Skip to main content

Contests & Awards

Academy of American Poets College and University Prize

The Academy of American College Poets Prize is one of the nation's oldest poetry organizations. Many of our nation’s finest poets received this prestigious award early in their literary careers. Among them: Diane Ackerman, Toi Derricotte, Mark Doty, Jorie Graham, Kimiko Hahn, Joy Harjo, Robert Hass, Li-Young Lee, J. D. McClatchy, Robert Pinsky, Sylvia Plath, Mark Strand, Ocean Vuong, and Charles Wright.

The Academy of American Poets Prize is administered yearly by the Writing Department in partnership with Loyola’s Center for the Humanities and the Academy of American Poets. 

2024 Winner

Taylor Moyer

2024 Honorable Mention

Catarina Broccolino


Fiction/Non-Fiction Prose Contest

The Writing Department recognizes the best in student fiction and non-fiction. It awards the student who writes the best essay or the best short story within an upper division (300 or higher) departmental course.

Fiction Winner 2024

Claire Marino

Non-Fiction Winner 2024

Julia Ayroso


Rhetoric Contest

The Writing Department recognizes the best in student rhetorical composition originally produced for 200, 300, or 400- level writing classes at Loyola. There are three categories of submission: analysis, persuasion, and digital/multimodal/visual. 

Analysis Winner 2024

Ethan Russo

Persuasion Winner 2024

Daniel Gaughan


Upcoming Events

Modern Masters: Edgar Kunz
Tuesday, February 20th  5 pm 
McManus Theater 

One Question
Monday, April 8th 2024 at 7pm
McGuire Hall

Writers at Work: Matt Bell
Thursday, April 11th at 6pm
Fourth Floor Program Room

Modern Masters: Susanna Sonnenberg
Thursday April 18th 6 pm 
4th Floor Programming Room 
Modern Masters Reading Series 

We are a green office