Loyola University Maryland

Department of Communication

Faculty & Staff

Loyola's Communication Department is an actively engaged group that focuses on excellence in teaching and work outside the classroom. The curriculum prepares students to be communication experts for their professional career after Loyola and as lifelong learners.

Faculty members encourage students to become involved in the program beyond the classroom experience through engagement in co-curricular activities including GreyComm Studios, The Greyhound and WLOY. The faculty also assists upperclassmen in obtaining internships for credit throughout the year. The hope is that all students will want to become involved in department activities and contribute to an engaging academic environment and the Baltimore community.

Department Chair 
Dr. Sara Magee Headshot Photo

Dr. Sara Magee

Associate Professor and Chair

scmagee@loyola.edu

Teaching Areas: Broadcast and Backpack Journalism

Dr. Tania Rosas-Moreno Headshot Photo

Dr. Tania Cantrell Rosas-Moreno

Associate Professor and Assistant Chair

tcrosasmoreno@loyola.edu

 

Teaching Areas:  Introduction to Public Relations, Writing for Public Relations, International Public Relations, Senior Capstone in Public Relations

Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty
Dr. Elliot King Headshot Photo

Dr. Elliot King

Professor

eking@loyola.edu

 

Teaching Areas: Media Culture and Society, Digital Culture, Emerging Media

Dr. Neil Alperstein Headshot Photo  

Dr. Neil Alperstein
Professor & Academic Director, MA in Emerging Media
nalperstein@loyola.edu

Teaching Areas: Global Communication, Social Network Analytics, and New Media Strategies

Dr. Amy Becker Headshot Photo  

Dr. Amy Becker

Associate Professor
abbecker@loyola.edu

Website: https://amybreebecker.com/

Twitter: @amybree

 

Teaching Areas: Introduction to Communication, Media, Culture and Society, Political Communication, Public Opinion and Political Entertainment

Research Areas: Public Opinion, Political Entertainment & Comedy, Elections & Political Engagement, and New Media

Dr. Masudul Biswas Headshot Photo  

Dr. Masudul Biswas

Associate Professor
mkbiswas@loyola.edu

 

Teaching Areas: Web I, Web II, Mobile Media, Digital Tools, Capstone in Web & Print and Emerging Media & Society

Dr. Gregory Hoplamazian Headshot Photo 

Dr. Greg Hoplamazian

Associate Professor

gjhoplamazian@loyola.edu

 

Teaching Areas: Introduction to Advertising, Advertising and Society, Ad Copywriting

Research Areas: Advertising & Consumer Identity, Crisis Communication on Social Media, and Native Advertising

Dr. Jonathan Lillie Headshot Photo  

Dr. Jonathan Lillie

Associate Professor and Assistant Chair

jlillie@loyola.edu

 

Teaching Areas: Journalism, Interactive Media, Online Journalism, Web Design

Dr. Paola Pascual-Ferra Headshot Photo  

Dr. Paola Pascual-Ferrá

Assistant Professor
ppascualferra@loyola.edu

 

Teaching Areas: Fundamentals of Advertising & Public Relations, Communication Research Methods, Health Communication and User Experience

 Dr. Karsonya Whitehead Photo  

Dr. Karsonya (Kaye) Wise Whitehead

Associate Professor
kewhitehead@loyola.edu

Website: http://kayewisewhitehead.com/
Academic Page: http://loyola.academia.edu/KayeWiseWhitehead
Twitter: @kayewhitehead

Teaching Areas: Introduction to Communication, Story Development and Scripting, Documentary Tradition, Documentary Production, Baltimore Stories Project

Full-Time Affiliate Faculty
   

David Belz

Lecturer in Advertising and Public Relations

dbelz@loyola.edu

 

Teaching Areas: Introduction to Communication, Fundamentals of Advertising and Public Relations, Writing for Advertising and Public Relations

 Professor Blair Headshot Photo  

Gerard Blair

Lecturer in Advertising

grblair@loyola.edu

 

Teaching Areas: Introduction to Advertising, Senior Capstone in Advertising, Ad Copywriting

   

Jenny Glick

Lecturer in Journalism

jlglick@loyola.edu

 

Teaching Areas: Reporting & Writing, Media Storytelling, Broadcast News, Public Speaking

   

Veronica Gunnerson

Lecturer in Public Relations
vgunnerson@loyola.edu

 

Teaching Areas: Intro to Public Relations, Writing for Public Relations, Case Studies in Public Relations, Senior Capstone in Public Relations

  April Newton

Lecturer in Journalism

aanewton@loyola.edu

 

Teaching Areas: Mass Media Ethics, Multimedia Storytelling, Writing for Mass Media

 

Nguyen Nguyen

Lecturer in Digital Media

nknguyen@loyola.edu

 

Teaching Areas:

 Professor Sayo Headshot Photo  

Julie Sayo

Lecturer in Digital Media

jdsayo@loyola.edu

 

Teaching Areas: Graphics I and II, Web I and II

Part-Time Affiliate Faculty

Placeholder 

Noelle Dichiera
ndichiera@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Graphics

  Walter Dobrzycki
wfdobrzycki@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Communication, Popular Culture
  Nora Frenkiel
nfrenkiel@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Journalism, The Magazine Article, Senior Capstone in Magazine Publishing 
  Elli Lieberman
elieberman@loyola.edu
Teaching Area:  Media and the Political Process 
  Bridget McGeady
bsmcgeady@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Video 
  John McIntyre
jmcintyre@loyola.edu 
Teaching Area: Copy Editing 
  Rebecca Murphy
rcmurphy@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Fundamentals of Advertising & Public Relations
  Trevor Setvin
tjsetvin@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Case Studies, Public Relations and Public Speaking 
  Dr. Timothy Tooten, Sr.
ttooten@loyola.edu
Teaching Area: Broadcast Journalism 
  Mitchell Tropin
mjtropin@loyola.edu
Teaching Area: Introduction to Communication, News Writing and Reporting 
  Reagan Warfield
rwarfield@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Radio, Advanced Radio Production, Podcasting 
  Joseph Winter
jwinter@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Public Relations and Writing for Public Relations

Professor Emeriti
Placeholder

Dr. Russell J. Cook
rjcook@loyola.edu

Placeholder

Dr. Andrew Ciofalo
aciofalo@loyola.edu

Staff
Erin Richardson Headshot Photo

Erin Richardson, M.A.
Director of Program Operations, Emerging Media Graduate Program
erichardson@loyola.edu

Shelby Ehret Headshot Photo

Shelby Ehret

Program Assistant
slehret@loyola.edu

Apprentice House Director
Placeholder

Dr. Kevin Atticks
katticks@loyola.edu

Teaching Areas: Introduction to Communication, Public Relations, Graphic Design, Magazine and Book Publishing


Campus Media Managers
John Devecka Headshot Photo

Mr. John Devecka
WLOY-Radio, Bellarmine Hall
410-617-5349
jdevecka@loyola.edu

Advising Area: WLOY-Radio Operations Manager

H. Jay Dunmore
College Center M012B
410-617-5119
hjdunmore@loyola.edu

Teaching Areas: Video I, Video Animation

Advising Area:GreyComm Studios














Anna Wilson
Alumni

Anna Wilson

Singer/songwriter Anna Wilson has made a home and a career for herself in Music City

Communication
A student writing 'LUM' on a chalkboard, while other doodles can be seen on the chalkboard
Academic Opportunities

Beyond the classroom: Adobe MAX Creativity Conference

Loyola students get the opportunity to attend Adobe MAX-The Creativity Conference where they reflect on their passions and aspirations.