Skip to main content

Loyola announces winners of 12th annual Loyola Literacy Leadership Awards

Loyola University Maryland’s School of Education announced this year’s winners of the Literacy Leader Award and Educator of the Year Award.

The Literacy Leader Award recognizes graduates of Loyola’s literacy master’s program specializing in either reading or literacy who promote literacy, demonstrate innovation in practices, exhibit principal leadership within the school or community, and model lifelong learning as a member of the professional literacy community.

Hannah MacDonald, M.Ed, nominated by the literacy program co-directors, is one of Loyola’s 2019 Literacy Leaders. She graduated from Loyola with a bachelor’s in elementary education and master’s in the reading specialist program. MacDonald has taught classes in both the Reading Specialist and Master of Art in Teaching graduation programs, and is passionate about mentoring and connecting with students.

Monica Sample, principal of Overlea High School, was also named a 2019 Literacy Leader. She is passionate about education and uses literacy to connect with both teachers and students. By identifying the strengths of her faculty to help lead initiatives within the school, Sample established a leadership team, which provides the opportunity for teachers to present and learn from one another. Sample is also the administrator in the Loyola/Overlea PDS partnership, where she helped Overlea win a grant from the Learning Forward Foundation for Equity in Student Learning. 

The Educator of the Year Award recognizes a Maryland educator who demonstrates accomplished practice and innovation in literacy teaching and learning, fosters a literacy-rich and welcoming classroom community, models lifelong learning, enhances colleagues, and exhibits principled practice in the classroom, school, and/or community.

Erin Nutsugah, a high school English teacher in her seventh year in Baltimore City Public Schools, has been named this year’s Educator of the Year. Nutsugah has held several leadership roles during her time in Baltimore City and is committed to using arts integration and creative thinking to build student ownership of literacy skills.

The winners will receive their awards during a ceremony on March 26, 2019, at 6 p.m. in the Loyola/Notre Dame Library Auditorium. The event is free and open to the public; however, registration is required