Loyola University Maryland

The Office of Academic Affairs

Distinguished Scholar of the Year

The Distinguished Scholar of the Year award honors a faculty member for outstanding achievement in the area of research and creative activity. The award is granted to a faculty member based on his or her distinction as a scholar as demonstrated through work that might include, but is not limited to: books and other major publications, major musical compositions, major works of art, and other scholarly or creative work that has had a major impact on a field.  The award is meant to recognize distinctive achievement in the past year in the context of a successful career and ongoing research agenda. 

Beginning in 2017, this faculty award honors Loyola’s commitment to academic excellence and the highest standards of scholarship in a given field. It joins the Distinguished Teacher of the Year as a status conferred upon a tenured colleague. Selection is based on department nominations to a small committee of academic leaders and past award recipients. The recipient is announced each year at the annual Faculty Excellence Celebration (formerly known as the Deans' Symposium) where each year’s recipient also has the honor of offering a brief scholarly presentation (recipients notified a month in advance). Colleagues who have been nominated in the past may be re-nominated. Colleagues can only receive the award once.

Nominate a Colleague

2017 - David Binkley, Computer Science david binkley

David Binkley is a Professor of Computer Science at Loyola University Maryland where he has worked since earning his doctorate from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1991. While at Loyola he has been a visiting faculty researcher at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), worked with Grammatech Inc. on CodeSurfer development, been a member of the Crest Centre at Kings' College London, and recently spent a year in Oslo working with colleagues at Simula Research. Dr. Binkley's research, partially funded by NSF, focuses on supporting software engineers through better tool support. Recent highlights include his 2006 paper, "What's in a Name," co-authored with Dawn Lawrie, Christopher Morrell, and Henry Feild (then a Loyola student), receiving the Most Influential Paper award at the 2016 International Conference on Program Comprehension.