Loyola University Maryland

Department of English

Student Achievements


Congratulations to Hunter Flynn '18 for having his paper on Faulkner's Absalom, Absalom! accepted at the National Council of Undergraduate Research conference in Memphis this April. 


Carrell English Medal Winner

Awarded to Wesley Peters. The Carrell Medal is awarded to the English major with the highest G.P.A. in the major courses.

Honors Theses:

  • Sophia Bell, “Breaking the Chains:  Memory and The Allegory of the Cave in Dystopian Literature.” Director: Mark Osteen
  • Kaitlyn Henry, “Innocence, Passion, Pain, and Providence:  Dynamic Chastity in Book Three of The Faerie Queen.” Director:  Robert Miola
  • Wesley Peters, “Porch Row.”—our first creative thesis (with a research component). Director: Daniel Mangiavellano

As part of Academic Excellence Weekend, Hunter Flynn presented his work on Absalom, Absalom! at the annual Undergraduate Student Research Colloquium; Wesley Peters read from his novel in progress, “Porch Row”; and Leo Gray and Cristian Margarida talked about their experience of researching Baltimore cinema for Dr. Miller’s History of Narrative Cinema course last year.

Six of our students were Phi Beta Kappa awardees—majors Kaitlyn Henry and Wesley Peters—and minors Emily Blow, Jean Gillingham, Megan Ingraham, and Joshua Ziesel.  Each received a book in recognition of their accomplishment during our spring awards ceremony.

Other awardees at the spring ceremony:

EN101 Paper Prizes:

  • Claire McElduff, “The Human Emotion” (Dr. Osteen)
  • Carolyn Sacco, “The Importance of Identity” (Dr. Wright)

EN200-level Paper Prizes:

  • Karl Dehmelt, “Unraveling History:  Mumbo Jumbo, Between the World and Me, and the Black Narrative” (Dr. Monson-Rosen)
  • Julia Specht, “Goblin Market:  Christina Rossetti’s Resistance against Religious Skepticism”  (Dr. Wright)

300-level Paper Prizes:

  • Hunter Flynn, “Nabokov’s Princedom by the Sea, Kubrick’s Ghoul-Haunted Woodland” (Dr. Osteen)
  • Kyle Banquer, “’Shivering with Antici…pation':  Gothic Adaptation and the French Revolution’s Terrors” (Dr. Mangiavellano)

Fall 2015 Booking Awards:  Wesley Peters, Shakespeare I (Dr. Scheye); Caroline Tell, Shakespeare’s Rivals (Dr. Crockett); Megan Hultberg, Romanticism and the Gothic Tradition (Dr. Mangiavellano); Kathryn O’Brien, The Brontes:  Wild at Heart (Dr. McGlamery);

Anna Rose Waniak, Chesterton, Lewis, and Tolkien (Dr. Abromaitis); Monica Malouf, The Civil War in American Literature (Dr. Cole); Anna Rose Waniak, Postcolonial Literature (Dr. Ellis); Jean Gillingham, Modern Classic Revisions (Dr. Osteen); Kaitlyn Henry, Senior Honors Seminar:  Books of Conscience (Dr. Lobo)

Spring 2016 Booking Awards:  Dan and Matt Sweeney, English Literary History (Dr. Scheye)—our first–ever booking prize awarded to twins! Caroline Barada, Medieval Passion (Dr. Forni): Matt Sweeney, Shakespeare II (Dr. Miola); Jessica Ciampa, 17th Century Poetry and Prose (Dr. Crockett); Christine Crider, Jane Austen and Her World (Dr. Abromaitis); Sophia Bell, Banned Books, (Dr. Ellis); Marilena Orfanos and Sierra Blackwell, Romantic Revolutions (Dr. Mangiavellano); Sarah Lewis, African American Literature, (Dr. Guttman);  Hunter Flynn, Literature & Film:  Adaptations (Dr. Osteen)

Kjerstin Burdiek (2017) and Monica Malouf (2018) will be co-presidents of LoCoLitSo next year and are already planning Croquet on the Quad.

We graduated 16 seniors who are members of Sigma Tau Delta, the English Honor Society, and inducted 18 new members. Total membership this year was 35 students.  Moderator:  Dr. Mangiavellano.



Justin found a zeal for helping others through extracurricular activities and medical research internships

Biochemistry, English