Loyola University Maryland

Department of Theology

Faculty & Staff

Theology Banner
Chair
eklund-rebekah

Eklund, Rebekah
Th.D., Duke University, 2012

HU 042J 410-617-5003
raeklund@loyola.edu

Research interests:New Testament (esp. Gospels); the Bible and Christian Ethics; Theological Interpretation of Scripture

Recent publications
Curriculum vitae

Professors
 Bauerschmidt Bauerschmidt, Frederick C.
Ph.D., Duke University, 1996

HU 042G 410-617-2042
fbauerschmidt@loyola.edu

Research interests: Medieval and Contemporary Theology; Thomas Aquinas

Recent Publications 
Curriculum vitae
Personal website

Jim Buckley

Buckley, James J.
Ph.D., Yale University, 1977

HU 042H 410-617-2657
jbuckley@loyola.edu

Research interests: Dogmatic Theology (Catholic and Evangelical); Philosophical Theology (religious and religionless)

Recent publications 
Curriculum vitae

Christman

Christman, Angela Russell
Ph.D., University of Virginia, 1995

In Memoriam, 1957-2020

Loyola Celebrates the Life of Angela Christman, Ph.D.

Research interests: Early Church; Patristics; Early Christian Biblical Interpretation

Recent Publications
Curriculum vitae

Conley

Conley, S.J., Rev. John J.
Henry J. Knott Professor of Theology and Philosophy
Ph.D., Université Catholique de Louvain, 1988

HU 042M 410-617-2665
jconley1@loyola.edu

Research interests: Moral Theology; Philosophy and Theology; French Philosophy

Recent publications 
Curriculum vitae

Fowl

Fowl, Stephen E.

Ph.D., University of Sheffield, 1987

HU 042F 410-617-2878
sfowl@loyola.edu

Research interests: New Testament (esp. Pauline Studies); Hermeneutics; Theological Interpretation of Scripture

Recent publications 
Curriculum vitae

Claire Mathews

Mathews McGinnis, Claire R.
Ph.D., Yale University, 1994

HU 042O 410-617-2356
cmathews@loyola.edu

Research interests: Prophets (esp. Isaiah); Exodus; Biblical Narrative; Theological Interpretation

Recent publications 
Curriculum vitae 

Rossi

Rossi, S.J., Rev. Joseph S.
Ph.D., Catholic University of America, 1989

HU 042D 410-617-2371
jsrossi@loyola.edu

Research interests: American Catholic Life and Thought; Catholic NGOs at the United Nations; Theology and Cinema (American and International)

Recent publications
Curriculum vitae

Associate Professors
 Daniel Castillo

Castillo, Daniel

Ph.D., University of Notre Dame 2014

HU 042I 410-617-2587
dpcastillo@loyola.edu

Research interests:Liberation Theology; Ecotheology/Environmental Ethics; Latino/a Theology;Theology and Science

Recent Publications
Curriculum vitae

 Kiess  

Kiess, John
Ph.D., Duke University, 2011

HU 042L 410-617-2811
jrkiess@loyola.edu

Research interests:Moral Theology; Political Theology; Ethics of Armed Conflict and Peacebuilding

Recent publications

 Jill Snodgrass

Snodgrass, Jill
Ph.D., Claremont School of Theology, 2011

HU 042N   410.617.7612 
jlsnodgrass@loyola.edu

Research interests: Practical/pastoral theology; Spiritual care and counseling with traditionally marginalized populations; Intercultural care and counseling

Recent publications
Curriculum vitae

Arthur Sutherland

Sutherland, Arthur M.
Ph.D., Princeton Theological Seminary, 2000

HU 042N 410-617-2217
asutherland@loyola.edu

Research interests:Systematic Theology; History of Doctrine; Theologies of Hospitality, Patience, and Generosity; African American Religious Thought; Christianity and its Critics; Theology and Autobiography

Recent publications

 Lecturers
Leslie Difransico 

DiFransico, Lesley R.

Ph.D., The Catholic University of America, 2014

HU 042B 410-617-5335
lrdifransico@loyola.edu

Research interests:Hebrew Bible/Old Testament; Biblical Metaphor; Biblical Concepts of Sin and Redemption

Recent Publications
Curriculum Vitae
Academia.edu

Lloyd Headshot

Lloyd, Stephen

HU 042E
sjlloyd@loyola.edu

Recent Publications

Smith Headshot

Smith, Zachary G.

HU 042G
zgsmith@loyola.edu

Recent Publications


Administration 
Headshot of Nicole Reibe

Reibe, Nicole
Director of Program Operations of the Masters of Theological Studies
Ph.D., Boston College, 2015

HU042I   410-617-5138
nlreibe@loyola.edu

 Headshot of Madeline Rose

Rose, Madeline
Administrative Assistant
M.S., Loyola University Maryland, 2020

HU 042C   410-617-2219
marose@loyola.edu

Affiliate Faculty
 Brown Headshot Brown, Katherine

HU 039
kebrown@loyola.edu

Barczak Headshot

Mr. Barczak, Christopher

HU 039
cmbarczak@loyola.edu

Cochran Headshot

Dr. Cochran, Pamela

HU 039
pdcochran@loyola.edu

Maiju Lehmijoki-Gardner, Maiju
Ph.D., University of Turku, 1999

DS 147 410-617-2218
mlehmijokigardn@loyola.edu

Research interests:Health and religious traditions; religious dietary ethics; urban health issues; Christian mysticism and contemplative traditions

 Nyugen Headshot

Nguyen, S.J., Rev. Bao

HU 316
410-617-7088
bqnguyen@loyola.edu

Servant Headshot  

Servant, Emily

HU 039
erservant@loyola.edu

Spahn Headshot

Spahn, S.J., Rev. Steven

CO 101
410-617-2174
sspahn@loyola.edu

VanGaal Headshot

Ms. Van Gaal, Theodora

HU 039
tvangaal@loyola.edu

Wagner Headshot

Dr. Wagner, Richard

HU 039
rlwagner@loyola.edu























Rennae Wigton
Students

Rennae

A conversation with a passionate Loyola professor and an internship with Helping up Mission inspired Rennae to pursue a graduate degree in theology

Theology