Faculty and Staff

Dean's Office

Afra Hersi, Ph.D.
Interim Dean, School of Education
ahersi@loyola.edu
410-617-2998
 David Marcovitz

David Marcovitz, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, School of Education
marco@loyola.edu
410-617-2250

Heather Moore Heather Moore
Assistant Dean for Assessment and Data Management
hamoore@loyola.edu
410-617-2996

Teacher Education (Initial Certification, Literacy Education, Montessori Education)

Stacy Williams
Chair, Teacher Education Department
Clinical Instructor
Coordinator of Partnerships Clinical Experiences
sawilliams@loyola.edu
410-617-2756
 Margarita Gomez Zisselsberger Margarita Gomez, Ph.D.
Director, Undergraduate Teacher Education Programs
Associate Professor of Literacy Education
mgomez@loyola.edu
410-617-5323
Camika Royal 

Camika Royal, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Urban Education
caroyal@loyola.edu
410-617-5379 

 Joshua Smith

Joshua S. Smith, Ph.D.
Professor of Education 
jssmith2@loyola.edu
410-617-5343

Wendy Chia-Smith

Yun-dih "Wendy" Chia-Smith, Ph.D.
Educator in Residence 
ychiasmith@loyola.edu
410-617-2419I

  Mark Covington
Clinical Instructor 
mecovington@loyola.edu
410-617-5718
  Melissa Gilroy
Clinical Instructor
mlgilroy@loyola.edu
  Caroline "Carrie" Lang
Director, Montessori Education
Clinical Instructor 
cjhorwitz@loyola.edu
410-617-2308
 Melissa mulieri Melissa Mulieri
Director, Master of Arts in Teaching Program
Clinical Instructor
mcmulieri@loyola.edu
410-617-5438
  Benjamin Parker, Ph.D.
Clinical Assistant Professor
bdparker@loyola.edu
410-617-5383
  Jennifer Pettey
Clinical Instructor 
jlpettey@loyola.edu
410-617-5177
  Monique Yates
Clinical Instructor
mcyates@loyola.edu

Literacy Education (Reading Specialist, Literacy Teacher, and Teaching English Language Learners)

Leah Saal Leah Saal, Ph.D.
Co-Director, Literacy Education Programs 
Associate Professor of Literacy Education
lksaal@loyola.edu
410-617-2671 
Kristina Collins Kristina Collins
Co-Director, Literacy Education Programs 
Clinical Instructor 
Division Director of Literacy Loyola Clinical Center 
kmcollins@loyola.edu 
410-617-2736
D Afra Hersi, Ph.D.
Interim Dean, School of Education
Professor, Literacy Education 
ahersi@loyola.edu
  Loretta Holmberg-Masden
Lecturer
lvholmbergmasden@loyola.edu 
410-617-5666
Margarita Gomez Zisselsberger

Margarita Gomez, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Literacy Education 
mgomez@loyola.edu
410-617-5323

Education Specialties (Curriculum and Instruction, Educational Leadership, Educational Technology, School Counseling)

Education Specialties Department

  joseph-stewart-sicking Joseph Stewart-Sicking, Ed.D.
Chair, Education Specialties
Professor 
jastewartsicking@loyola.edu
410-617-7648

Curriculum and Instruction for Social Justice 

Stephanie Flores-Koulish, Ph.D.
Director, Curriculum and Instruction for Social Justice
Professor 
sfloreskoulish@loyola.edu
410-617-5456 

Educational Leadership

Peter Litchka

Peter Litchka, Ed.D.
Co-Director, Educational Leadership
Professor
prlitchka@loyola.edu
410-617-1656

 christine mahady Christine Mahady, Ed.D.
Co-Director, Educational Leadership
Lecturer
cmahady@loyola.edu 
gina massella Regina Massella, Ph.D.
Lecturer 
ramassella@loyola.edu
410-617-1525
john savard Fr. John Savard, S.J.
Lecturer 
jasavard@loyola.edu
myra-smith

Myra Smith, Ed.D.
Lecturer 
mjsmith@loyola.edu
410-617-2394

Educational Technology

Kelly Keane Kelly Keane, Ed.D.
Director, Educational Technology
Lecturer 
kjkeane@loyola.edu
410-617-1552
David Marcovitz

David Marcovitz, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, School of Education
Professor of Educational Technology 
marco@loyola.edu
410-617-2250 

Marie K. Heath, Ed.D.

Marie Heath, Ed.D.
Assistant Professor
mkheath@loyola.edu 
410-617-1509

Irene Bal Irene Bal
Lecturer
iabal@loyola.edu 
410-617-1561

School Counseling

Jennifer Watkinson Jennifer Watkinson, Ph.D.
Director, School Counseling
Associate Professor
jswatkinson@loyola.edu
 Qi Shi Qi Shi, Ph.D.
Associate Professor 
410-617-1530
qshi@loyola.edu
410-617-1705
Nouf- Bazaz

Nouf Bazaz
Clinical Assistant Professor
nsbazaz@loyola.edu 
410-617-1627

gayle-cicero Gayle Cicero, Ed.D.
Coordinator of Clinical Experiences
Clinical Assistant Professor 
gcicero@loyola.edu
410-617-1513
 kharod france Kharod France, Ph.D.
Clinical Assistant Professor
kafrance@loyola.edu 
410-617-1657
 Joseph Stewart-Sicking Joseph Stewart-Sicking, Ed.D.
Professor 
jastewartsicking@loyola.edu 
410-617-7648
 Cheryl Moore-Thomas Cheryl Moore-Thomas, Ph.D., NCC
Professor
Acting Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
cmoore4@loyola.edu
410-617-5377 

Kodály Music Education (The American Kodály Institute)

Emertius Faculty

 Victor Delclos  Victor Delclos, Ph.D.
Professor of Curriculum and Instruction 
vdelclos@loyola.edu
Lee Richmond  Lee Richmond
Professor of School Counseling 
lrichmond@loyola.edu 
  Elana Rock
Associate Professor of Special Education
erock@loyola.edu
 Wendy Smith Wendy Smith, Ph.D.
Professor of Literacy Education 
wmsmith@loyola.edu
  Beatrice Sarlos 
Professor Emertius
bsarlos@loyola.edu

Professional Staff

Greta Brueck, Program Administrator, Graduate Programs

410-617-1590 gabrueck@loyola.edu
Victoria "Tori" Costantino, Executive Assistant to the Dean 410-617-2998 vcostantino@loyola.edu
Jerusha Dunning, Senior Cohort Recruiter 410-617-1575 jmdunning@loyola.edu
Michele Herget, Administrative Assistant, Teacher Education 410-617-5310 mherget@loyola.edu
Fredrika Jefferson, Program Assistant, Teacher Education 410-617-5376 fnjefferson@loyola.edu
Tonya Lewis, Director of Graduate Programs  410-617-1545 tlewis@loyola.edu
Jennifer Lyall, Administrative Assistant, Education Specialties 410-617-5094 jllyall@loyola.edu
Jade Margerum, Cohort Recruiter 410-617-1574 jmargerum@loyola.edu