Loyola University Maryland

Department of History

Phi Alpha Theta

Phi Alpha Theta, the National Honor Society in History, strives to recognize and encourage excellence in the study of history.

Congratulations to our recent inductees!


 Class of 2019

Class of 2019

Class of 2019

Bridget Anderson *inducted 2018 Jenna Budney Samantha Burnett
Tamar Barsamian Kathryn Carpinelli Robert Casey
Gabriel Cortes Michael Culbert Eric Coshal
Madeline Crowell Casey Daudelin  
Moira Godman *inducted 2018 Joshua David  
Madeline Isacco Margaret Irwin  
Phoebe Labat Hannah Lee  
Daniel Lecce Alessandra Manago*inducted 2018  
Hannah Loiselle Lauren Marshall  
Mary LoPiccolo *inducted 2018 Hannah McKenzie  
Julia McGrath Brendan Pyne  
Gustavo Medina *inducted 2018 David Traugott *inducted 2018
Ryan Moy *inducted 2017 Daniel Trocchia  
Stephanie Petrone *inducted 2017 Robert Weidle *inducted 2018  
Mary Kathleen Pinto Alysa Williams  
Maeve Ponticiello Samantha Burnett  
Dylan Prosser Robert Casey  
Corinne Schober *inducted 2018 Eric Coshal  
Sawyer Scott    
Thomas Shriner *inducted 2017    
Jacob Sorenson    
Gavin Wolf    

About the Organization

Phi Alpha Theta has more than 800 chapters nationwide and 275,000 members. It has the distinction of having more chapters than any other accredited honor society, and holding one of the earliest memberships in the Association of College Honor Societies. The mission of Phi Alpha Theta is to promote the study of history by encouraging research, quality teaching, publication, and the exchange of learning and ideas among historians.


Publication of The Historian, a quarterly journal of history, and The Newsletter, issued three times yearly; establishment of 9 annual scholarships for student members entering graduate school and those taking advanced graduate work; sponsorship of an annual contest for papers on historical subjects by awarding 6 annual prizes covering both undergraduate and graduate student levels; annual grants of 2 awards of $500 each for the best book in history published by a member, one award for the first such book published and the second award for a subsequent book published by a member; 6 annual awards for the best chapter in each category of college enrollment; an annual publication of the best manuscript in the field of history submitted by a member during the current year; annual regional meetings; two annual grants, each of $1,000, one grant for advanced work by a faculty advisor and one grant for advanced work by a graduate student.


Membership is not restricted to History majors or minors. However, applicants must meet the national requirements for membership: a minimum of 12 credit hours in history (AP credit and HS 101 ARE applicable); a minimum GPA of 3.1 in history courses and a 3.0 GPA overall.

In the spring semester, the records office provides the history department a list of all students who have met the eligibility requirements. The eligible students will receive an email inviting them to join the honor society. Students are instructed to bring a check to cover the national and local dues to the history office.

The Induction Ceremony is occurs once in the spring semester; students may participate in the ceremony only in the year they are inducted. Prior to graduation, cords and or sashes to be worn at graduation can be purchased in the history office.

Faculty Advisor

Jane Edwards
Humanities 308

Oghenetoja Okoh

Oghenetoja Okoh, Ph.D.

Toja Okoh, Ph.D., assistant professor of history, sees Loyola’s core values as helping her students gain self-confidence, their sense of purpose, and social responsibility