Faculty and Staff

Dean's Office

Joshua Smith Dr. Joshua Smith, Dean, School of Education
410-617-5343
jssmith2@loyola.edu
Robert Helfenbein

Dr. Robert Helfenbein, Associate Dean
410-617-5343
rjhelfenbein@loyola.edu
Heather Moore Heather Moore, Assistant Dean for Assessment and Data Management
410-617-2996
hamoore@loyola.edu

Teacher Education (Literacy Education, Special Education, PDS)

Afra Hersi Dr. Afra A. Hersi, Chair
Associate Professor of Literacy Education
410-617-2546
ahersi@loyola.edu
Vanessa Dodo-Seriki Dr. Vanessa Dodo-Seriki, Assistant Professor, Science Education
410-617-2122
vddodoseriki@loyola.edu
Camika Royal   Dr. Camika Royal,Assistant Professor, Urban Education 
410-617-5379 
caroyal@loyola.edu
Wendy Chia-Smith Dr. Yun-dih "Wendy" Chia-Smith, Educator in Residence 
410-617-2419
ychiasmith@loyola.edu
   Dr. Tommy Ender, Postdoctoral Fellow
   Dr. Boni-Jane Wozolek, Postdoctoral Fellow

Literacy Education (Reading Specialist, Literacy Teacher, and Teaching English Language Learners)

Wendy Smith  Dr. Wendy Smith, Co- Director
Professor of Literacy Education 
410-617-2194 
wmsmith@loyola.edu
 Leah Saal  Dr. Leah Saal, Co-Director
Assistant Professor of Literacy Education
410-617-2671 
lksaal@loyola.edu
Afra Hersi Dr. Afra Hersi, Associate Professor
410-617-2546
ahersi@loyola.edu
Dr. Mark Lewis, Associate Professor
410-617-5277
malewis2@loyola.edu
Margarita Gomez Zisselsberger Dr. Margarita Gomez Zisselsberger, Assistant Professor
410-617-5323
mzisselsberger@loyola.edu
 jennifer zwillenberg  Dr. Jennifer Zwillenberg, Lecturer 

Special Education

Cathy Rosensteel Cathy Rosensteel, Director, Practicum Coordinator/Clinical Instructor
410-617-5383
carosensteel@loyola.edu
Elana Rock Dr. Elana Rock, Associate Professor
410-617-5177
erock@loyola.edu
Pamela Wruble Dr. Pamela Wruble, Lecturer  
pcwruble@loyola.edu

PDS

Laura Alpaugh Laura Alpaugh, Clinical Instructor/ PDS Coordinator 
410-617-2847
lmalpaugh@loyola.edu
 adell cothorne

Adell Corthorne, Clinical Instructor/ PDS Coordinator
410-617-7775
acothorne@loyola.edu 

Melissa mulieri

Melissa Mulieri, Visiting Clinical Instructor, PDS Coordinator
mcmulieri@loyola.edu

Stacy Williams Stacy Williams, Coordinator of Clinical Experiences
Clinical Instructor
410-617-2756
sawilliams@loyola.edu
James Wolgamott James Wolgamott, Clinical Instructor
410-617-5718
jrwolgamott@loyola.edu

Education Specialties (Curriculum and Instruction, Educational Leadership, Educational Technology, School Counseling)

Education Specialties Department

 David Marcovitz  Dr. David Marcovitz, Chair
Associate Professor of Educational Technology
410-617-2250  
marco@loyola.edu 

Curriculum and Instruction

 Stephanie Flores-Koulish  Dr. Stephanie Flores-Koulish, Director
Associate Professor 
410-617-5456 
sfloreskoulish@loyola.edu
Victor Delclos Dr. Victor Delclos
Professor 
410-617-2480
vdelclos@loyola.edu

Educational Leadership

Peter Litchka Dr. Peter Litchka, Director
Associate Professor
410-617-1656
prlitchka@loyola.edu
 Ramon-Goings

 Dr. Ramon Goings, Assistant Professor 
rbgoings@loyola.edu

Wilbert Hawkins   Dr. Wilbert Hawkins, Lecturer  
410-617-1525 
wdhawkins@loyola.edu
 Philip Robey  Dr. Philip Robey, Lecturer  
410-617-1315 
pvrobey@loyola.edu
 john savard  Fr. John Savard, S.J., Lecturer 

Dr. Myra Smith, Lecturer 

Educational Technology

 Kelly Keane Dr. Kelly Keane, Director
Lecturer
410-617-1552 
kjkeane@loyola.edu
David Marcovitz Dr. David Marcovitz, Associate Professor
410-617-2250 
marco@loyola.edu 
 robert kenyon  Dr. Robert Kenyon, Lecturer 
 peggi hunter  Dr. Peggi Hunter, Lecturer 
   Amy McGinn,  Lecturer 

School Counseling

Jennifer Watkinson Dr. Jennifer Watkinson, Director
Associate Professor
410-617-1705
jswatkinson@loyola.edu
Bradley Erford Dr. Bradley Erford, Professor
410-617-1509
berford@loyola.edu
Cheryl Moore-Thomas Dr. Cheryl Moore-Thomas, Professor
410-617-5377
cmoore4@loyola.edu
Qi Shi Dr. Qi Shi, Assistant Professor
410-617-1552
qshi@loyola.edu
Rabeena Alli Dr. Rabeena Alli, Clinical Assistant Professor
410-617-1657
ralli@loyola.edu
  Dr. Erin J. Richardson, Clinical Assistant Professor
ejrichardson@loyola.edu

Kodály Music Education (The American Kodály Institute)

Lauren McDougle Lauren McDougle, Interim Program Director
410-617-5343
lkmcdougle@loyola.edu

See all Kodaly faculty

Montessori Education

Center for Montessori Education

Jack Rice Jack Rice, Director 
410-617-2308
jhrice@loyola.edu

Washington Montessori Institute

Janet McDonnell Janet McDonell, Director of AMI Primary Training, WMI
410-617-7770
jmcdonell@loyola.edu
Jennifer Shields Jennifer Shields, AMI Primary Trainer, WMI
410-617-7782
jsshields@loyola.edu
Jamie Rue Jamie Rue, AMI Elementary Trainer
410-617-7665
jrue@loyola.edu

Professional Staff

Greta Brueck, Program Administrator, Center for Montessori Education

410-617-1590 gabrueck@loyola.edu
Cristina Fernandez, Elementary Course Assistant, WMI  410-617-7774  cmfernandez@loyola.edu
Candra Healy, Executive Assistant to the Dean 410-617-2827 chealy@loyola.edu
Michele Herget, Administrative Assistant, Education Specialties/Teacher Education 410-617-5310 mherget@loyola.edu
Tonya Lewis, Director of Program Operations 410-617-1545 tlewis@loyola.edu
Jennifer Lyall, Administrative Assistant, Education Specialties 410-617-5094 jllyall@loyola.edu
Jane Scheuermann, Primary Course Assistant, WMI 410-617-7771 jscheuermann@loyola.edu
Deborah Smedley, Coordinator of Graduate Records 410-617-2106 dsmedley@loyola.edu
JoAnn Smoot, Executive Assistant to the Associate Dean 410-617-5343 jsmoot@loyola.edu