Loyola University Maryland

Philosophy Department

Faculty & Staff

Chairs

Dale Snow

Department Chair
Ph.D., Emory University, Atlanta, GA, 1984
Office: Humanities 050N
410-617-2026
dsnow2@loyola.edu
Research Interests: German Idealism, History of Modern Philosophy, Feminism

Endowed Chairs
brett-davis

Bret W. Davis

T.J. Higgins, S.J., Chair in Philosophy
Ph.D., Philosophy, Vanderbilt University, 2001
Office: Humanities 050P
410-617-5697
bwdavis@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Asian, Continental, and Cross-Cultural Philosophy

Rev. John J. Conley, S.J.

Henry J. Knott Chair of Philosophy and Theology
Docteur en philosophie, Université catholique de Louvain, 1988
Office: Humanities 042M
410-617-2665
jconley1@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Modern French Philosophy, Ethics, Aesthetics

Associate Professors
Mavis Biss

Mavis Biss

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2011
Office: Humanities 050L
410-617-5972
mlbiss@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Ethics; Kant’s practical philosophy

Frank Cunningham

Francis J. Cunningham

Ph.D., Fordham University, 1974
Office: Humanities 050F
410-617-2500
fcunning@loyola.edu
Research Interests: American Philosophy, Process, Bioethics

Fuat Gursozlu

Fuat Gürsözlü

Ph.D., Philosophy, Binghamton University - State University of New York, Binghamton, NY, 2010
Office: Humanities 050K
410-617-5229
fgursozlu@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Social and Political Philosophy, Political Theory, Contemporary Continental Philosophy

Catriona Hanley

Catriona Hanley

Ph.D., Loyola University Chicago, 1997
Office: Humanities 050Q
410-617-2430
chanley@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Heidegger, Aristotle, 20th Century Continental, Philosophy of Peace

Jeff Witt

Jeffrey C. Witt

Ph.D., Philosophy, Boston College, 2012
Office: Humanities 050M
410-617-2947
jcwitt@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Late-Medieval Philosophy, Fourteenth-Century Thought, Philosophy of Religion

Professors
Rick Boothby

Richard P. Boothby

Ph.D., Philosophy, Boston University, 1987; Ed.M., Counseling and Consulting Psychology, Harvard Graduate School of Education, 1979
Office: Humanities 050D
410-617-2890
boothby@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Psychoanalytic Theory, Contemporary Continental Philosophy, German Idealism

Drew Leder

Ph.D., Philosophy, State University at Stony Brook, 1987; M.D., Yale University, 1986
Office: Humanities 050o
410-617-2325
dleder@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Continental Philosophy, Philosophy of Medicine, Asian Philosophy, Environmental Philosophy

Graham McAleer

D.Phil., Catholic University of Louvain
Office: Humanities 050H
410-617-3037
gmcaleer@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Business Ethics, Moral Theory, Philosophy of Law, Social and Political Philosophy, Catholic Social Thought, Phenomenology, Medieval Philosophy

Assistant Professors
 jessica_profile_pic

Jessica Locke

Ph.D., Emory University, Atlanta, GA, 2016
Office: Humanities 050C
410-617-2315
jelocke@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Buddhist Ethics, Moral Psychology, Cross-Cultural Philosophy

Meghan Page

Meghan D. Page

Ph.D., Philosophy, University of Pittsburgh, 2014
Office: Humanities 050G
410-617-5447
mpage1@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Philosophy of Science

Visiting Assistant Professors
DaveGordon

David Gordon

PhD, Marquette University, Milwaukee, 2018
Office: Humanities 050C
410-617-5154
dhgordon@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Philosophy of Biology/Evolution, Environmental Ethics, History of Philosophy, Philosophy of Religion

Lecturers
Joe Farrell

Joseph Farrell

Ph.D., Temple University, 2010
Office: Humanities 050J
410-617-5409
jfarrell2@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Theory of Human Nature, Phenomenology, Ethical Theory, Medical Ethics, and Business Ethics

Nina Guise-Gerrity

Nina Guise-Gerrity

Loyola Master of Arts, Philosophy; St. John's College, Annapolis, Master of Arts of Liberal Arts (Great Books Program), Loyola University Maryland, Master's in Business Administration
Office: Humanities 039
410-617-2942
nguisegerrity@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Ancient Greek Philosophy, Political and Economic Philosophy, Ethics & Technology

Selin Gursozlu

Selin Gürsözlü

Ph.D., Philosophy, Binghamton University, State University of New York, 2010
Office: Humanitites 050K
410-617-5229
sgursozlu@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Ethics (with special attention to Virtue Ethics and Feminist Ethics), Social and Political Philosophy

James Snow

Co-Director of Messina
Ph.D., Temple University, 1990
Office: Humanities 050E
410-617-2050
jsnow@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Genocide, Feminism, 19th Century German Philosophy

Stephen Weber

Stephen Weber

Office: Humanities 050H
410-617-5234
sweber@loyola.edu

Per Course Instructors

Donald Devon

Office: Humanities 039B
410-617-2010
ddevon@loyola.edu

Emeritus Professors
Dr. Blum

Paul Richard Blum

Ph.D., University of Munich, 1978
Office: Humanities 050E
410-617-2815
prblum@loyola.edu
Research Interests: History of Philosophy

Timothy J. Stapleton

Ph.D., The Pennsylvania State University, 1978
tstapleton@loyola.edu
Research Interests: Phenomenology, Existentialism, History of Philosophy

Staff

Lisa M. Flaherty

Administrative Assistant
M.S., Loyola University Maryland, 1992
410-617-2010
lflaherty@loyola.edu



Mavis Biss
Faculty

Mavis Biss

Mavis Biss, Ph.D., associate professor of philosophy, employs contemporary issues and the Jesuit mission to educate her students on philosophy and history

Philosophy