Faculty and Staff

Dean's Office

Joshua Smith Dr. Joshua Smith, Dean, School of Education
410-617-5343
jssmith2@loyola.edu
Robert Helfenbein

Dr. Robert Helfenbein, Associate Dean
410-617-5343
rjhelfenbein@loyola.edu
Heather Moore Heather Moore, Assistant Dean for Assessment and Data Management
410-617-2996
hamoore@loyola.edu

Teacher Education (Literacy Education, Special Education, PDS)

Afra Hersi Dr. Afra A. Hersi, Chair
Associate Professor of Literacy Education
410-617-2546
ahersi@loyola.edu
Camika Royal   Dr. Camika Royal, Assistant Professor, Urban Education 
410-617-5379 
caroyal@loyola.edu
  Dr. Beatrice E. Sarlos
Professor (Emeritus) 
Wendy Chia-Smith Dr. Yun-dih "Wendy" Chia-Smith, Educator in Residence 
410-617-2419
ychiasmith@loyola.edu
katie james Katie James, STEM Visiting Lecturer
kjames@loyola.edu 

Literacy Education (Reading Specialist, Literacy Teacher, and Teaching English Language Learners)

Leah Saal  Dr. Leah Saal, Assistant Professor of Literacy Education
Co-Director, Literacy Education Programs 
410-617-2671 
lksaal@loyola.edu
Kristina Collins Kristina Collins, Clinical Instructor 
Division Director of Literacy Loyola Clinical Center 
Co-Director, Literacy Education Programs 
410-617-2736
kmcollins@loyola.edu 
Afra Hersi Dr. Afra Hersi, Associate Professor
Chair, Teacher Education Department 
410-617-2546
ahersi@loyola.edu
  Loretta Holmberg-Masden
Lecturer
410-617-5666
lvholmbergmasden@loyola.edu 
Margarita Gomez Zisselsberger Dr. Margarita Gomez, Associate Professor
410-617-5323
mzisselsberger@loyola.edu
Wendy Smith  Dr. Wendy Smith, Professor of Literacy Education 
410-617-2194 
wmsmith@loyola.edu
jennifer zwillenberg  Dr. Jennifer Zwillenberg, Lecturer 
410-617-5116
jzwillenberg@loyola.edu 

Special Education

Elana Rock Dr. Elana Rock, Associate Professor
410-617-5177
erock@loyola.edu

PDS

Laura Alpaugh Laura Alpaugh, Clinical Instructor/ PDS Coordinator 
410-617-2847
lmalpaugh@loyola.edu
Melissa mulieri

Melissa Mulieri, Clinical Instructor, PDS Coordinator
mcmulieri@loyola.edu

Stacy Williams Stacy Williams, Coordinator of Clinical Experiences
Clinical Instructor
Director, Teacher Education- Undergraduate 
410-617-2756
sawilliams@loyola.edu
James Wolgamott James Wolgamott, Clinical Instructor
410-617-5718
jrwolgamott@loyola.edu

Education Specialties (Curriculum and Instruction, Educational Leadership, Educational Technology, School Counseling)

Education Specialties Department

David Marcovitz  Dr. David Marcovitz, Chair
Associate Professor of Educational Technology
410-617-2250  
marco@loyola.edu 

Curriculum and Instruction for Social Justice 

Stephanie Flores-Koulish  Dr. Stephanie Flores-Koulish, Director
Associate Professor 
410-617-5456 
sfloreskoulish@loyola.edu
Victor Delclos Dr. Victor Delclos
Professor (Emeritus) 
410-617-2480
vdelclos@loyola.edu
Robert Helfenbein Dr. Robert Helfenbein, Associate Dean
Professor 
410-617-5343
rjhelfenbein@loyola.edu

Educational Leadership

Peter Litchka Dr. Peter Litchka, Director
Professor
410-617-1656
prlitchka@loyola.edu
Ramon-Goings

