Loyola University Maryland

Department of Biology

Faculty & Staff

Loyola's biology department is an actively engaged group that focuses on excellence in teaching and undergraduate research. The curriculum prepares students as academicians, for their professional career after Loyola and as lifelong learners.

Faculty encourage students to become involved in the program beyond the classroom experience by conducting research projects with biology professors and co-authoring papers presented at regional and national meetings, or becoming a member of the Tri Beta National Biology Honor Society or the biology Student Advisory Board. It is our hope that all students will want to become involved in department activities and contribute to an engaging academic environment.

Department Chair

Dr. Rebecca Brogan
Associate Professor and Chair
Area of Specialty: Reproductive Physiology
Office: Donnelly Science 242
410-617-5244
rsbrogan@loyola.edu
Dr. Brogan's Faculty Webpage

Faculty

Dr. Maren Blohm
Associate Professor
Area of Specialty: Plant Physiology, Plant Stress
Office: Donnelly Science 230
410-617-2169
mblohm@loyola.edu
Dr. Blohm's Faculty Webpage

Dr. Kim Derrickson
Associate Professor
Area of Specialty: Animal Behavior
Office: Donnelly Science 258 
410-617-2197
kderrickson@loyola.edu 
Dr. Derrickson's Faculty Webpage

Dr. Alfredo Herrera
Affiliate Professor
Area of Specialty: Human Physiology
Office: Donnelly Science 226
410-617-2888
ajherrera@loyola.edu

Dr. Armina Kazi
Associate Professor
Area of Specialty: Cancer Drug Resistance 
Office: Donnelly Science 376
410-617-2139
aakazi@loyola.edu
Dr. Kazi's Faculty Webpage

Dr. Donald Keefer
Emeritus Professor
Area of Specialty: Neurobiology 
Office: Donnelly Science 226
410-617-2468
dkeefer@loyola.edu

Dr. Derek Kendig
Assistant Professor
Area of Specialty: Gastrointestinal Physiology and Nutrition
Office: Donnelly Science 278
410-617-5239
dmkendig@loyola.edu
Dr. Kendig's Faculty Webpage

Reagan Lake
Lecturer
Office: Donnelly Science 221B
410-617-5503 
ralake@loyola.edu

Steven Lane
Lecturer
Office: Donnelly Science DS 226
410-617-2120
sjlane@loyola.edu

Dr. David Rivers
Professor
Area of Specialty: Entomology, Forensic Entomology
Office: Donnelly Science 258
410-617-2057
drivers@loyola.edu 
Dr. Rivers' Faculty Webpage
Dr. River's Faculty Profile

Dr. Bernadette Roche
Associate Professor
Area of Specialty: Plant Ecology
Office: Donnelly Science 228
410-617-5591
broche@loyola.edu 
Dr. Roche's Faculty Webpage

Dr. Lisa Scheifele
Associate Professor
Area of Specialty: Yeast Evolution
Office: Donnelly Science 374
410-617-2316
lzscheifele@loyola.edu 
Dr. Scheifele's Faculty Webpage

Dr. Andrew Schoeffield
Associate Professor
Area of Specialty: Microbiology
Office: Donnelly Science 276
410-617-2912
aschoeffield@loyola.edu
Dr. Schoeffield's Faculty Webpage

Dr. Lauren Spearman
Lecturer
Office: Donnelly Science 232
410-617-2341 
laspearman@loyola.edu

Dr. Christopher Thompson
Associate Professor
Area of Specialty: Immunology, Microbiology
Office: Donnelly Science 274
410-617-2240
cthompson2@loyola.edu
Dr. Thompson's Faculty Webpage

Staff

Scott Deamond
Laboratory Manager
Office: Donnelly Science 262
410-617-5486 
sfdeamond@loyola.edu

Theresa Cancila
Program Assistant
Office: Donnelly Science 247
410-617-2642 
tecancila@loyola.edu

Andrew Marshall
Senior Laboratory Technician
Office: Donnelly Science 254a 
410-617-5486 
admarshall@loyola.edu

Loreen Gwion
Laboratory Technician
Office: Donnelly Science 254b 
410-617-2351
lgwion@loyola.edu 

Cristina Lanzillotta
Alumni

Cristina Lanzillotta

A medical student at Thomas Jefferson University, Cristina says her experience at Loyola prepared her well for her work in the medical field

Biology