Skip to main content

Loyola University Maryland’s PRSSA Chapter Wins Teahan Award for Community Service

Loyola University Maryland’s chapter of the Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) has won the prestigious Teahan Award for Community Service for its work with the Baltimore Furniture Bank (BFB). This is one of the top national chapter awards of the PRSSA Foundation.

Baltimore Furniture Bank is the Baltimore region’s only resource that serves those transitioning from domestic abuse situations, homelessness, or other such conditions by providing gently-used furniture and other homewares. The nonprofit was established in 2017, and PRSSA member-teams have served BFB since its beginnings.
With the guidance of Tania Cantrell Rosas-Moreno, Ph.D., professor of communication, Loyola PRSSA members and communication majors Hunter Halliwell, Claire Blose, and Rachel Brooks worked on a campaign for BFB—overhauling their website, capturing testimonials, and creating training videos to improve stakeholder credibility, reduce turnover, and optimize client deliveries.
Congratulations to Professor Rosas-Moreno and our PRSSA chapter for their national-level achievement!