 Dr. Ramon Goings, Assistant Professor 
410-617-5580
rbgoings@loyola.edu

 christine mahady Dr. Christine Mahady, Lecturer
cmahady@loyola.edu 
gina massella Dr. Regina Massella, Lecturer 
410-617-1525
ramassella@loyola.edu
john savard  Fr. John Savard, S.J., Lecturer 

Dr. Myra Smith,  Lecturer 
410-617-2394
mjsmith@loyola.edu

Educational Technology

Kelly Keane Dr. Kelly Keane, Director
Lecturer
410-617-1552 
kjkeane@loyola.edu
David Marcovitz Dr. David Marcovitz, Associate Professor
410-617-2250 
marco@loyola.edu 
Marie K. Heath, Ed.D. Dr. Marie Heath, Assistant Professor
410-617-1509
mkheath@loyola.edu 
Irene Bal Irene Bal, Lecturer
410-617-1561
iabal@loyola.edu 

peggi hunter Dr. Peggi Hunter, Educator in Residence 
410-617-2274
pehunter@loyola.edu 
Amy McGinn (headshot)  Dr. Amy McGinn,  Lecturer 
410-617-1611
almcginn@loyola.edu 

School Counseling

Jennifer Watkinson Dr. Jennifer Watkinson, Director
Associate Professor
410-617-1705
jswatkinson@loyola.edu
 nouf bazaz Nouf Bazaz, Clinical Assistant Professor
410-617-1627
nsbazaz@loyola.edu 
gayle-cicero Dr. Gayle Cicero, Clinical Assistant Professor 
410-617-1513
gcicero@loyola.edu
 kharod france Dr. Kharod France, Clinical Assistant Professor
410-617-1657
kafrance@loyola.edu 
Cheryl Moore-Thomas Dr. Cheryl Moore-Thomas, Professor
Associate Vice President for Faculty Affairs and Diversity 
410-617-5377
cmoore4@loyola.edu
Qi Shi Dr. Qi Shi, Associate Professor
410-617-1552
qshi@loyola.edu
 quinn smesler Quinn Smelser, Clinical Instructor 
qsmelser@loyola.edu 
   Dr. Joseph Stewart-Sicking , Professor 
410-617-7648
jastewartsicking@loyola.edu 
Lee Richmond Dr. Lee Richmond, Professor (Emeritus)
lrichmond@loyola.edu

Kodály Music Education (The American Kodály Institute)

Lauren McDougle Lauren McDougle, Interim Program Director
410-617-5343
lkmcdougle@loyola.edu

See all Kodaly faculty

Montessori Education

Loyola University Maryland's Center for Montessori Education

Jack Rice Jack Rice, Director 
410-617-2308
jhrice@loyola.edu

Washington Montessori Institute

Janet McDonnell Janet McDonell, Director of AMI Primary Training, WMI
410-617-7770
jmcdonell@loyola.edu
Jennifer Shields Jennifer Shields, AMI Primary Trainer, WMI
410-617-7782
jsshields@loyola.edu

Professional Staff

Greta Brueck, Program Administrator, Loyola's Center for Montessori Education

410-617-1590 gabrueck@loyola.edu
 Jerusha Dunning, Senior Cohort Recruiter  410-617-1575 jmdunning@loyola.edu
Cristina Fernandez, Elementary Course Assistant, WMI  410-617-7774  cmfernandez@loyola.edu
Michele Herget, Administrative Assistant, Teacher Education 410-617-5310 mherget@loyola.edu
Tonya Lewis, Director, Graduate Programs  410-617-1545 tlewis@loyola.edu
Jennifer Lyall, Administrative Assistant, Education Specialties 410-617-5094 jllyall@loyola.edu
 Jade Margerum, Cohort Recruiter 410-617-1574 jmargerum@loyola.edu 
Jane Scheuermann, Primary Course Assistant, WMI 410-617-7771 jscheuermann@loyola.edu
Deborah Smedley, Coordinator of Graduate Records 410-617-2106 dsmedley@loyola.edu