Skip to main content

Loyola School of Education students honored through the Teachers of Promise Institute

The Teachers of Promise Institute Logo

With graduation approaching, it’s an exciting time for all graduating students. Every year, the Maryland State Department of Education (MSDE) holds their Teachers of Promise Institute. This year’s ceremony will be on April 12. Through the MSDE Teachers of Promise Institute, each university in Maryland selects 5-7 candidates from its graduating class, who are nominated by the faculty on the basis of GPA, service, leadership, and an essay. MSDE provides each candidate with a mentor to guide them through their journey, and candidates must plan to teach in Maryland in the year following their graduation.  

Loyola is honored to be involved again this year, and the candidates from Loyola, along with a supervisor, will attend the banquet. The candidates from Loyola are recognized with a certificate at Loyola’s farewell ceremony.  

Along with the Teachers of Promise Institute, the MSDE has the Maryland Association of Teacher Educators (MATE) Distinguished Teacher Award. Loyola’s undergraduate elementary education student, Hannah Chin, was nominated for this year’s award. Each university in Maryland selects one student as the Distinguished Teacher candidate.  

Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT) secondary science student, Lara Kohler, was nominated for Loyola’s School of Education Father Wise Award. This award is given to a graduating student from the School of Education. Each program within the school nominates one candidate.

Congratulations to the 2019 Teachers of Promise candidates:

  • Lara Kohler, MAT biology - Lara has received the Ignatius Award from Loyola University Maryland, the ETS Recognition of Excellence Award, and the National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship from Yale. She is a member of Kappa Delta Pi and is a Peace Corps volunteer. 
  • Rachel Martines, MAT social studies - Rachel was the recipient of the International Research Scholarship for undergraduate students and is a member of Phi Beta Kappa and Alpha Sigma Nu. 
  • Ashley Aufiero, undergrad elementary education - Ashley is a member of Kappa Delta Pi, International Education Honor Society and is the secretary of Omicron Delta Kappa, National Leadership Honor Society. She works as a tutor in Loyola’s Writing Center and is a focus team member of Sister Cleophas Group. 
  • Tori McDonald, undergrad elementary education - Tori won the Magis Scholar Academic Award in the Fall of 2016 and was an Omicron Delta Kappa Inductee in the fall of 2017. She is the vice president of Action for Autism and has volunteered with individuals experiencing homelessness at Our Daily Bread in Baltimore. 
  • Erin Mullin, undergrad elementary education - Erin is a member of Kappa Delta Pi and has been a Study Abroad ambassador since 2016. She is a member of the National Council of Teachers of English and has been a member of the Education Society since 2015.  
  • Quinn Pape, undergrad elementary education - Quinn won 2nd Place in the 2017 Loyola Undergraduate Student Research & Scholarship Colloquium, and is a member of the Honor Council, Education Society, Kappa Delta Pi, the Maryland Association of Science Teachers, and the Sister Cleophas Society. She also volunteers at Healthcare for the Homeless in Baltimore.  
  • Molly Rigney, undergrad elementary education - Molly was a Joseph A. and Patricia A. Reiter Endowed Scholarship Fund recipient in 2017 and a Presidential Scholarship recipient in 2015. She is a member of Kappa Delta Pi, a board member for the Council for Exceptional Children Baltimore and has tutored at Walter P. Carter Elementary/Middle School and Govans Elementary School.

The semi-finalists for the 2019 Teachers of Promise Institute are:

  •  Alexa Del Piano, MAT art - Alexa is a member of Lappa Delta Pi, the National Art Education Assocation, and the Committee on Multiethnic Concerns. She was also a Mediation Mentor & Evaluator at Teachers Connect Community Builder.  
  • Jessica James, MAT biology - Jessica is a member of the National Science Teachers Association and the Howard County Watershed Stewards. She has been the music director of Vacation Bible School at St. John's Evangelical Lutheran Church since 2011, a Howard County Watershed Stewards Academy project team leader, and is a board member for Rockburn Land Trust. 
  • Samantha O’Connor, MAT elementary - Samantha has been a captain of the softball team at Loyola for four years. She has volunteered as a youth softball coach and pitching instructor, and as a Howard County Rec and Parks camp counselor.   
  • Hannah Chin, undergrad elementary education - Hannah has made Dean’s List every semester during her time at Loyola, and is a member of Kappa Delta Pi, Omicron Delta Kappa, the Education Society, and the Maryland Association of Science Teachers.  
  • Olivia Aebli, undergrad elementary education - Olivia is a member of Ed Society, Kappa Delta Pi, SCEC (Student Council for Exceptional Students), STANYS (Science Teachers Association of New York State), and is the Ed Society co-president, Kappa Delta Pi Service coordinator, and a Loyola Fitness & Aquatic Center building supervisor. She is heavily involved in Loyola’s Center for Community Service and Justice, where she has volunteered in tutoring at the Esperanza Center.