Skip to main content

Cardin Chair

The Cardin Chair and Jerome S. Cardin Lecture were established in 1984 by Jerome S. Cardin, Esq. The chair, a professorship dedicated to fostering an appreciation of the Judeo-Christian tradition across the humanities, was the first endowed chair in the humanities at what was formerly Loyola College, now Loyola University Maryland. The Cardin Chair professor must be a senior scholar of national or international acclaim dedicated to exploring and fostering the humanities in the Judeo-Christian tradition, who will bring fresh insight into the Loyola curriculum. The chair is filled on a rotating basis by a department in the humanities.

The 2017-18 Cardin Chairhead and shoulders Valkenberg

Wilhelmus “Pim” Valkenberg is originally from the Netherlands and taught for two decades at the Catholic University of Nijmegen, and for five years (2006-11) here at Loyola University Maryland. He is now a professor of religion and culture at the Catholic University of America. His recent publications include a world religions textbook (conceived at Loyola, published 2013; new edition 2017), a Christian view of Fethullah Gülen and the Hizmet Movement (2015), and a book about Nostra Aetate (2016). He is now finishing a Christian commentary on texts about the "People of Scripture" in the Qur'an.

Previous Cardin Chair Holders

  • Patricia L. Bizzell, Writing, 2015-16
  • Allen Palmer, Communication, 2013-14
  • Nicholas Martin, Modern Languages, 2011-12
  • Tod Linafelt, English, 2008-09
  • Balazs Mezei, Philosophy, 2006-07
  • Frank Romer, Classics, 2002-03
  • Mark Thistlewaite and Louis Fantasia, Fine Arts, 2000-01
  • Bruce Marshall, Theology, 1998-99
  • Donald Lazere, Writing and Media, 1996-97
  • Theodore Perry, Modern Languages, 1994-95
  • Reed Way Dosenbrock, English, 1992-93
  • Merrold Westphal, Philosophy, 1989-90
  • Carole Fink, History, 1987-88