Loyola University Maryland

Modern Languages & Literatures

Faculty & Staff

Learn about our faculty research projects and publications.

 

Arabic

Inas Hassan

Ph.D., M.A., Alexandria University, Egyptinas hassan
Maryland Hall 464
x5669
ihassan@loyola.edu

Chinese

Jinghua Wangling

Head, Asian Languages Section
Ph.D. Harvard UniversityDr. Jinghua Wangling
Maryland Hall 463
x2795
jwangling@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Pre-modern Chinese Poetry; Early Chinese Literature and History; Early and Medieval Chinese Art History

Yu Zhang

Ph.D., The University of OregonYu Zhang
M.A., Shaanxi Normal University
Maryland Hall 467
x2507
On Fall Sabbatical
yzhang1@loyola.edu
Areas of Interest: 19th & 20th Centuries Chinese Literature; Women in Chinese History; Women's Narratives

French

Heidi Brown

M.A., The Ohio State Universityprofessor heidi brown
Ph.D., The Ohio State University
MH 351I
x5607
Area of Study: 20th Century French & Francophone Literatures & Cultures, Trauma Studies

Margaret Haggstrom, Emerita

M.A., The University of Texas at Austin
Ph.D., The University of Minnesota
Area of Study: Pedogogy, French Language and Culture

Maja Milicevic

M.A., The University of New Orleans
Maryland Hall 351K
x5787
mmilicevic@loyola.edu

Leslie Zarker Morgan

Associate Chair (On Sabbatical 2018-2019)
M.A. Middlebury College
M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D. Yale University
Maryland Hall 461
x2926
lmorgan@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Medieval Italian Language and Literature; Old French Language and Literature

Paul Oorts

M.A., Ph.D. Penn State UniversityDr. Paul Oorts
MH 351E
x2324
phoorts@loyola.edu

Catherine Savell

M.A., Middlebury College
MH 351C
x2927
csavell@loyola.edu

Andrea Thomas

Acting Associate Chair, 2018-2019
Head, French SectionDr. Andrea Thomas
M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D., Columbia University
MH 351H
x2612
asthomas@loyola.edu
Area of study: 19th - 21st Century French and Francophone Literature

German

Ursula Beitter

Head, German Section
M.A., Ph.D. New York University
Maryland Hall 351G
x2514
ubeitter@loyola.edu
Director: Comparative Cultures & Literary Studies program
Areas of study: Nineteenth-Century Literature; German Cinema; Contemporary Germany; and Foreign Language Pedagogy
German Area Studies Steering Committee

Patrick Brugh

Director, Language Learning CenterPatrick Brugh portrait
M.A., Ph.D. Washington University
Maryland Hall 443B
x2670
pjbrugh@loyola.edu
Areas of Study: Germanic Languages & Literatures; Gender Studies; Technology and Aesthetics

Randall P. Donaldson

Director, Graduate Program in Liberal StudiesDr. Randy Donaldson
M.A., Ph.D. The Johns Hopkins University
Maryland Hall 351D
x2299
rdonaldson@loyola.edu
Areas of study: German-American Immigration and History; German-American Literary Relations; and Aesthetics

Italian

Nicolino Applauso

M.A., Florida State UniversityProfessor Nicolino Applauso
Ph.D., University of Oregon
Maryland Hall 351E
x2785
napplauso@loyola.edu 
Areas of Study: Medieval and Modern History, Comic Poetry, Political Satire and Ethics, Italian-American History in Baltimore

Leslie Zarker Morgan

Leslie MorganAssociate Chair (On Sabbatical 2018-2019)
Head, Italian Section
M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D. Yale University
M.A. Middlebury College
Maryland Hall 461
x2926
lmorgan@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Medieval Italian Language and Literature; Old French Language and Literature

Paul Oorts

M.A., Ph.D. Penn State UniversityDr. Paul Oorts
Maryland Hall 351E
x2324
phoorts@loyola.edu

Giuliana Risso Robberto

M.A. (Equivalent) in Education, Università di Torino
Maryland Hall 351E
x2090
grissorobberto@loyola.edu

Spanish

Emma Cervone

M.Ph., Ph.D., Institute of Amerindian Studies, University of St. Andrews
Maryland Hall 351K
x2513
ecervone@loyola.edu
Areas of Study: Indigenous cultures and politics, Spanish

Diane Chaffee-Sorace

M.A., Ph.D. Duke University
MH 448
x2813
dchaffee@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Golden Age Literature; Spanish Poetry

Johanna Delgado Aviles

M.A., Ph.D. (ABD), CUNY, New York
MH 351K
x5374
jdelgado@loyola.edu

Ramón Espejo-Saavedra

M.A., Ph.D. University of Pennsylvania
MH 465
x2610
respejo@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Modern Spanish Peninsular Literature; History and Literature

Lloyd Frias

M.A. Marquette University
MH 443B
x2652
ljfrias@loyola.edu

Carlos Gardeazabal Bravo

M.A. Instituto Caro y Cuervo, Seminario Andres Bello
Ph.D. The University of Connecticut
MH 351K
x5230
cagbravo@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Human rights narratives in Latin American Literature.

Ana Gómez-Pérez

Chair
M.A. University of Wisconsin (Madison)
Ph.D. University of Pennsylvania
MH 351B
x2775
agp@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Nineteenth and Twentieth Century Spanish Peninsular Literature

Yolopattli Hernandez Torres

M.A., Ph.D.  University of Illinois at Urbana-ChampaignYolopattli Hernandez-Torres
MH 456
x2463
yihernandez@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Colonial Spanish American Literatures and Cultures, Visual Culture in Spanish America

Margarita Jacome

Head, Spanish Section
Ph.D. The University of Iowa
M.A. Universidad Javeriana
Maryland Hall 351J
x2364
mjacome@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Latin American Literature and Cultures, emphasis on 20th and 21st Centuries

Tasha Lewis

Ph.D. University of California, DavisDr. Tasha Lewis
M.A. California State University, Long Beach
MH 460
x5603
tnlewis@loyola.edu
Areas of Study: Second Language Acquisition, Cognitive Linguistics, Speech and Gesture, Foreign Language Pedagogy

Maria Ruiz Rosique

M.A., West Virgina University
MH 351L
410-617-2924
mruizrosique@loyola.edu

Ursula Sayers-Ward

M.A. The Catholic University of America
MH 351F
x2931
ucsayersward@loyola.edu

Pamela Shuggi

M.A., Ph.D.  The Johns Hopkins University
MH 351K
x5465

Mary Speer

M.A. The University of Texas, Austin
Ph.D. The Johns Hopkins University
MH 351L
x5516
Areas of Study: Cross-cultural encounters between Latin American and Chinese Literary Worlds

Sarah Tyler

M.A., University of North Carolina at Greensboro
MH 351L
x2105
sgtyler@loyola.edu

Sarah Vitale

Spanish Core Coordinator
M.A. Louisiana State University A & M
MH 464
x2974
sjvitale@loyola.edu

Thomas Ward

Director, Latin American and Latino StudiesDr. Thomas Ward
M.A., Ph.D. The University of Connecticut
MH 462
x2370
tward@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Colonial and 19th-Century Latin American Literature

Patrick Brugh
Faculty

Patrick Brugh, Ph.D.

Director of the Language Learning Center, Patrick Brugh, Ph.D., hopes to create a space that enhances Loyola’s learning atmosphere

Modern Languages & Literatures, Gender Studies