Loyola University Maryland

Modern Languages & Literatures

Spanish Faculty

image divider

Diane Chaffee-Sorace 
M.A., Ph.D. Duke University
Maryland Hall 448
410-617-2813
dchaffee@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Golden Age Literature; Spanish Poetry

José Alfredo Contreras
M.A.  California State University Fullerton
Maryland Hall 351F
410.617.2594
jacontreras@loyola.edu

Suzanne Crouse
M.A. West Virginia University
Maryland Hall 351E
410.617.2520
secrouse@loyola.edu

Johanna Delgado
M.A., Ph.D. (ABD), CUNY, New York
Maryalnd Hall 351K
410.617.5374

Ramón Espejo-Saavedra - Interim Chair
M.A., Ph.D. University of Pennsylvania
Maryland Hall 465
410-617-2610
respejo@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Modern Spanish Peninsular Literature; History and Literature

Lloyd Frias
M.A. Marquette University
Maryland Hall 351K
410.617.2652
ljfrias@loyola.edu

Ana Gómez-Pérez   - Interim Associate Chair
M.A. University of Wisconsin (Madison)
Ph.D. University of Pennsylvania
Maryland Hall 351B
410-617-2775
agp@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Nineteenth and Twentieth Century Spanish Peninsular Literature

Yolopattli Hernandez Torres
M.A., Ph.D.  University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Maryland Hall 456
410-617-2463
yihernandez@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Colonial Spanish American Literatures and Cultures, Visual Culture in Spanish America

Margarita Jacome - Head, Spanish Section
Ph.D. The University of Iowa
M.A. Universidad Javeriana
Maryland Hall 351J
410.617.2364
mjacome@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Latin American Literature and Cultures, emphasis on 20th and 21st Centuries

Tasha Lewis
Ph.D. University of California, Davis
M.A.  California State University, Long Beach
Maryland Hall 460
410-617-5603
tnlewis@loyola.edu
Areas of Study: Spanish Linguistics, Second Language Acquisition

Marie Murphy
M.A., Ph.D. University of Wisconsin (Madison)
Maryland Hall 462
410-617-2511
mmurphy@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Twentieth Century Hispanic Literature; Women Writers

Brenda Ortiz-Loyola
M.A., Ph.D., UCLA
J.D., The University of Puerto Rico, School of Law
Maryland Hall 351L
410.617.5787
bortizloyola@loyola.edu
Areas of Study: Hispanic Caribbean Race, Gender & Social Class in Early Feminist Movement

Luzmaria Renjifo
M.A., Yale University
Maryland Hall 351L
410.617.

Maria Ruiz Rosique
M.A., West Virgina University
Maryland Hall 351L
410.617.2924
mruizrosique@loyola.edu

Ursula Sayers-Ward
M.A. The Catholic University of America
Maryland Hall 351F
410-617-2931 
ucsayersward@loyola.edu

Holly Schneider
M.A., The University of Delaware
Maryland Hall 443
410.617.5230
huschneider@loyola.edu
Language Learning Center Director

Sarah Tyler
M.A., University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Maryland Hall 351L
410.617.2105
sgtyler@loyola.edu

Sarah Vitale
M.A.  Louisiana State University A & M
Maryland Hall 351K
410.617.2974
sjvitale@loyola.edu

Thomas Ward - Director, Latin American and Latino Studies
M.A., Ph.D. The University of Connecticut
Maryland Hall 351 I
410-617-2370
tward@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Colonial and 19th-Century Latin American Literature

Melba Zamora
M.A.  Javeriana University
Maryland Hall 351K
410.617.2305
mzamora@loyola.edu

 

 

 

10/17/13