Loyola University Maryland

Modern Languages & Literatures

Faculty

Learn about our faculty research projects and publications.

Here are the Spring 2017 Office Hours.

Arabic

Inas Hassan

Ph.D., M.A., Alexandria University, Egyptinas hassan
Maryland Hall 464
x5669
Office Hours: MW 1.00-2.00, MF 9.30-10.00
ihassan@loyola.edu

Chinese

Jinghua Wangling

Head, Asian Languages Section
Ph.D. Harvard UniversityDr. Jinghua Wangling
Maryland Hall 463
x2795
Office Hours: MWF 10.00-11.00
jwangling@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Pre-modern Chinese Poetry; Early Chinese Literature and History; Early and Medieval Chinese Art History

Yu Zhang

Ph.D., The University of OregonYu Zhang
M.A., Shaanxi Normal University
Maryland Hall 467
x2507
On Spring Sabbatical
yzhang1@loyola.edu
Areas of Interest: 19th & 20th Centuries Chinese Literature; Women in Chinese History; Women's Narratives

French

Heidi Brown

M.A., The Ohio State Universityprofessor heidi brown
Ph.D., The Ohio State University
MH 351I
x5607
Office Hours: MWF 11.00-1.00
Area of Study: 20th Century French & Francophone Literatures & Cultures, Trauma Studies

Melanie Giraud

M.A., Bryn Mawr CollegeMelanie Giraud
Ph.D., The Johns Hopkins University
MH 351L
x5548
Office Hours: M 3.00-5.00
Area of study: French late Eighteenth-and Nineteenth-Century Prose

Margaret Haggstrom, Emerita

M.A., The University of Texas at Austin
Ph.D., The University of Minnesota
Area of Study: Pedogogy, French Language and Culture

Leslie Zarker Morgan

M.A. Middlebury CollegeDr. Leslie Zarker Morgan
M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D. Yale University
MH 461
x2926
Office Hours: WF 1.00-2.30
lmorgan@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Medieval Italian Language and Literature; Old French Language and Literature

Paul Oorts

M.A., Ph.D. Penn State UniversityDr. Paul Oorts
MH 351E
x2324
Office Hours: MW 2.00-3.00, F 9.00-11.00
phoorts@loyola.edu

Catherine Savell

M.A., Middlebury College
MH 351C
x2927
Office Hours: MWF 11.00-12.00, M 3.00-4.00, WF 2.00-3.30
csavell@loyola.edu

Andrea Thomas

Head, French SectionDr. Andrea Thomas
M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D., Columbia University
MH 351H
x2612
On Spring Sabbatical
asthomas@loyola.edu
Area of study: French Surrealism and Symbolism

German

Ursula Beitter

Head, German Section
M.A., Ph.D. New York University
Maryland Hall 351G
x2514
Office Hours: TTH 11.00-12.00
ubeitter@loyola.edu
Director: Comparative Cultures & Literary Studies program
Areas of study: Nineteenth-Century Literature; German Cinema; Contemporary Germany; and Foreign Language Pedagogy
German Area Studies Steering Committee

Patrick Brugh

Director, Language Learning CenterPatrick Brugh portrait
M.A., Ph.D. Washington University
Maryland Hall 443B
x2670
Office Hours: MWF 9.30-10.30, T 3.30-4.45
pjbrugh@loyola.edu
Areas of Study: Germanic Languages & Literatures; Gender Studies; Technology and Aesthetics

Randall P. Donaldson

Director, Graduate Program in Liberal StudiesDr. Randy Donaldson
M.A., Ph.D. The Johns Hopkins University
Maryland Hall 351D
x2299
Office Hours: MWF 11.00-12.00
rdonaldson@loyola.edu
Areas of study: German-American Immigration and History; German-American Literary Relations; and Aesthetics
German Area Studies Steering Committee

Eston J. Teter

M.M., Peabody Conservatory of Music
Maryland Hall 457
x2348
Office Hours: MWF 11.00-12.00
ejteter@loyola.edu

Italian

Nicolino Applauso

M.A., Florida State UniversityProfessor Nicolino Applauso
Ph.D., University of Oregon
Maryland Hall 351E
x2785
Office Hours: TTH 11.00-12.00
napplauso@loyola.edu 
Areas of Study: Medieval and Modern History, Comic Poetry

