Loyola University Maryland

Department of History

Faculty & Staff

Staff
Nadine Fenchak Nadine Fenchak
Program Assistant
HU 322A
Telephone: 410-617-2326
nfenchak@loyola.edu
Chair
Sara Scalenghe Sara Scalenghe
Associate Professor
HU 301
410-617-2017
sscalenghe@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: Middle East and North Africa; disability; gender
Faculty 
Isacar Bolanos Isacar Bolanos 
Visiting Assistant Professor 
HU 304 
410-617-2424 
ibolanos@loyola.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Environmental History of the late Ottoman Empire and modern Middle East
Rev. Charles Borges, S.J.
Rev. Charles Borges, S.J. 
Associate Professor 
HU 318 
410-617-2016 
cborges@loyola.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Jesuit History in Asia; Indo-Portuguese History; Goa History
David Carey Jr. David Carey Jr. 
Doehler Chair in History; Professor 
HU 310 
410-617-2893 
drcarey@loyola.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Latin American History; Indigenous Peoples; Oral History; Gender
Kelly DeVries Kelly DeVries 
Professor 
HU 302 
410-617-2661 
kdevries@loyola.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Medieval Military History and Technology; History of Technology; Medieval History; Military History
Chad R. Diehl
Chad R. Diehl 
Assistant Professor 
HU 316 
410-617-5531 
crdiehl@loyola.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Modern East Asian History; Modern and Early Modern Japan; Cultural Memory Studies
Jane Edwards 
Instructor 
HU 308 
410-617-2018 
jedwards@loyola.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Modern European Intellectual History
Christopher England Christopher England 
Lecturer 
HU 323 
410-617-5315 
cwengland@loyola.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Modern U.S. Intellectual and Economic History
Felicia Jamison Felicia Jamison 
Visiting Assistant Professor 
HU 313 
410-617-2432 
fljamison@loyola.edu 
Areas of Specialization: 19th and 20th Century African American History
Matthew Mulcahy Matthew Mulcahy 
Professor 
HU 309 
410-617-2019 
mmulcahy@loyola.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Colonial America; History of Disasters
Okoh Oghenetoja Okoh 
Assistant Professor 
HU 312 
410-617-5613 
ohokoh@loyola.edu
  Austin Parks 
Visiting Assistant Professor 
HU 306 
410-617-5069 
acparks@loyola.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Eastern Asia
Dr. Brandon Parlopiano Brandon Parlopiano 
Visiting Affiliate Assistant Professor 
410-617-2229 
btparlopiano@loyola.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Medieval Europe
Thomas R. Pengram Thomas R. Pegram 
Professor 
HU 305 
410-617-2856 
tpegram@loyola.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Late 19th/Early 20th-Century American Political and Social History
Andrew Ross
Andrew Ross 
Assistant Professor 
HU 311 
410-617-2229 
aross1@loyola.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Modern Europe, France, History of Sexuality
Willeke Sandler Willeke Sandler 
Assistant Professor 
HU 303 
410-617-5479 
wsandler@loyola.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Modern Europe; Modern Germany; imperialism; nationalism; public history
Sara Scalenghe Sara Scalenghe 
Associate Professor 
HU 301 
410-617-2017 
sscalenghe@loyola.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Middle East and North Africa; disability; gender
Affiliated Faculty
Martha Taylor

Martha Taylor 
Associate Professor of History and Classics; Chair of the Classics Department 
HU 321B 
410-617-2636 
mtaylor@loyola.edu

Classics homepage

Joseph Walsh

Joseph Walsh 
Professor of History and Classics 
HU 333 
410-617-2896 
jwalsh@loyola.edu

Classics homepage

Faculty Emeriti 
Dr. John Breihan
John Breihan 
Professor Emeritus 
breihan@loyola.edu 
Areas of Specialization: 20th-Century American Suburbia; Aviation History; Late 18th-Century Britain; Military
Katherine Stern Brennan Katherine Stern Brennan 
Professor Emerita 
kbrennan@loyola.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Early Modern French History 
Dr. Chuck Cheape Chuck Cheape 
Professor Emeritus 
ccheape@loyola.edu 
Areas of Specialization: U.S. Business and Economic History 
Dr. Bill Donovan Bill Donovan 
Associate Professor Emeritus 
donovan@loyola.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Early Modern Portuguese History 
Book cover. Title: Political Poetry as Discourse. By: Angela Michele Leonard Angela Leonard 
Associate Professor Emerita 
aleonard@loyola.edu 
Areas of Specialization: African Diaspora; Black Female Jazz Singers; Early 19th-Century British and American Journalism; 19th-Century Propaganda and Political Poetry 
Dr. Steven Hughes
Steven Hughes 
Professor Emeritus 
schughes@loyola.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Modern Italian History; Masculinity; History of Crime 
Elizabeth Schmidt Elizabeth Schmidt 
Professor Emerita 
eschmidt@loyola.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Late colonial Souther Africa (esp. Zimbabwe and South Africa); late colonial West Africa (emphasis on the Guinea); foreign intervention in Africa, Cold War to the present 
Dr. R. Keith Schoppa R. Keith Schoppa 
Professor Emeritus and former Doehler Chair of Asian History 
kschoppa@loyola.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Chinese Political; Social and Cultural History from 1900 to 1950

Joseph Walsh
Faculty

Joseph Walsh, Ph.D.

Joseph Walsh, Ph.D., teaches classics and history at Loyola and is a co-director of the Honors Program

Classics, History