Loyola University Maryland

Department of History

Faculty & Staff

Staff
Nadine Fenchak Program Assistant History Program Assistant
Nadine Fenchak
HU 322A
Telephone: 410-617-2326
nfenchak@loyola.edu
Chair
 Headshot of Sara Scalenghe Sara Scalenghe
Associate Professor
HU 301
410-617-2017
sscalenghe@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: Middle East and North Africa; disability; gender
Faculty

Isacar Bolanos
Visiting Assistant Professor
HU 304
410-617-2424
ibolanos@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: Environmental History of the late Ottoman Empire and modern Middle East
Father Borges
Rev Charles Borges, S.J. 
Associate Professor 
HU 318 
410-617-2016 
cborges@loyola.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Jesuit History in Asia; Indo-Portuguese History; Goa History
Dr Carey

David Carey Jr
Doehler Chair in History; Professor
HU 310
410-617-2893
drcarey@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: Latin American History; Indigenous Peoples; Oral History; Gender

 

 devries_kelly

Kelly DeVries
Professor
HU 302
410-617-2661
kdevries@loyola.edu
Area of Specialization: Medieval Military History and Technology; History of Technology; Medieval History; Military History

 

diehl_chad

Chad R. Diehl
Assistant Professor
HU 316
410-617-5531
crdiehl@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: Modern East Asian History; Modern and Early Modern Japan; Cultural Memory Studies

 

Jane Edwards
Instructor 
HU 308
410-617-2018
jedwards@loyola.edu
Area of Specialization: Modern European Intellectual History

 

 

Christopher England
Lecturer
HU 323
410-617-5315
cwengland@loyola.edu
Area of Specialization: Modern U.S. Intellectual and Economic History

  Matthew Franco
Lecturer
HU302
410-617-2891
mefranco@loyola.edu
Area of Specialization: Latin America.

Felicia Jamison
Visiting Assistant Professor
HU 313
410-617-2432
fljamison@loyola.edu
Area of Specialization: 19th and 20th Century African American History.
 mulcahy_matt Matthew Mulcahy 
Professor
HU 309
410-617-2019
mmulcahy@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: Colonial America; History of Disasters
 

Oghenetoja Okoh
Assistant Professor
HU 312
410-617-5613
ohokoh@loyola.edu

 

Austin Parks
Visiting Assistant Professor of History
HU 306
410-617-5069
acparks@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: Eastern Asia

 

 Dr. Brandon Parlopiano Brandon Parlopiano
Visiting Affiliate Assistant Professor 
410-617-2229
btparlopiano@loyola.edu
Area of Specialization: Medieval Europe
pegram_tom Thomas R. Pegram
Professor
HU 305
410-617-2856
tpegram@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: Late 19th/Early 20th-Century American Political and Social History
 andrew-ross

Andrew Ross
Assistant Professor
HU 311
410-617-2229
aross1@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: Modern Europe, France, History of Sexuality.

Willeke Sandler
Assistant Professor 
HU 303
410-617-5479
wsandler@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: Modern Europe; Modern Germany; imperialism; nationalism; public history.

Headshot of Sara Scalenghe Sara Scalenghe
Associate Professor
HU 301
410-617-2017
sscalenghe@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: Middle East and North Africa; disability; gender
 taylor_martha Martha Taylor
Associate Professor of History and Classics; Chair of the Classics Department
HU 321B
410-617-2636
Department Chair
mtaylor@loyola.edu
Classics Homepage
 Joseph Walsh

Joseph Walsh
Professor of History and Classics
HU 333
410-617-2896
jwalsh@loyola.edu
Classics Homepage

Faculty Emeriti 
 Dr. John Breihan John Breihan
Professor Emeritus
breihan@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: 20th-Century American Suburbia; Aviation History; Late 18th-Century Britain; Military
 dr brennan  

Katherine Stern Brennan
Professor Emerita
 kbrennan@loyola.edu
Area of Specialization: Early Modern French History

 
Dr. Cheape

Chuck Cheape
Professor Emeritus
ccheape@loyola.edu
Area of Specialization: U.S. Business and Economic History

Dr. Bill Donovan Bill Donovan 
Associate Professor Emeritus
Donovan@loyola.edu
Area of Specialization: Early Modern Portuguese History
Leonard-Poetry_as_Discourse

Angela Leonard
Associate Professor Emerita
aleonard@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: African Dispora; Black Female Jazz Singers; Early 19th-Century British and American Journalism; 19th-Century Propaganda and Political Poetry

 Dr. Steven Hughes Steven Hughes 
Professor Emeritus
schughes@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: Modern Italian History; Masculinity; History of Crime
 Schmidt Elizabeth Schmidt
Professor  Emeritus
eschmidt@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: Late colonial Southern Africa (esp. Zimbabwe and South Africa); late colonial West Africa (emphasis on the Guinea); foreign intervention in Africa, Cold War to the present.
Dr. R. Keith Schoppa 

R. Keith Schoppa 
Professor Emeritus and former Doehler Chair of Asian History
kschoppa@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: Chinese Political; Social and Cultural History from 1900 to 1950

















Rana Malek
Alumni

Rana Malek

The relationships she formed with faculty and fellow students prepared Rana for her career in medicine

History