Loyola News RSS Feed

McCormick CEO Alan Wilson named Loyola's Business Leader of the Year for 2013

| By Nick Alexopulos

Alan Wilson, chairman, president, and chief executive officer of McCormick and Company, has been named the 2013 Business Leader of the Year by Loyola University Maryland’s Sellinger School of Business and Management. Wilson will be honored at a dinner on Thursday, Nov. 21, at the Renaissance Harborplace Hotel in Baltimore.

"Under Alan Wilson’s leadership, McCormick and Company has continued to grow its reputation and success as both a corporate anchor in Baltimore and a business that is respected internationally for product quality, innovation, and dedication to its customers and the community," said Karyl B. Leggio, Ph.D., dean of the Sellinger School. "His commitment to excellence is something we value deeply at Loyola, and we as an institution, along with our students, are extraordinarily fortunate to remain strongly tied to a company of McCormick’s prestige."

Wilson has served in his current role since 2008. McCormick closed 2012 with a record $4 billion in sales.

Since joining McCormick in 1993, Wilson has led different organizations–from supply chain to business units–and has held many executive management roles within the company. Prior to joining McCormick, he worked at Procter & Gamble, where he held progressively responsible positions in product supply, procurement, and manufacturing.

Wilson graduated from the University of Tennessee, where he attended on an R.O.T.C. scholarship. After college he served as a U.S. Army Captain and did tours in the United States, United Kingdom, and Germany.

Wilson currently serves on the boards of directors of the Grocery Manufacturer's Association, MeadWestvaco Corporation, and the Greater Baltimore Committee. He also serves on the Business Roundtable for Education. Wilson serves on the board of visitors of the University of Maryland, Baltimore County and is a former president of the University of Tennessee, Knoxville Alumni Board. He received the University of Tennessee's Accomplished Alumni Award in 2010.

The Sellinger School has honored a Business Leader of the Year since 1983, recognizing those whose vision, dedicated effort, and singular commitment to the highest ideals of business have distinguished them and their organizations as among the very best in the nation.

Brian Rogers, chairman of the board and chief investment officer of T. Rowe Price Group, was honored in 2012.

Return to News Home