Loyola University Maryland

Department of English

Faculty & Staff

Note: All faculty members teach one or more of the following courses: EN 101, Understanding Literature; EN 201, Major Writers: English; EN 203, Major Writers: American; and EN 205, Major Writers: Shakespeare.
 Vicki Barnett-Woods

Victoria Barnett-Woods

Lecturer-Visiting Affiliate Assistant Professor
Ph.D., The George Washington University
vabarnett-woods@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: Eighteenth-century transatlantic literature, British Caribbean, Romantic Literature, Jane Austen, the rise of the novel 

 

 Brett H. Butler

Lecturer-Visiting Affiliate Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Morgan State University
bhbphd@gmail.com
Areas of Interest: 20th century American literature, popular culture, comic books / graphic novels, men and masculinity studies, technical / professional writing 

Dr. Cole

Jean Lee Cole

Professor and Director of the minor in American Studies
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
jlcole@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: American literature, American Studies, multiethnic American literature, gender studies, history of the book, visual cultural studies

Dr. Ellis

Juniper Ellis

Professor
Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
jellis@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: Postcolonial literature, Pacific Rim literature

kathleen-forni

Kathleen Forni

Professor and Chair of Department of English
Ph.D., University of Southern California
kforni@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: Chaucer, Middle English literature, medievalism, popular culture

Dr. Girard

Melissa Girard

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Illinois
magirard@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: Modern poetry and poetics, 20th and 21st century American literature, gender studies, history of literary criticism

Dr. Guttman

Sondra Guttman

Lecturer-Visiting Affiliate Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Rutgers University
sfguttman@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: American literature, working class literature, African American literature

 Sarah Ingle - Photo

Sarah Ingle

Lecturer-Visiting Affiliate Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Virginia
seingle@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: American Studies, African American literature and culture, 19th-century and early 20th-century American literature and culture, folklore and literature, Southern Studies, Gothic literature, detective fiction, law and literature

Dr. G. Lobo

Giuseppina Iacono Lobo

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., English, The Pennsylvania State University
gaiaconolobo@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: Milton; 17th-century poetry and prose; literature and religious nonconformity; literature and revolution

Dr. McGlamery

Gayla McGlamery

Associate Professor
Co-Director of the Loyola Honors Program
Ph.D., Emory University
gmcglamery@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: Victorian literature and culture, the novel, film adaptation

 Prof. Miller

Nicholas Andrew Miller

Associate Professor; Director, Film Studies
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
nmiller@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: Modernism, Irish literature, early cinema, film animation

Robert S. Miola

Gerard Manley Hopkins Professor; Lecturer in Classics
Ph.D., University of Rochester
rmiola@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: Shakespeare, Renaissance drama and poetry, classical backgrounds of English literature, Catholic Renaissance writers

 

Mark Osteen

Professor
Ph.D., Emory University
mosteen@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: Modern and contemporary literature, film studies, disability studies

 Stephen Park

Stephen Park

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Southern California
smpark@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: 20th-Century American Literature, Multiethnic U.S. Literature

   

Thomas Scheye

Loyola Distinguished Service Professor
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
scheye@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: Renaissance literature, Shakespeare, Milton

 

 erin-wilson

Erin Wilson

Lecturer-Visiting Affiliate Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Missouri
ewilson@loyola.edu 
Areas of interest: 19th-century British literature and culture, American film history, horror studies, literature and medicine, criminality in literature

nate-windon-photo

Nathaniel A. Windon

Lecturer-Visiting Affiliate Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University
nawindon@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: Nineteenth-century American and African-American literature, critical race theory, age studies

 Dr. Abromaitis

Carol Nevin Abromaitis

Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., University of Maryland
cabromaitis@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: Restoration and 18th-century English literature, fantasy literature
 Dr. Crockett

Bryan Crockett

Associate Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., University of Iowa
bcrockett@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: English Renaissance literature and culture, modern drama

David Dougherty

David C. Dougherty

Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Miami University (Ohio)
ddougherty@loyola.edu
Areas of interest:  Detective and crime literature, filming Shakespeare's plays, Vietnam War fiction and films, sports and literature

 

 Dr. Lukacs  

Paul Lukacs

Associate Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., The Johns Hopkins University
plukacs@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: American literature, literary theory, history of the novel, literature and politics





















Joseph Walsh
Faculty

Joseph Walsh, Ph.D.

Joseph Walsh, Ph.D., teaches classics and history at Loyola and is a co-director of the Honors Program

Classics, History