Loyola News RSS Feed

Agreement allows Sellinger School graduate students to complete degree overseas

| By Nick Alexopulos

Graduate students at Loyola University Maryland’s Sellinger School of Business and Management will now be allowed to complete their program requirements at a select group of Jesuit schools overseas, the result of a recently expanded articulation agreement among 22 U.S.-based Jesuit universities accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB-International).
The new Globalized Articulation Agreement includes five AACSB-accredited Jesuit schools outside of the United States, including institutions in Spain, Korea, Taiwan, and Peru.
"We recognize that demanding careers require many of our graduate business students to be globally transient in an increasingly interdependent world," said Karyl B. Leggio, Ph.D., dean of the Sellinger School. "Those students should not be forced to choose between a degree and upward mobility, and I'm honored that we are part of the network of Jesuit schools that has taken a unique leadership role to address this issue."

A domestic articulation agreement has existed among the 22 Jesuit schools for many years. The program allows a student who has completed a significant portion of a program to either finish degree requirements at another participating university or transfer credits to an alternate college or university within the network. Normally, schools only accept a few credits from other institutions to count toward program requirements.

In order to take advantage of the articulation agreement, a student must be in good academic standing with the original institution, apply to a network-related institution that is at least 50 miles from the original institution, and be admissible to the new institution. To date, the original U.S. agreement has given more than 600 students the opportunity to complete their graduate degrees after relocating.
The current U.S. Jesuit schools include Loyola, Boston College, Fordham University, Seattle University, Santa Clara, the University of Scranton, John Carroll University, Marquette University, Xavier University, Loyola University Chicago, Loyola University New Orleans, University of Detroit Mercy, Canisius College, Gonzaga University, Loyola Marymount University, Creighton University, Rockhurst University, Le Moyne University, Fairfield University, St. Joseph’s University, Saint Louis University, and University of San Francisco. Three other Catholic universities participating in the agreement are the University of Dayton, University of Portland, and University of San Diego. The international schools being added to the network are Sogang University (South Korea), Universidad Del Pacifico (Peru), Escuela Superior de Administración y Dirección de Empresas [ESADE] (Spain), Institut Quίmic de Sarrià [IQS] (Spain), and Fu Jen Catholic University (Taiwan).

Return to News Home