Loyola University Maryland

Department of Computer Science

Contact Us

Nakia Davis

Program Assistant
Computer Science Department
Office: DS127A

Please contact Ms. Nakia for questions/concerns about the website, requesting copies of a prior syllabus, or any other inquiries not listed for the chair or if you are unsure who to contact. If you need to have any of the following forms signed by Dr. Olsen but do not need to discuss them with her, please drop them off with Ms. Nakia. Dr. Olsen will sign these forms every Wednesday, and then you can pick them up from Ms. Nakia after that: change of minor, or change of major (if dropping CS, please meet with Dr. Olsen first; if you have questions about adding CS, please meet with Dr. Olsen first).

Megan Olsen

Associate Professor, Department Chair 
For Spring 2023, you can usually find Dr. Olsen in her office on Tuesday 2:30-4:00, Wednesday 3-4, and Thursday 1:45-2:45.

Please contact Dr. Olsen or stop by her office if you need department chair approval or discussion for:

  • Data Science Master’s Program CS courses
  • Course scheduling
  • Prospective student questions
  • Signature on forms that require discussion (if not discussion required, please leave with Ms. Nakia -- see above)

Computer Science Major Advisors (BS/BA/Interdisciplinary)

Class of 2023
Dr. Megan Olsen

Class of 2024
Dr. Henrique Rocha

Class of 2025
Dr. Dave Binkley

Other Questions

Summer Course Approval
To submit a request for approval for summer courses, please use the AASC Summer Away Form. If you have a question about what courses are already approved for summer away, please contact AASC. If you have a question about a specific course before you submit it for approval, please contact the department chair.

Study Abroad Course Approval
To view the already approved courses for study abroad, see the Study Abroad webpage for your program and download the spreadsheet of approved courses. You can see the recommended programs for study for computer science majors on the CS Study Abroad webpage. You can contact the department chair if you find a course in the program that is being offered but has not already been approved, to inquire if it can be approved.

Tutoring - TBD

Questions about CS105/106/107/108
Dr. Robert "Bob" Kenyon

Questions about CS Minor
Dr. Olsen

Department Web Pages
Ms. Sandra Dargakis

Adam Phillippy

Adam Phillippy

Adam’s human genome sequencing research landed him on TIME Magazine’s “The 100 Most Influential People of 2022” list

Computer Science