Loyola University Maryland

Modern Languages & Literatures

Faculty

image divider

Learn about our faculty research projects and publications.

Arabic

Inas Hassan

Ph.D., M.A., Alexandria University, Egyptinas hassan
Maryland Hall 464
410-617-5669
ihassan@loyola.edu

Chinese

Jinghua Wangling

Head, Asian Languages Section
Ph.D. Harvard UniversityDr. Jinghua Wangling
Maryland Hall 463
410-617-2795
jwangling@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Pre-modern Chinese Poetry; Early Chinese Literature and History; Early and Medieval Chinese Art History

Yu Zhang

Ph.D., The University of OregonYu Zhang
M.A., Shaanxi Normal University
Maryland Hall 467
410-617-2507
yzhang1@loyola.edu
Areas of Interest: 19th & 20th Centuries Chinese Literature; Women in Chinese History; Women's Narratives

Japanese

Pingsheng Cai

M.A., Shanghai Foreign language Institute
Post-Graduate Study, Nagoya University in Japan
Maryland Hall 457
410-617-2798
pcai@loyola.edu

French

Heidi Brown

M.A., The Ohio State Universityprofessor heidi brown
Ph.D., The Ohio State University
MH 351I
410-617-5607
Area of Study: 20th Century French & Francophone Literatures & Cultures, Trauma Studies

Melanie Giraud

M.A., Bryn Mawr CollegeMelanie Giraud
Ph.D., The Johns Hopkins University
MH 351L
410-617-5548
Area of study: French late Eighteenth-and Nineteenth-Century Prose

Margaret Haggstrom, Emerita

M.A., The University of Texas at Austin
Ph.D., The University of Minnesota
Area of Study: Pedogogy, French Language and Culture

Maria Mihova

M.A., University of South Carolina
ABD, University of Virginia
MH 351F
410.617.2594
Areas of study: French language, literature and culture

Leslie Zarker Morgan

M.A. Middlebury CollegeDr. Leslie Zarker Morgan
M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D. Yale University
MH 461
410-617-2926
lmorgan@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Medieval Italian Language and Literature; Old French Language and Literature

Paul Oorts

M.A., Ph.D. Penn State UniversityDr. Paul Oorts
MH 351E
410-617-2324
phoorts@loyola.edu

Catherine Savell

M.A., Middlebury College
MH 351C
410-617-2927
csavell@loyola.edu

Andrea Thomas

Head, French SectionDr. Andrea Thomas
M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D., Columbia University
MH 351H
410-617-2612
asthomas@loyola.edu
Area of study: French Surrealism and Symbolism

German

Ursula Beitter

Head, German Section
M.A., Ph.D. New York University
Maryland Hall 351G
410-617-2514
ubeitter@loyola.edu
Director: Comparative Cultures & Literary Studies program
Areas of study: Nineteenth-Century Literature; German Cinema; Contemporary Germany; and Foreign Language Pedagogy
German Area Studies Steering Committee

Patrick Brugh

Director, Language Learning CenterPatrick Brugh portrait
M.A., Ph.D. Washington University
Maryland Hall 443B
410-617-2670
pjbrugh@loyola.edu
Areas of Study: Germanic Languages & Literatures; Gender Studies; Technology and Aesthetics

Randall P. Donaldson

Director, Graduate Program in Liberal StudiesDr. Randy Donaldson
M.A., Ph.D. The Johns Hopkins University
Maryland Hall 351D
410-617-2299
rdonaldson@loyola.edu
Areas of study: German-American Immigration and History; German-American Literary Relations; and Aesthetics
German Area Studies Steering Committee

Eston J. Teter

M.M., Peabody Conservatory of Music
Maryland Hall 457
410-617-2348
ejteter@loyola.edu

Italian

Nicolino Applauso

M.A., Florida State UniversityProfessor Nicolino Applauso
Ph.D., University of Oregon
Maryland Hall 351E
x2785
napplauso@loyola.edu 
Areas of Study: Medieval and Modern History, Comic Poetry

Leslie Zarker Morgan

Head, Italian SectionDr. Leslie Zarker Morgan
M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D. Yale University
M.A. Middlebury College
Maryland Hall 461
410-617-2926
lmorgan@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Medieval Italian Language and Literature; Old French Language and Literature

Paul Oorts

M.A., Ph.D. Penn State UniversityDr. Paul Oorts
Maryland Hall 351E
410-617-2324
phoorts@loyola.edu

Giuliana Risso Robberto

M.A. (Equivalent) in Education, Università di Torino
Maryland Hall 351E
410-617-2090
grissorobberto@loyola.edu

Eston J. Teter

M.M., Peabody Conservatory of Music
Maryland Hall 457
410-617-2348
ejteter@loyola.edu

Spanish

Emma Cervone

M.Ph., Ph.D., Institute of Amerindian Studies, University of St. Andrews
Maryland Hall 351K
410.617.2513
Areas of Study: Indigenous cultures and politics, Spanish

Diane Chaffee-Sorace

M.A., Ph.D. Duke University
MH 448
410-617-2813
dchaffee@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Golden Age Literature; Spanish Poetry

Johanna Delgado Aviles

M.A., Ph.D. (ABD), CUNY, New York
MH 351K
410-617-5374
jdelgado@loyola.edu

Ramón Espejo-Saavedra

ChairDr. Ramon Espejo-Saavedra
M.A., Ph.D. University of Pennsylvania
MH 465
410-617-2610
respejo@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Modern Spanish Peninsular Literature; History and Literature

Lloyd Frias

M.A. Marquette University
MH 443B
410-617-2652
ljfrias@loyola.edu

Ana Gómez-Pérez

Associate Chair
M.A. University of Wisconsin (Madison)
Ph.D. University of Pennsylvania
MH 351B
410-617-2775
agp@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Nineteenth and Twentieth Century Spanish Peninsular Literature

Yolopattli Hernandez Torres

M.A., Ph.D.  University of Illinois at Urbana-ChampaignYolopattli Hernandez-Torres
MH 456
410-617-2463
yihernandez@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Colonial Spanish American Literatures and Cultures, Visual Culture in Spanish America

Margarita Jacome

Head, Spanish Section
Ph.D. The University of Iowa
M.A. Universidad Javeriana
Maryland Hall 351J
410-617-2364
mjacome@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Latin American Literature and Cultures, emphasis on 20th and 21st Centuries

Tasha Lewis

Ph.D. University of California, DavisDr. Tasha Lewis
M.A. California State University, Long Beach
MH 460
410-617-5603
tnlewis@loyola.edu
Areas of Study: Spanish Linguistics, Second Language Acquisition, Cognitive Linguistics, Speech and Gesture

Luzmaria Renjifo

M.A., Yale University
MH 351L
410-617-5787
lrenjifo@loyola.edu

Maria Ruiz Rosique

M.A., West Virgina University
MH 351L
410-617-2924
mruizrosique@loyola.edu

Ursula Sayers-Ward

M.A. The Catholic University of America
MH 351F
410-617-2931
ucsayersward@loyola.edu

Holly Schneider

M.A., The University of Delaware
MH 351K
410-617-5230
huschneider@loyola.edu


Sarah Tyler

M.A., University of North Carolina at Greensboro
MH 351L
410-617-2105
sgtyler@loyola.edu

Sarah Vitale

M.A. Louisiana State University A & M
MH 464
410-617-2974
sjvitale@loyola.edu

Thomas Ward

Director, Latin American and Latino StudiesDr. Thomas Ward
M.A., Ph.D. The University of Connecticut
MH 462
410-617-2370
tward@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Colonial and 19th-Century Latin American Literature