Loyola University Maryland

Department of Sociology

Sociology Club

Get Involved

For information about planned club activities or to make suggestions contact current presidents (2016-2017): Kenneth Lindenfelser & Conor Skelton.

Sociology Club Mission Statement

The Sociology Club will function to assist all Loyola students in exploring their academic interests in socially relevant issues and expose more students to the field of sociology. The club will promote sociological theory and methods through a variety of meaningful community service projects and sociological-based activities such as social events, field trips, volunteer opportunities, guest speakers, and group discussions. These activities will cultivate enthusiasm and energy which will inspire students to learn, lead, and serve in a diverse and changing world.

Career Activities

The sociology club sponsors an annual career night, including dinner and speakers, to expose majors and minors to the range of work undertaken by alumni who majored in sociology.

Sociology Club Constitution


The Sociology Club membership is open to all current Loyola students.  


The Sociology Club is led by a Student President(s) and a Faculty Moderator (FM).  

Officer positions are held for the duration of one full school year.  


Each March, the Student President(s) and the FM will invite applications for club leadership for the next academic year.  Regardless of major, all current members of the sociology club may apply.  Applicants must be able to serve in office on campus for both the fall and spring terms.  Selection of future leadership will be made by the current Student President(s) and FM.

If the current Student President(s) will not graduate at the end of their term, they may chose to stand for general election to retain their post.  

Faculty Moderator

The Faculty Moderator of the Sociology Club is a member of the Sociology Department Faculty appointed by the Sociology Department Chairperson.  

Past Presidents of the Sociology Club

2014-2015   Noah Hunsinger & Conor Skelton

2013-2014   Joseph Kropff & Rachel Peichert

2012-2013   Dominic Walker & Gabrielle Mariotti

2011-2012   Matthew Cook & Amanda Affigne

2010-2011   Meryl Stevenson & Katie Twohig

2008-2009   Nicole Gamiero & Sarah Cart