School of Education Blog

Loyola announces winners of 12th annual Loyola Literacy Leadership Awards

Loyola University Maryland's School of Education announced this year's winners of the Literacy Leader Award and Educator of the Year Award.

Hannah MacDonald, M.Ed., and Monica Sample, principal of Overlea High School, was named the 2019 Literacy Leader. The Literacy Leader Award recognizes graduates of Loyola's literacy master's program specializing in either reading or literacy.

Erin Nutsugah, a high school English teacher, was named this year's Educator of the Year. The Educator of the Year Award recognizes a Maryland educator who demonstrates accomplished practice and innovation in literacy teaching and learning.

The winners will receive their awards during a ceremony on March 26, 2019, at 6 p.m. in the Loyola/Notre Dame Library Auditorium.