Loyola University Maryland

Department of History

Faculty & Staff

 Chair
 mulcahy_matt Matthew Mulcahy 
Professor
HU 309
410-617-2019
mmulcahy@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: Colonial America; History of Disasters
Faculty
Father Borges
Rev Charles Borges, S.J. 
Associate Professor 
HU 318 
410-617-2016 
cborges@loyola.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Jesuit History in Asia; Indo-Portuguese History; Goa History

dr brennan

Katherine Stern Brennan
Associate Professor
HU 304
410-617-2017
kbrennan@loyola.edu
Area of Specialization: Early Modern French History

 

 

Dr Carey

David Carey Jr
Doehler Chair in History; Professor
HU 310
410-617-2893
drcarey@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: Latin American History; Indigenous Peoples; Oral History; Gender

 

 devries_kelly

Kelly DeVries
Professor
HU 302
410-617-2661
kdevries@loyola.edu
Area of Specialization: Medieval Military History and Technology; History of Technology; Medieval History; Military History

 

diehl_chad

Chad R. Diehl
Assistant Professor
HU 316
410-617-5531
crdiehl@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: Modern East Asian History; Modern and Early Modern Japan; Cultural Memory Studies

 

Jane Edwards
Instructor 
HU 308
410-617-2018
jedwards@loyola.edu
Area of Specialization: Modern European Intellectual History

 

 

Oghenetoja Okoh
Assistant Professor
HU 312
410-617-5613
ohokoh@loyola.edu

pegram_tom Thomas R. Pegram
Professor
HU 305
410-617-2856
tpegram@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: Late 19th/Early 20th-Century American Political and Social History
 

Andrew Ross
Assistant Professor
HU 311
410-617-2229
aross1@loyola.edu

Willeke Sandler
Assistant Professor 
HU 303
410-617-5479
wsandler@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: Modern Germany; Nazi Germany and the Holocaust; visual culture; public history; cultural history

Headshot of Sara Scalenghe Sara Scalenghe
Associate Professor
HU 301
410-617-2017
sscalenghe@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: Middle East and North Africa; disability; gender

Schmidt
Elizabeth Schmidt
Professor 
HU 313
410-617-2432
eschmidt@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: Teaching: African History; Pre-Colonial to Present; African Women's History. Research: Late Colonial Southern Africa (esp. Zimbabwe and South Africa); Late Colonial West Africa (emphasis on Guinea)
 taylor_martha Martha Taylor
Associate Professor of History and Classics; Chair of the Classics Department
HU 321B
410-617-2636
Department Chair
mtaylor@loyola.edu
Classics Homepage
 Joseph Walsh

Joseph Walsh
Professor of History and Classics
HU 333
410-617-2896
jwalsh@loyola.edu
Classics Homepage

Visiting Faculty
Heidi Krajewski
Visiting Assistant Professor of  History
HU 314
410-617-5613
hmkrajewski@loyola.edu
Austin Parks
Visiting Assistant Professor of History
HU 306
410-617-5069
acparks@loyola.edu
Brandon Parlopiano
Visiting Affiliate Assistant Professor 
410-617-2229
btparlopiano@loyola.edu
Area of Specialization: Medieval Europe
Rebecca Stoil
Lecturer in History
HU 314
410-617-5315
rstoil@loyola.edu
Faculty Emeriti 
 Dr. John Breihan John Breihan
Professor Emeritus
breihan@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: 20th-Century American Suburbia; Aviation History; Late 18th-Century Britain; Military
Dr. Cheape

Chuck Cheape
Professor Emeritus
ccheape@loyola.edu
Area of Specialization: U.S. Business and Economic History

Dr. Bill Donovan Bill Donovan 
Associate Professor Emeritus
Donovan@loyola.edu
Area of Specialization: Early Modern Portuguese History
Leonard-Poetry_as_Discourse

Angela Leonard
Associate Professor Emerita
aleonard@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: African Dispora; Black Female Jazz Singers; Early 19th-Century British and American Journalism; 19th-Century Propaganda and Political Poetry

 Dr. Steven Hughes Steven Hughes 
Professor Emeritus
schughes@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: Modern Italian History; Masculinity; History of Crime
Dr. R. Keith Schoppa 

R. Keith Schoppa 
Professor Emeritus and former Doehler Chair of Asian History
kschoppa@loyola.edu
Areas of Specialization: Chinese Political; Social and Cultural History from 1900 to 1950

 

Program Assistant
kelly_maureenMaureen Kelly
HU 322A
Telephone: 410-617-2326
Fax: 410-617-2832
mdkelly@loyola.edu 

















































Matthew Mulcahy
Faculty

Matthew Mulcahy, Ph.D.

From sugarcane to hurricanes, this history professor specializes in Colonial America and the history of disasters

History