Leslie Zarker Morgan

Head, Italian SectionDr. Leslie Zarker Morgan
M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D. Yale University
M.A. Middlebury College
Maryland Hall 461
x2926
Office Hours: WF 1.00-2.30
lmorgan@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Medieval Italian Language and Literature; Old French Language and Literature

Paul Oorts

M.A., Ph.D. Penn State UniversityDr. Paul Oorts
Maryland Hall 351E
x2324
Office Hours: MW 2.00-3.00, F 9.00-11.00
phoorts@loyola.edu

Giuliana Risso Robberto

M.A. (Equivalent) in Education, Università di Torino
Maryland Hall 351E
x2090
MWF 12.00-1.00
grissorobberto@loyola.edu

Eston J. Teter

M.M., Peabody Conservatory of Music
Maryland Hall 457
x2348
Office Hours: MWF 11.00-12.00
ejteter@loyola.edu

Spanish

Emma Cervone

M.Ph., Ph.D., Institute of Amerindian Studies, University of St. Andrews
Maryland Hall 351K
x2513
Office Hours: MWF 1.00-1.50
ecervone@loyola.edu
Areas of Study: Indigenous cultures and politics, Spanish

Diane Chaffee-Sorace

M.A., Ph.D. Duke University
MH 448
x2813
Office Hours: TTH 3.05-4.25
dchaffee@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Golden Age Literature; Spanish Poetry

Johanna Delgado Aviles

M.A., Ph.D. (ABD), CUNY, New York
MH 351K
x5374
Office Hours: MWF 8.00-8.50
jdelgado@loyola.edu

Ramón Espejo-Saavedra

ChairDr. Ramon Espejo-Saavedra
M.A., Ph.D. University of Pennsylvania
MH 465
x2610
Office Hours: MWF 11.00-12.00, 1.00-2.00
respejo@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Modern Spanish Peninsular Literature; History and Literature

Lloyd Frias

M.A. Marquette University
MH 443B
x2652
Office Hours: MWF 10.00-10.50, W 1.00-1.50
ljfrias@loyola.edu

Ana Gómez-Pérez

Associate Chair
M.A. University of Wisconsin (Madison)
Ph.D. University of Pennsylvania
MH 351B
x2775
Office Hours: MWF 9.00-10.00, 12.00-1.00
agp@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Nineteenth and Twentieth Century Spanish Peninsular Literature

Yolopattli Hernandez Torres

M.A., Ph.D.  University of Illinois at Urbana-ChampaignYolopattli Hernandez-Torres
MH 456
x2463
Office Hours: TTH 12.30-1.30, T 3.00-4.00
yihernandez@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Colonial Spanish American Literatures and Cultures, Visual Culture in Spanish America

Margarita Jacome

Head, Spanish Section
Ph.D. The University of Iowa
M.A. Universidad Javeriana
Maryland Hall 351J
x2364
Office Hours: TTH 3.00-4.00
mjacome@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Latin American Literature and Cultures, emphasis on 20th and 21st Centuries

Tasha Lewis

Ph.D. University of California, DavisDr. Tasha Lewis
M.A. California State University, Long Beach
MH 460
x5603
Office Hours: MWF 10.00-11.00
tnlewis@loyola.edu
Areas of Study: Spanish Linguistics, Second Language Acquisition, Cognitive Linguistics, Speech and Gesture

Maria Ruiz Rosique

M.A., West Virgina University
MH 351L
410-617-2924
Office Hours: MWF 10.00-11.00, W 12.00-1.00
mruizrosique@loyola.edu

Ursula Sayers-Ward

M.A. The Catholic University of America
MH 351F
x2931
Office Hours: MWF 12.00-12.50
ucsayersward@loyola.edu

Holly Schneider

M.A., The University of Delaware
MH 351K
x5230
huschneider@loyola.edu

Sarah Tyler

M.A., University of North Carolina at Greensboro
MH 351L
x2105
Office Hours: MWF 11.00-12.00, W 8.00-9.00
sgtyler@loyola.edu

Sarah Vitale

Spanish Core Coordinator
M.A. Louisiana State University A & M
MH 464
x2974
Office Hours: 2.00-2.50
sjvitale@loyola.edu

Thomas Ward

Director, Latin American and Latino StudiesDr. Thomas Ward
M.A., Ph.D. The University of Connecticut
MH 462
x2370
Office Hours: 12.00-1.00
tward@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Colonial and 19th-Century Latin American Literature