Loyola University Maryland

Office of Equity and Inclusion

President's Council on Equity and Inclusion

The President’s Advisory Council on Equity and Inclusion was established in 2017 with a mission of educating leaders, both at and produced by Loyola, for a diverse and changing world with a commitment to diversity as a necessary component of academic excellence.  Made up of administrators, faculty and staff, the advisory council explores and issues recommendations to improve diversity, equity, and inclusion at the university.

The Council’s aim is to foster a both diverse and welcoming atmosphere at Loyola by spearheading initiatives such as:

  • Assessment and programming to address campus climate 
  • Training for all members of the community on engaging difference 
  • Recruitment, hiring and retention practices that enhance diversity 
  • Review recruitment and retention practices to enhance diversity 
  • Enrollment practices that enhance diversity 
  • Spaces on campus for affinity groups 
  • Related educational opportunities for the University community 
  • Engagement with the city of Baltimore 
  • How to create a culture of accountability on diversity issues 
  • External engagement on diversity and equity – boards, alumni, etc.
  • Serve as an advisory board to the president and to the senior officer for equity and inclusion
  • Make recommendations for the job description for the senior officer for equity and inclusion

2022-2023 Council Members

  • Robbie Bishop-Monroe, Assistant Professor, Accounting
  • Seán Bray, Interim Vice President for Mission
  • Rita Buettner, Director; University Communications
  • Marianna Carlucci, Equity and Inclusion Faculty Fellow, Associate Professor; Psychology
  • Michelle Cheatem, Associate Vice President for Student Development
  • Tim Cherney, Director for Career Readiness; Rizzo Career Center
  • Tracey Frey, Assistant Vice President for Institutional Effectiveness
  • Whitney Hobson, Assistant Director of Social Justice; Counseling Center
  • Rhona Little, Diversity and Inclusion Specialist; Office of Equity and Inclusion
  • Jennifer Louden, Dean of Undergraduate Admission
  • Jen Lowry, Associate Professor; Psychology
  • Scott McCabe, Associate Director; Event Services
  • Gia Grier McGinnis, Executive Director; Center for Community, Service, and Justice
  • Father Bao Nguyen, S.J., Assistant Director of International Jesuit Collaborations
  • Rodney Parker, Chair, Chief Equity and Inclusion Officer
  • Kathleen Parnell, Associate Vice President; Human Resources
  • Oghenetoja Okoh, Assistant Professor; History
  • Emalee Quickel, Assistant Professor; Psychology
  • Qi Shi, Director; Center for Equity, Leadership and Social Justice in Education
  • Zoe Tembo, Undergraduate Student Representative
  • David Tiscione, Director; Office of Title IX, Compliance, and Assessment
  • Marcia Wiedefeld, Director; Disability Support Services
  • Raven Williams, Director; ALANA Student Services
  • Lisa Zimmerelli, Associate Professor; Writing

For more information about the President’s Council on Equity and Inclusion, please contact Rodney Parker, Ph.D., at officeoftheceio@loyola.edu.