Natural and Applied Sciences


Choudhury Sarkar-Dey Medal

Announcing the Choudhury Sarkar-Dey Support Fund for the Natural and Applied Sciences 

Dipa Sarkar DeyNatural and Applied Sciences is honored to announce the Choudhury Sarkar-Dey Support Fund for the Natural and Applied Sciences established through the generous philanthropy of professor of mathematics and statistics Dipa Sarkar-Dey, Ph.D. A portion of the fund will support students in the Natural and Applied Sciences and part will fund the Choudhury Sarkar-Dey medal, the first divisional medal at Loyola University Maryland. This medal will be presented to an exemplary undergraduate senior majoring in the sciences who shows commitment to diversity and engagement with community service and justice and will first be awarded to a graduating student in the class of 2020. 

Dr. Sarkar-Dey retired in 2019 after 35 years as a member of Loyola’s faculty, serving as department chair for Mathematics & Statistics for 9 years. Her journey from Bangladesh to the U.S., challenges and experiences in academia are truly inspiring. We are incredibly grateful for Dr. Sarkar-Dey’s contributions to Loyola’s community and the Natural and Applied Sciences.  Read more about Dr. Sarkar-Dey in Loyola Magazine.


2020 NAS medalist Sarah Kujala

2020 Choudhury Sarkar-Dey Medal Recipient

We're excited to announce the inaugural recipient of the Choudhury Sarkar-Dey medal is biology major Sarah Kujala, '20!  Sarah is a stellar student and holds a special place in her heart for helping those with special needs. She has developed a relationship between Loyola and Kennedy Kreiger High School (KKHS), a special needs high school neighboring Ridley Athletic Complex. Through this connection, she has fostered opportunities for disadvantaged and special needs youth to experience university life and culture at Loyola as part of the Greyhound family.

2020 Choudhury Sarkar-Dey Medal Finalists

Ann Ernst (nominated by Engineering)
Sarah Kujala (nominated by Biology)
Chiara Maalouf (nominated by Computer Science)
Zac Metzler (nominated by Mathematics and Statistics)
Ethan Mullen (nominated by Physics)
Jennifer Valencia (nominated by Chemistry and Biochemistry)