Loyola University Maryland

Dining Services

Allergies and Special Diets

Shrimp and Pasta

Do you have particular dietary needs?

Our Allergen Program

Our Allergen Brochure explains our allergen program on campus, and provides a good starting point for information. We encourage all students with any kind of allergen or dietary restriction to fill out our form to self identify so that we can better understand your needs, communicate our options and better support your dining experience. We have informational resources and customized menus to address your specific dietary need. We also suggest setting up a meeting with our Wellness Manager or Executive Chef so we can better support your dining experience. We are available to answer questions or set up a meeting at dining@loyola.edu

If you require accommodations due to allergens, health concerns or disabilities, please register with Disability Support Services

Allergen Friendly Zone

In our two main dining halls, we have a separate station called Allergen Friendly Zone which is an entree, starch and vegetable that is always free of wheat, egg, dairy, peanuts, tree nuts and crustacean. We have separate purple equipment and serving utensils for our Allergen Friendly Zone production and station to help decrease any cross contact issues. We have procedures posted and in place for production staff and service staff, as well as our management and cooks are trained to answer questions about prep and ingredients.

Menu and Allergen Identifiers

All of our signage should indicate if any of the top eight allergens are included in the menu item. The top eight allergens are eggs, fish, milk, peanuts, shellfish, soy, tree nuts, and wheat. In addition to the top eight allergens, our menu items are labeled if they are vegetarian or vegan/



Our Knowledge


We conduct Allergen Training programs at least twice a year with our team members to educate them, as well as review procedures and policies for allergens. All of our Dining Managers, Chefs and Supervisors on campus are AllerTrain certified which is ANSI accredited. 

This training is backed up by certifying our management, supervisors and cooks in food safety by ServSafe. 


For those who cannot eat foods with gluten, we have a wide variety of items that can meet your dietary needs. In addition to daily menu specials, we offer Gluten Friendly options in all our main dining locations including individually wrapped items such as bagels, muffins, bread, rolls, brownies and cookies. If you have an allergy or another dietary concern, you can speak with any of our managers or chefs. We encourage you to email us to set up a meeting or fill out our form to self identify so we can work with you and explain our options and procedures on campus. 

Vegetarian and Vegan

For our guests who are Vegetarian or Vegan, we have a variety of options to accommodate your diet in all our locations. Our Vegetarian and Vegan options are more than just salad and vegetables, we have Vegan Deli Slices at our Boulder Deli, we have Vegetarian Tacos every Tuesday, Vegan Kale Burgers on our Grill, Hummus on our Mediterranean Salad Bar, Vegetarian Soup offered daily, and many more options. We encourage you to email us to set up a meeting or fill out our form to self identify so we can work with you and explain our options and procedures on campus.

Faith Based Diets

For students that want more information about faith based dietary accommodations please reach out to Rev. Scott Adams to begin the conversation.