Cleophas Costello, RSM. Costello was the former president of Mount Saint Agnes College, which joined with Loyola University Maryland in 1971. The Sister Cleophas Costello Lecture features addresses by prominent women who embody the ideals Sister Cleophas espoused, including scholarship, leadership, and artistic ability. Previous Sister Cleophas Costello lecturers have included author Amy Tan, Mary Higgins Clark, and Piper Kerman, poet Maya Angelou, and musician Mary Chapin-Carpenter.