Loyola University Maryland

Modern Languages & Literatures

Cultural Events

image divider

View the cultural calendar

The Mrs. Regina Ann Haig International Film Series
Loyola/Notre Dame Library Auditorium
Refreshments at 6.30 pm
Film at 7.00 pm

Tuesday, September 27
 - Arab film "Theeb" presented by Dr. Inas Hassan
Wednesday, October 26 - Italian film "The Garden on the Finzi-Continis" presented by Dr. Nicolino Applauso
Wednesday, November 30 - Spanish film "El Abrazo de la Serpiente" presented by Dr. Margarita Jacome

French Week 2016
Faces of France Today: A Living Mosaic
November 4-10, 2016

Monday, November 7 at 7:00 p.m. in the Library Auditorium: Samba (2014)
Wednesday, November 9 at 6-7:30 p.m. in the Fourth Floor Program Room: Roundtable Discussion on Muslims in France Today with Danielle Marx-Scouras, Naïma Hachad, and Todd Shepard
Thursday, November 10 at 7 p.m. in the AWSC Reading Room, Ultrafaux, a Baltimore-based Gypsy-jazz group. Romani tea and dumplings sponsored by the French Club.
Saturday, November 12 at 5pm, meeting in Jenkins Lot: excursion to Nailah’s Kitchen. $5 per student.
Sunday, November 13 at 3:00 p.m. in the Alumni Memorial Chapel: Interfaith Service.

Throughout National French Week there will be an exhibit about immigration and integration in France in the Loyola-Notre Dame Library. We will have a diaporama with photos of French monuments, the French countryside, and even people of France showing the different “faces” of the country.

Latin American Lecture
Dr. Camila Daniel, of the Universidade Federal Rural de Rio de Janiero and Morgan State University, will give a lecture on Monday, October 3, 2016 at 5.00 in CO 133.  The lecture is called "Incas, Mestizos, and Morenos: Racial Perceptions in Peruvian Immigration to Rio de Janiero, Brazil. For more information, contact Dr. Thomas Ward.

Chinese Club Events
Friday, September 16, 4.00-5.00 pm, Mid-Autumn Festival Celebration
Wednesday, September 28, 5.00-8.00 pm, Movie Screening: Kung Fu Hustle
Wednesday, October 12, 5.00-8.00 pm, Movie Screening: Tiny Times
Friday, October 28, 4.00-5.00 pm, Calligraphy Workshop
Wednesday, November 9, 5.00-8.00 pm,  Movie Screening: Monster Hunt
Wednesday, November 16, 4.00-5.00 pm, Game Hour

Career Night
Monday, October 17
7.00-8.00 pm
Knott Hall B03

Thinking about going further with your foreign language? Curious about how foreign languages are useful in the work force? Learn about a variety of career options for foreign language learners from a panel of experts.

Arabic Club (Arabyola) would like to present a guest speaker On Wednesday, October 19 at 5.00 pm. Dr. Sahar Khamis, Associate Professor of Communication at the University of Maryland, College Park, will come to give a lecture called "The Role of Arab Women in the Arab Spring Uprisings." Please see her website at https://www. comm.umd.edu/people/faculty/khamis 

Poetry Recitation Contest
Monday, October 24, 6.00-8.00 pm
Andrew White Student Center Reading Room
For students currently enrolled in any foreign language, levels 103 and up.
Choose your favorite poem by a modern foreign language poet, and then recite it in a comfortable coffee-house setting for a chance to win a special prize! Or come to support your friends, hear great poetry, and eat some free food!
Ask your modern language professor for more information.

Annual Henna/Mehndi Workshop
It will be held on Friday, November 11 from 4.00-5.30. Make fun designs with different colors!