Loyola University Maryland

Department of Communication

Faculty & Staff

Loyola's Communication Department is an actively engaged group that focuses on excellence in teaching and work outside the classroom. The curriculum prepares students to be communication experts for their professional career after Loyola and as lifelong learners.

Faculty members encourage students to become involved in the program beyond the classroom experience through engagement in co-curricular activities including GreyComm Studios, The Greyhound and WLOY. The faculty also assists upperclassmen in obtaining internships for credit throughout the year. The hope is that all students will want to become involved in department activities and contribute to an engaging academic environment and the Baltimore community.

Department Chair 
Dr. Sara Magee Headshot Photo

Dr. Sara Magee

Associate Professor and Chair

scmagee@loyola.edu

 

Teaching Areas: Broadcast and Backpack Journalism, Media Ethics and Social Media & Culture

Dr. Masudul Biswas Headshot Photo

Dr. Masudul Biswas

Associate Professor and Assistant Chair

Office number: 410-617-6753
mkbiswas@loyola.edu

 

Teaching Areas: Web I, Web II, Mobile Media, Digital Tools, Capstone in Web & Print, User Experience, and  Emerging Media & Society. 

 

Research Interests: Community and Ethnic Media, Online News and Public Affairs, Global Media, Diversity and Communication/Media Education, Curriculum Development on Communication for Development.

 

Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty
Dr. Elliot King Headshot Photo

Dr. Elliot King

Professor

eking@loyola.edu

 

Teaching Areas: Media Culture and Society, Digital Culture, Emerging Media

Dr. Amy Bree Becker Photo
 

Dr. Amy Becker

Associate Professor

abbecker@loyola.edu

Website: https://amybreebecker.com/

Twitter: @amybree

 

Teaching Areas: Introduction to Communication, Media, Culture and Society, Political Communication, Public Opinion and Political Entertainment

Research Areas: Public Opinion, Political Entertainment & Comedy, Elections & Political Engagement, and New Media

  

Dr. Gregory Hoplamazian Headshot Photo 

Dr. Greg Hoplamazian

Associate Professor

gjhoplamazian@loyola.edu

 

Teaching Areas: Introduction to Advertising, Advertising and Society, Ad Copywriting

Research Areas: Advertising & Consumer Identity, Crisis Communication on Social Media, and Native Advertising

Dr. Jonathan Lillie Headshot Photo  

Dr. Jonathan Lillie

Associate Professor

jlillie@loyola.edu

 

Teaching Areas: Journalism, Interactive Media, Online Journalism, Web Design

Dr. Paola Pascual-Ferra Headshot Photo  

Dr. Paola Pascual-Ferrá

Associate Professor
ppascualferra@loyola.edu

 

Teaching Areas: Fundamentals of Advertising & Public Relations, Communication Research Methods, Health Communication and User Experience

 Dr. Tania Rosas-Moreno Headshot Photo  

Dr. Tania Cantrell Rosas-Moreno

Professor

tcrosasmoreno@loyola.edu

 

Teaching Areas:  Introduction to Public Relations, Writing for Public Relations, International Public Relations, Senior Capstone in Public Relations

 Dr. Karsonya Wise Whitehead headshot photo  

Dr. Karsonya (Kaye) Wise Whitehead

Associate Professor
kewhitehead@loyola.edu

Director, The Karson Institute for Race, Peace, & Social Justice
Website: http://kayewisewhitehead.com/
Academic Page: http://loyola.academia.edu/KayeWiseWhitehead
Twitter: @kayewhitehead

Teaching Areas: Introduction to Communication, Story Development and Scripting, Documentary Tradition, Documentary Production, Baltimore Stories Project

Assistant Teaching Professors
Professor Belz Photo

David Belz
Lecturer in Advertising and Public Relations
dbelz@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Communication, Fundamentals of Advertising and Public Relations, Writing for Advertising and Public Relations

 Professor Blair Headshot Photo  

Gerard Blair
Lecturer in Advertising
grblair@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Advertising, Senior Capstone in Advertising, Ad Copywriting

 Noelle Dichiera Photo

Noelle Dichiera

Lecturer in Digital Media

ndichiera@loyola.edu

Teaching Areas: Graphics I, Graphics II, Web I, Digital Tools

   

 

Professor Glick Photo

Jenny Glick
Lecturer in Journalism
jlglick@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Reporting & Writing, Media Storytelling, Broadcast News, Public Speaking

 Professor Newton Photo

April Newton

Lecturer in Multimedia

aanewton@loyola.edu

Teaching Areas: Mass Media Ethics, Multimedia Storytelling, Writing for Mass Media, Documentary Traditions & Production, and Advanced TV Reporting

Professor Nguyen Photo

Nguyen Nguyen
Lecturer in Digital Media
nknguyen@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Video I, Video II, Animation & Motion Graphics, Multimedia Storytelling, Graphics I

   Molly Robey
mkrobey@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Multimedia Storytelling, Media Writing
   Katie Wollman
kwollman@loyola.edu
Teaching Area: Digital Media, Media Writing

Part-Time Affiliate Faculty

  Bryan Babcock
bbabcock@loyola.edu
Digital Media, Emerging Media
 Professor Nora Frenkiel Photograph

Nora Frenkiel

Lecturer in Communication/Writing

nfrenkiel@loyola.edu

Teaching Areas: Media Writing, Travel Reporting & Journalism Capstone


  Elli Lieberman
elieberman@loyola.edu
Teaching Area:  Media and the Political Process 
  Dr. Timothy Tooten, Sr.
ttooten@loyola.edu
Teaching Area: Broadcast Journalism 
  Reagan Warfield
rwarfield@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Radio, Advanced Radio Production, Podcasting 
  Joseph Winter
jwinter@loyola.edu
Teaching Areas: Introduction to Public Relations and Writing for Public Relations
  Charles Yankovich

cyankovich@loyola.edu

Teaching Areas: Free Speech, Free Expression


Professor Emeriti
 

Dr. Neil Alperstein

nalperstein@loyola.edu

Dr. Russell J. Cook
rjcook@loyola.edu

Dr. Andrew Ciofalo
aciofalo@loyola.edu

 

 

Staff
Erin Richardson Headshot Photo

Erin Richardson, M.A.
Director of Program Operations, Emerging Media Graduate Program
erichardson@loyola.edu

 

Chris Kimani
Program Assistant
ckimani@loyola.edu

Apprentice House Director
 Dr. Kevin Atticks photograph

Dr. Kevin Atticks
katticks@loyola.edu

Teaching Areas: Introduction to Communication, Public Relations, Graphic Design, Magazine and Book Publishing


Campus Media Managers
John Devecka Headshot Photo

Mr. John Devecka
WLOY-Radio, Bellarmine Hall
410-617-5349
jdevecka@loyola.edu

Advising Area: WLOY-Radio Operations Manager

H. Jay Dunmore
College Center M012B
410-617-5119
hjdunmore@loyola.edu

Teaching Areas: Video I, Video Animation

Advising Area:GreyComm Studios












Peter Bieneman
Alumni

Peter Bieneman

Landscape architect and 1990 graduate proves Jesuit education helps you grow

Communication
 Jay O’Brien, wearing a headset, stands in a broadcast booth in Raven's stadium
Outcomes

From Evergreen to the NFL

As a student, Jay O’Brien, ’05, interned for the Baltimore Ravens. Today he’s the team’s VP of Broadcasting and Gameday Productions.