Skip to main content

President's Council on Equity and Inclusion

The President’s Advisory Council on Equity and Inclusion was established in 2017 with a mission of educating leaders, both at and produced by Loyola, for a diverse and changing world with a commitment to diversity as a necessary component of academic excellence.  Made up of administrators, faculty and staff, the council is charged with establishing, promoting, and advancing a culture of diversity, equity, and inclusion at all levels of university function.

The Council’s aim is to foster an inclusive and welcoming atmosphere at Loyola by spearheading initiatives such as:

  • Assessment and programming to address campus climate 
  • Related training and educational opportunities for the University community
  • Reviewing recruitment, enrollment, hiring and retention practices to enhance diversity and inclusion
  • Advocating for spaces on campus for affinity groups 
  • Creating a culture of accountability
  • Engaging and partnering with the city of Baltimore
  • External engagement on diversity and equity – boards, alumni, etc.
  • Serving as an advisory board to the President and the Chief Equity and Inclusion Officer

2023-2024 Council Members

  • Rodney Parker, Chair, Chief Equity and Inclusion Officer
  • Robbie Bishop-Monroe, Assistant Professor, Accounting
  • Milton Javier Bravo, Vice President for Mission
  • Seán Bray, Assistant Vice President for Mission and Director of Campus Ministry
  • Rita Buettner, Director; University Communications
  • Michelle Cheatem, Associate Vice President for Student Development
  • Tim Cherney, Director for Career Readiness; Rizzo Career Center
  • Toya Dailey-Smith, Senior HR Business Partner; Human Resources
  • Ifeoma Ezeani, Undergraduate Student Representative
  • Tracey Frey, Assistant Vice President for Institutional Effectiveness
  • Whitney Hobson, Assistant Director of Social Justice; Counseling Center
  • Rhona Little, Diversity and Inclusion Specialist; Office of Equity and Inclusion
  • Jennifer Louden, Dean of Undergraduate Admission
  • Jen Lowry, Associate Professor; Psychology
  • Scott McCabe, Associate Director; Event Services
  • Gia Grier McGinnis, Executive Director; Center for Community, Service, and Justice
  • Father Bao Nguyen, S.J., Assistant Director of International Jesuit Collaborations
  • Oghenetoja Okoh, Assistant Professor; History
  • Emalee Quickel, Assistant Professor; Psychology
  • Qi Shi, Director; Center for Equity, Leadership and Social Justice in Education
  • David Tiscione, Director; Office of Title IX, Compliance, and Assessment
  • Marcia Wiedefeld, Director; Disability Support Services
  • Raven Williams, Director; ALANA Student Services
  • Lisa Zimmerelli, Associate Professor; Writing

For more information about the President’s Council on Equity and Inclusion, please contact Rodney Parker, Ph.D., at