Loyola University Maryland

Peace and Justice

Faculty & Staff

Steering Committee

The steering committee assists the director in guiding the programming of the Office of Peace and Justice. The members of the committee are:

  • Dr. Heidi Shaker, Associate Professor of French/Director, Office of Peace and Justice
  • Dr. Michelle Gawerc, Associate Professor of Sociology
  • Dr. Catriona Hanley, Associate Professor of Philosophy
  • Dr. Jane Satterfield, Associate Professor of Writing

If you have an interest in peace and justice studies or would like to share ideas on programming, please do not hesitate to email Heidi Shaker at hsbrown@loyola.edu.

Teaching Faculty

Faculty from over ten Loyola departments teach courses in the minor curriculum. Faculty members include:

  • Rev. Scott Adams (race and faith, restorative justice, trauma and crisis intervention)
  • Dr. Richard Blum (philosophical roots of slavery, human rights abuse)
  • Dr. Richard Boothby (psychoanalysis, psychological roots of peace/war)
  • Dr. Heidi Brown (trauma studies, Rwandan genocide, Algerian War)
  • Dr. Martin Camper (disagreement theory, civic discourse, rights rhetoric)
  • Dr. Daniel Castillo (liberation theology, ecological theology)
  • Dr. Lesley DiFransico (Hebrew Bible, ethics of food and hunger)
  • Dr. Rebekah Eklund (forgiveness and justice in the Hebrew Bible and Christian Scripture)
  • Dr. Juniper Ellis (postcolonial literature, justice in Jesuit higher education)
  • Dr. Michelle Gawerc (conflict and peacebuilding, social movements, Israel/Palestine)
  • Dr. Fuat Gürsölü (political philosophy, human rights, democracy)
  • Dr. Catriona Hanley (philosophy of peace, metaphysical roots of war, Levinas)
  • Dr. Joshua Hendrick (sociology of human rights, religious political identity)
  • Dr. John Kiess (moral theology, peace studies, ethics of war)
  • Dr. Amanda Konradi (gender, justice, criminal law)
  • Dr. Andrea Leary (civic literacy, service-learning)
  • Dr. Jessica Locke (ethics, philosophical writings from and about prison)
  • Dr. Jonathan Malis (photojournalism in war and peace)
  • Dr. Thomas McCreight (peace and war in the ancient world)
  • Dr. Brian Norman (African American literature, civil rights, feminism)
  • Dr. Bernadette Roche (environmental studies, sustainability)
  • Dr. Terre Ryan (environmental studies, sustainability)
  • Dr. Willeke Sandler (Nazi Germany, Holocaust)
  • Dr. Jane Satterfield (writing about trauma, crisis, war and peace)
  • Dr. Wendy Smith (literacy, peace education, children’s literature)
  • Dr. James Snow (philosophy and genocide)
  • Dr. Karsonya Whitehead (African American studies, social movements)
  • Dr. Yu Zhang (gender, peace, and justice in East Asia)