Skip to main content

Sellinger School Dean Kathleen Getz, Ph.D., to leave Loyola to become president of Mercyhurst University

Kathleen A. Getz, Ph.D., dean of the Sellinger School of Business and Management

Kathleen A. Getz, Ph.D., dean of the Sellinger School of Business and Management, has been named president of Mercyhurst University, a Catholic liberal arts college in Erie, Pa. Dean Getz will continue to serve in her role at Loyola through the close of the spring semester before becoming president of Mercyhurst in July.

Since arriving at Loyola as dean of the Sellinger School in 2015, Getz has cultivated relationships with the Baltimore business community, partnered with faculty on an undergraduate curricular review, and played a leading role in advancing the University’s work in innovation and entrepreneurship, as we have created the Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship. Under her leadership, the University has added the Data Science major and minor, the Innovation and Entrepreneurship minor, and redesigned the Professional’s Master of Business Administration to make it more effective and more marketable for students. Most recently, Getz led the Sellinger School through its Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business reaccreditation.

“An advocate for the value of Jesuit, Catholic business education, Dean Getz has been an influential and collaborative leader who has encouraged us to see how business can contribute to the life, strength, and success of a community,” said Amanda M. Thomas, Ph.D., provost and vice president for academic affairs.

Getz formerly served as dean of the Quinlan School of Business at Loyola University Chicago and prior to that as senior associate dean for academic affairs for American University, Kogod School of Business.

She has a Ph.D. in Business Administration from University of Pittsburgh, an MBA from Gannon University, and a B.S. in Human Development from the Pennsylvania State University.

The University will conduct an internal search for an interim dean to serve during the 2021-2022 academic year.