Loyola University Maryland

Modern Languages & Literatures

Cultural Events

Arabic Club (Arabyola) events spring 2020
1- Arabyola Magic Lamp Competition

The event is open to All Loyola community.  Participants will play Kahoot and answer general questions about Arab, Middle East and Islamic culture.  3 winners will receive 3 magic lamp awards. The magic lamp in this picture is the real lamp that the winners will get J 

Date: Friday Feb 21 from 3:30 PM- 5:00 PM, Room: TBA   

2- Arabic Language ( Arabyola ) short movies festival

Three Arabic short movies will be screened and discussed at the event
This Time (هذا الزمان)
Hair cut (قَصّة شَعْر)
The Dice player لاعب النَرْد) 

Date: Monday March 16 from 3:30 PM- 4:30 PM, Room TBA

3- Arabyola Club Cuisine invites you to cook & taste
Moroccan Couscous الكسكس المغربي
The national dish of the countries of Maghreb

Participants will learn about the origin, recipes, different types and nutrition of the Moroccan Couscous.
Date: Wednesday April 15   from 4:00 pm -5:30 Pm    Room TBA

 

___________________________________________________________________________________

Chinese Club
Friday, Sept. 13 at 3.00 - Mid-Autumn Festival Celebration, VVR2
Friday, Oct. 4 at 4.00 - Movie Screening: Curse of the Golden Flower, VVR1
Friday, Oct. 25 at 3.00 - Calligraphy Workshop, VVR2
Friday, Nov. 1 at 4.00 - Movie Screening: IP Man 3, VVR1
Friday, Nov. 15 at 3.00 - Game Hour, VVR2
Friday, Dec. 6 at 4.00 - Movie Screening: Body Guards & Assassinates, VVR1

Career Night
Modern Languages & Literatures will hold a Career Night on Monday, October 21, 7:30-8:30 p.m. in Knott Hall B01.

Arabic Events
Arabic Club Movie Screening - Wednesday, October 2 at 3.00, "Tomorrow's Children  ا  أطفال الغدّ"
An award winning short documentary about six Syrian children who escaped the war in Aleppo and got stuck in child labor.

Arabyola's Guest Speaker will be on Wednesday, October 23 at 4.30.  The guest is Lobna, or Luby Ismail.  She is a leading authority in Cultural Competence, Diversity, Inclusion, Islamophobia, and Arab Culture.  The title is "Arab and American Muslims facts: Breaking Barriers, Building Bridges."

Finally, there will be the 7th Annual Henna/Mehndi Workshop on Wednesday, November 20 from 2.30-4.30.

Italian Club Event
Thursday, September 26 from 5.00-7.00 in MH 242 - Film Ciao, Professore! with brief introductory presentation about the Italian education system.  The trailer of the film can be seen here:  https://www.imdb.com/videoplayer/vi2783878681
Friday, October 25 - Rome Study Abroad session with Q and A; room TBA.
November 8 or 15 - cannoli making; room TBA
December 6 or 7 - Holiday Party; room TBA

Thomas Ward
Faculty

Thomas Ward, Ph.D.

A long-time proponent of service-learning, Dr. Ward's students connect with language and community through work with a Peruvian cooperative in Baltimore

Modern Languages & Literatures