Loyola University Maryland

Maryland Student Forensic Conference

Collage of illustrations of bugs, leaves, as well as photos of students in labs

Loyola to host the Maryland Student Forensic Conference, "Preparing Tomorrow’s Leaders in Forensic Science," aimed towards high school and undergraduate students with a desire to learn more about careers in forensics and other opportunities in the growing field of forensic science and forensic studies. Several forensic professionals and law enforcement agencies will be on-hand to perform demonstrations and hands-on activities in the latest advances in forensic investigations, as well as to answer student questions. Demonstrations will include latent prints, bloodstain and trace evidence, firearm analysis, polygraph, forensic entomology, and others.

Representatives from eight Maryland colleges and universities offering forensic degrees will also be available to answer questions regarding career choices, degree options, and research opportunities. John Wallace, Ph.D., co-founder of the North American Forensic Entomology Association and diplomate of the American Board of Forensic Entomology, will provide a keynote address, "Maggots, Murder and Mayhem: Using Insects and Other Arthropods in Forensic Investigations." The conference will serve as an excellent opportunity to begin networking with some of the top forensic and law enforcement professionals in the State of Maryland.

The event is being sponsored by the Center for Forensic Excellence at Stevenson University, Loyola University Maryland, and Notre Dame of Maryland University. This event is open to high school and undergraduate students, but nomination and registration is required.

Directions to Campus

Parking on Notre Dame Campus

Parking on Triangle Lot Cold Spring Lane (limited)

 

 

Contact List

Name

Institution

Department

 Email

Howard Schindler

Stevenson University/St. Paul’s HS

Forensic Science

hschindler@stevenson.edu

Darlene Brothers-Gray

Coppin State University

Criminal Justice

dbrothers-gray@coppin.edu

Laura Ellsworth

Prince George’s County Community College

Public Safety and Law

ellswolr@pgcc.edu

Alison Shao

Stevenson University

School of Sciences and Graduate and Professional Studies

 

ashao@stevenson.edu

Raymond Harris

Prince George’s County Community College

Public Safety and Law

harrisrl@pgcc.edu

David Rivers

Loyola University Maryland

Biology

drivers@loyola.edu

 

Kelly Elkins

Towson University

Chemistry

kmelkins@towson.edu

 

Gwen Gilinger

CCBC

Biology

ggilinger@ccbcmd.edu

Rana DellaRocco

BPD Forensic Unit/Towson

Director, Forensic Unit

Rana.DellaRocco@baltimorepolice.org

 

Judy Staveley

Frederick CC

Bioprocessing and Forensic Science

jstaveley@frederick.edu

 

Emily Boward

Frederick CC

Science Laboratory Technician

EBoward@frederick.edu

 

Thomas Coogan

Stevenson University

Associate Dean of Forensics

tcoogan@stevenson.edu