Loyola University Maryland

Modern Languages & Literatures

Cultural Events

image divider

View the cultural calendar

2017 HANNA GELDRICH-LEFFMAN COLLOQUIUM ON LANGUAGE, LITERATURE AND SOCIETY

Imagination without Limits: Folklore, Fairy Tales and Fantasy around the World
Wednesday, April 5, 2017
4th Floor Programming Room

11.00 - "Disenchanting the Classical European Fairy Tale" lecture by Dr. Donald Haase, Wayne State University
2.00 - "The Arabian Nights in Anglo-American Literature" lecture by Dr. Abdul Sattar Jawad, Duke University
3.00 - "The Life of Things: Medieval Chinese Tales of the Strange" lecture by Dr. Xiaofei Tian, Harvard University 

Chinese Week 2017

   

Arabic Club (Arabyola) Spring 2017 Events
Friday, February 24 at 3.30
 - Movie Screening of Wadjda."
Friday, March 17 at 3.30 - Dr. Joseph Ganem, Chair and Professor of Physics, will give a lecture called "A Scientist's Adventure in Foreign Language Classes."
Friday, April 21 at 3.30 - The mystery of Arabic beverages. Participants can come and taste different beverages and vote on their favorite one.

Italian Week - February 22-March 2, 2017
Wednesday, February 22 at 7.00
 - Lecture by Dr. Thomas McCreight of Classics "Little-known Rome" in KH B03.
Thursday, February 23 at 5.00 - Lecture by Dr. Steven Hughes of History "Roma o Morte: Garibaldi's Defense of the Roman Republic of 1849 in the History of Italy" will be in KH B01. 
Friday, February 24 at 5.00 - Italian Club Paint Night and Carnevale Mask Making Workshop, CTM 430, Sellinger VIP Lounge
Sunday, February 26 at 3.00 - Mass in Italian by Fr. Roche in the Alumni Memorial Chapel
Monday, February 27 - Food demonstration by advance arrangement only. Contact Mrs. Risso Robberto.
Wednesday, March 1 at 6.30 - Film called "Lo Chiamavano Jeeg Robot" presented by Dr. Nicolino Applauso in KH B03.
Thursday, March 2 at 4.45 - "Resphigi's Rome: The Music of Ottorino Respighi related to Rome" music with commentary and video by Mr. Joe Teter in MH 442.

The Mrs. Regina Ann Haig International Film Series

Loyola/Notre Dame Library Auditorium
Refreshments at 6.30 pm
Film at 7.00 pm
Tuesday, February 14
 - German film "Kebab Connection" presented by Dr. Ursula Beitter
Wednesday, March 22 - French film "Romantics Anonymous" presented by Dr. Andre Colombat
Wednesday, April 26 - Chinese film "Mountains May Depart" presented by Dr. Margarita Jacome